Previous Ogden Lectures


His Excellency Ban Ki-moon

Secretary-General of the United Nations (2007-2016)

His Excellency Fernando Henrique Cardoso

President of Brazil (1995-2002)

The Right Honourable David Cameron

Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (2010-2016)

Her Excellency Dr. Joyce Banda

President of the Republic of Malawi

Dr. Ernest Moniz

United States Secretary of Energy

Roberta S. Jacobson

Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs

Julia Gillard

Prime Minister of Australia (2010-2013)


Kenneth Roth

Executive Director of Human Rights Watch

Dr. Jim Yong Kim

World Bank President

His Highness the Aga Khan

Spiritual leader of the Shia Ismaili Muslims

Nicholas D. Kristof

New York Times columnist

His Holiness the Dalai Lama

His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet

Saad Eddin Ibrahim

Democracy and human rights activist and former political prisoner in Egypt

Sima Samar

Chair of the Afghan Independent Human Rights Commission

Jack Reed

United States Senator from Rhode Island

Paul A. Volcker

Former Chair of the Federal Reserve

Lincoln D. Chafee

Former United States Senator from Rhode Island

Barry R. McCaffrey

Retired U.S. General and National Security and Terrorism Analyst

Richard Haass

President of the Council on Foreign Relations and former director of policy planning for the U.S. Department of State

Evo Morales

President of Bolivia

Leonel Fernandez

President of the Dominican Republic

Romano Prodi

Former Prime Minister of Italy and past president of the European Commission

N.R. Narayana Murthy

Founder and chairman of Infosys Technologies Ltd.

Pierre Vimont

Ambassador of France to the United States

Juan Manuel Santos

President of Colombia


A dialogue between

Thomas R. Pickering

American Ambassador to the Russian Federation, and

Yuli M. Vorontsov

Ambassador of the Russian Federation to the United States

John Hume

Irish nationalist leader of the Social Democratic Labour Party; MP for Foyle; and MEP, Derry, Northern Ireland

Shimon Peres

Minister of Foreign Affairs for the State of Israel

Martin Indyk

American Ambassador to Israel

Robert S. McNamara

former U.S. Secretary of Defense; former President of the World Bank

Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister of Bangladesh

José Ramos-Horta

Co-Laureate of the 1996 Nobel Prize for Peace

Richard C. Holbrooke ’62

former Assistant Secretary of State for European and Canadian Affairs and Chief Negotiator for the Dayton Peace Accord in Bosnia

A dialogue, moderated by CNN World Affairs Correspondent Ralph Beglieter ’71, between

Douglas “Pete” Peterson

American Ambassador to the Socialist Republic of Vietnam and

Le Van Bang

Ambassador of Vietnam to the United States

Mamphela Aletta Ramphele

Vice Chancellor of the University of Capetown (South Africa)

John Glenn

Retired United States Senator

Her Majesty

Queen Noor

of Jordan

Romano Prodi

President of the European Commission

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

President of Iceland

Alice Shalvi

Rector and Acting President of the Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies, Jerusalem

Kim Campbell

former Prime Minister of Canada

Robert E. “Ted” Turner III ’60

Vice Chairman, AOL Time Warner

Mary Robinson

former President of Ireland and United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

Sadako Ogato

former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Fernando Henrique Cardoso

former president of Brazil

Mikhail Gorbachev

former president of the Soviet Union

José Maria Neves

Prime Minister of the Republic of Cape Verde

Jorge Castañeda

Former Secretary of Foreign Affairs of Mexico


Tom Brokaw

Anchor, NBC Nightly News

Abba Eban

former Israeli Ambassador to the United Nations and the United States

Sir Curtis Keeble

former British Ambassador to the Soviet Union

John Ferch

former American Ambassador to Honduras; Brown University Diplomat-in-Residence

Mario Soares

President of the Republic of Portugal

Rinaldo Petrignani

Ambassador of Italy to the United States

Richard Schiffer

Assistant Secretary of State for Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs

Emmanuel de Margerie

Ambassador of France to the United States

Thomas W. Simons Jr.

former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for European and Canadian Affairs; Brown University Diplomat-in-Residence

Carlos Salinas de Gortari

President of Mexico

Brian Urquhart

former Under Secretary General of the United Nations for Special Political Affairs

Eduard Shevardnadze

former Foreign Minister of the Soviet Union

Mary Robinson

President of Ireland

M. Eugenia Charles

Prime Minister of Dominica

Boris Biancheri

Ambassador of Italy to the United States

Michael Zantovsky

Ambassador of the Czech Republic to the United States


Ardeshir Zahedi

Ambassador of Iran to the United States

Lucy Wilson Benson

Under Secretary of State for Security Assistance

Ellsworth Bunker

Ambassador-at-Large, Chief United States Negotiator for the Panama Canal Treaties

Arthur A. Hartman

American Ambassador to France

Elliott L. Richardson

Ambassador-at-Large, Special Representative of the President to the Law of the Sea Conference

Richard C. Holbrooke ’62

Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs

McGeorge Bundy

former Special Assistant to the President for National Security

Sir Nicholas Henderson

British Ambassador to the United States

Herbert S. Okun

American Ambassador to the German Democratic Republic

Marshall D. Shulman

Ambassador, former Special Advisor, Soviet Affairs

Thomas J. Watson Jr. ’37

former American Ambassador to the Soviet Union

Claiborne Pell

United States Senator

Sergio Romano

Ambassador and Director General of Cultural Relations, the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Yoshio Okawara

Ambassador of Japan to the United States

Ralph Earle II

Chief Negotiator for the United States, Salt II

Langhorne A. Motley

Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs; former American Ambassador to Brazil

Sahabzada Yaqub-Khan

Foreign Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

His Majesty

King Hussein bin Talal

King of Jordan


Sir Patrick Dean

British Ambassador to the United States

Harlan Cleveland

United States Permanent Representative on the North Atlantic Council

Edwin O. Reischauer

former American Ambassador to Japan

Nicholas deB. Katzenbach

Under Secretary of State

William P. Bundy

former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs

Joseph J. Sisco

Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern and South Asian Affairs

John K. Fairbank

Director, East Asian Research Center, Harvard University

Galo Plaza

Secretary-General, Organization of American States