Administrative Team


 Gelonia L. Dent, PhD, Director earned her graduate degrees at Brown (Ph.D. '99 in Applied Mathematics and the M.Sc '97 in Engineering). She also holds an M.S in Mathematics from Clark Atlanta University and a B.S. in Mathematics from the University of Georgia in Athens. She is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in Applied Mathematics. 

Dr. Dent has expertise in fluid dynamics and computational science and has worked in industry, nonprofit research and education and academia. As Director of the Center, she provides  strategic leadership to support its mission and programs to promote science-related research, learning and communication campus-wide, as well as its goal to improve and expand the Center’s diversity initiatives. “The ability to connect students and faculty who possess in-depth knowledge of their academic discipline and cultural capital (i.e., the non-monetary assets- formal education, intellect, knowledge, skills, attitude, style of speech, dress, or physical appearance that a person possesses, which confer advantage and promote social mobility) to the larger community of scientists are key elements of successful programming targeted at increasing and retaining students in the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) disciplines.” - Dr. Dent 

 Contact:, (401) 863-1629

David Targan, PhD is Associate Dean of the College for Science  Dean Targan received degrees from Brown (Sc.B.), University of California-Los Angeles (M.A.), and the University of Minnesota (Ph.D.). While at UCLA and Minnesota, he conducted research on cataclysmic binary stars at Lick Observatory, Mt. Lemmon, and Palomar. Dean Targan is an Adjunct Associate Professor of Physics and Director of the Ladd Observatory, where he oversees public programming and special programs for area teachers and students to conduct original research in astronomy using Brown's supercomputer and telescopes. 

 Dean Targan is a co-Principal Investigator on American Association of Universities and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute grants. Over his tenure at Brown, his grant involvements have raised over20M dollars and include a National Science Foundation GK-12 grant, and the Rhode Island’s NASA Space Grant, for which he is the assistant director.  Lastly, as the inaugural Director of Brown’s Science Center, he fortified programs that he created to address issues around retention in STEM for women and historically underrepresented groups. He to continues spearhead initiatives on public access to science, informal science education, computational astronomy, and medical education. Contact Dean Targan for consultation and advising about any issue related to the physical sciences at Brown.

Contact:, (401) 863-2314 

Oludurotimi Adetunji, PhD is Associate Dean of the College for Undergraduate Research and Inclusive Science  Dr. Adetunji earned a B.S. in Physics and Computer Science from Fisk University and the Ph.D. in experimental condensed matter physics from The Ohio State University. During his tenure at Ohio State, Dean Adetunji worked as a Physical Scientist in the areas of biomaterials and nano-channel glass device/applications, at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, D.C. He also conducted research focused on the development of piezoresistive sensor based on nano-network of conducting polymers. As the Assistant Dean for Natural and Mathematical Sciences at The Ohio State University, he received two National Science Foundation grants, including one leading to the development of an intervention model for inspiring future geoscientists.  

Dean Adetunji is an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physics and leverages his interdisciplinary STEM research background and experience to his current interest in STEM education. He is developing new innovative approaches to STEM teaching, learning and communication through narratives and multimedia platforms.

  As Associate Dean for Undergraduate Research and Inclusive Science, Dean Adetunji oversees the Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award (UTRA) Program, Broader Impacts and STEM initiatives in several areas including the Science Cartoons (Sci-Toons) production program, Brown Science Prep (BSP), Learning Exchange (LE) and program assessment. In addition, he leads the STEM Outreach office and chairs the Brown’s Broader Impacts Committee.

 Contact:,  (401) 863-2411 

Angella Lynsey Ford, Coordinator  earned the ScB in Chemical Engineering at Brown in 2010. She is responsible for daily operations in the Center and managing the student staff.

Lynsey assists in developing programming to support and advance the Center's flagship academic mentoring programs, the New Scientist (NS) and Women in Science and Engineering Program (WiSE), as well as monitoring the academic support initiatives. 

Lynsey has a strong interest in increasing diversity in STEM and she has been deeply involved in tutoring programs for urban core students, and in theatre programs at Brown and in Providence.


Geeta Chougule is the Program Coordinator for the HHMI program, and Sigma Xi Brown Chapter Program/AAU Administrative Aide School of Engineering. Geeta received her B.S in Electrical Engineering from the University of Colorado. She assists Professor Mark Johnson, Director of the HHMI program in managing the grant in the MCB department.  She also supports the Associate Dean of Science Education, Dean David Targan in the goals of the Sigma Xi program, and with the Brown Tougaloo Partnership (BTP), to boost membership into the honor society and create events for students who qualify for nomination. Part of her effort goes toward supporting the director’s mission for work related to the AAU grant. She helps the Dean administratively in various duties.

Prior to joining Brown, Geeta was with Harvard Medical School where she managed the New England Science Symposium. Geeta is the mother of two boys who grew up in New England and went on to colleges in the area. She returned to work after taking a leave of absence to stay at home to raise her children. Geeta finds working with bright undergraduate science students exciting and uplifting. 

 Contact: : Box I, SC 327 : (401)-863-6826

Kyle Trenshaw is the STEM Education Postdoctoral Research Associate Kyle received his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Missouri - Columbia in 2009. While earning his B.S., he served as both a teaching and a research assistant. His positive experience in those positions informed his decision to apply for graduate study. After graduation, Kyle started his graduate work at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his M.S. in Chemical Engineering in 2011 with a thesis focusing on engineering biological systems for tunable gene expression. During his M.S. thesis work, he was awarded the Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program Fellowship that prohibited him from teaching for the duration. He found himself missing the teaching aspect of his graduate work and the experience made him rethink his true passions in engineering. Consequently, he adjusted his focus for his Ph.D. thesis toward engineering education. He successfully defended and deposited his Ph.D. dissertation focused on improving students' affective outcomes in core engineering courses using student teams in 2013.

 Since Kyle's defense, he has moved to Providence and joined the staff at the Science Center as the STEM Education Postdoctoral Research Associate. His work at the Center focuses on improving undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education at Brown University with a specific motivation of increasing students' mathematics competency in STEM courses. He also has a personal research interest in the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) students in STEM fields and hopes to promote LGBTQ+ supportive practices in higher education with his future work.

 Contact: : Box 1943, SC 306 : (401) 863-5176