2009 Student Leader Award Recipients

The following award recipients were honored at the 2009 Student Leader Recognition Ceremony on May 6, 2009 in Petteruti Lounge. The Awards are selected by the individual offices and programs sponsoring each award.


Student Leader Citations presented by the Student Activities Office

Dramatic Entrance 

For a new arrival who made a big splash or created a lot of buzz

Citation: Brown Arts Mentoring

Honorable Mention: Araceli  Méndez

Forming Partnerships 

For a great collaborative effort between multiple individuals or groups

Citation: Students for Israel

Honorable Mention: Brown University Activities Council (BUAC)

Comprehensive Preparation 

For excellent planning

Citation: Ha Young (Stacey) Park

Honorable Mention: Brown Tae Kwon Do

Innovative Thinking 

For a particularly inspired or creative effort

Citation: Jonathan Coleman, Brown Education Link Lecture Series

Honorable Mention: EcoReps

Fostering Understanding

For efforts to increase dialogue and greater appreciation of diversity

Citation: Common Ground: Justice and Equality in Palestine/Israel

Honorable Mention: MPC’s, MPC Friends, TWTP Coordinators, TWC Staffers & Volunteers

Inspiring Action

For activism, awareness, or advocacy

Citation: Housing Opportunities for People Everywhere

Honorable Mention: Rachael Donalds

Serving Community

For meaningful, life-changing service in support of communities beyond the Brown campus

Citation: John Hope Mentorship

Honorable Mention: Adopt-a-Grandparent

Building Tradition

For efforts to bolster or renew Brown traditions, heritage, and spirit

Citation: John Dahdah

Honorable Mention: Lindsay Houle and Rebecca Ruscito

Forging Connections

For most effectively engaging and involving alumni

Citation: Women in Business

Honorable Mention: Native Americans at Brown


Swearer Center for Public Service Awards

The Derek Canfield Barker Prize

Established in 1994 through a gift from Richard C. Barker '57 and Abbie D. Paterson '57 in memory of their son. The purpose of the Prize is to recognize students at Brown who have shown qualities of leadership, who have triumphed over adversity, and who have worked to bring the Brown community together through community service.

Thelma Breezeatl

Gavin Crynes '10

The Yat K. Tow Prize

Established in 1991 by the family of Yat K. Tow '41, in his memory and funded by his family and friends, the Prize recognizes an academically strong junior, graduating senior, or graduate student who has completed community service and/or academic work in the area of international understanding.

Riaz Gillani


LGBTQ Leadership Award presented by the LGBTQ Resource Center

LGBTQ Leadership Award

Recognizes a graduating senior who has positively affected lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning life during her/his undergraduate years at Brown.

Robert Smith III


The Office of the Chaplains and Religious Life Awards

The Interfaith Leadership Award

Made possible through the generosity of the Kapstein Foundation honoring the late Reverend Charles A. Baldwin, chaplain of the University from1958-1988 is given to a member of the graduating class who has demonstrated interfaith leadership both on campus and beyond, within the confines of the academic year and/or during time away. This award acknowledges the energy, insight, imagination, and service of a student in the realm of interreligious community building and programming.

Mark Doss '09

The Levi Adams Citation

Inaugurated in 2001, honors a senior(s) in the college for distinction and service in the leadership of a campus-based religious organization, project, or initiative. Dr. Adam's resilience, imagination, and strength in his varied tasks were always ground in deep spiritual convictions. Empowered by example, this citation is made to honor such service.

Jakina Debnam '09

Adam Rodriguez '10


The Brown Hillel Foundation Awards

The Robert Goldberg ’81 Ruach Award

Given to a first-year student for demonstrated potential and exceptional first-year leadership.

Paige Kirstein '12

The Rabbi Alan C. Flam Tzedek Award

For outstanding social justice and service leadership

Evan Pelz '11

The Danny Warshay Exceptional Leadership Award

For demonstrated leadership qualities: mentoring, modeling and community building

Gene Goldstein-Plesser

The Astounding New Initiatives Award

Given to a student who has built a new initiative that has had a positive and sustainable impact on the Jewish Community at Brown University.

M'Kol HaKivunim, Sophie Manuel, Noa Nessin, Amitte Rosenfeld, Kara Segal, Jenna Zeigen,

RISD Kehillah, and Mirian Zisook

The Presidential Award

Given to a senior who has demonstrated ongoing and mature commitment and leadership throughout his or her four years at Brown University.

Danya Chudacoff '11

The Thomas cohen Award

For Outstanding Leadership and Commitment to the Jewish community at Brown University

Evan Pelz '11


Joslin Awards presented by Campus Life and Student Services

The Joslin Award

Named for the late Judge Alfred Joslin '35 and given to students graduating in May or December of each year who have made significant contributions to the University through their leadership and service.

Vijou Bryant

Alison Cohen

Jakina Debnam

Michael Glassman

Fiona Heckscher

Zahra Hirji

Srividya Kalyanaraman

Nick Leiserson

Nabanita Pal

James Reed III