2013 Student Leader Award Recipients

The following award recipients were honored at the 2013 Student Leader Recognition Ceremony. The Awards are selected by the individual offices and programs sponsoring each award.

The Student Activities Office Awards

Comprehensive Preparation

For Excellent Planning

Brown University Polo Club

Dramatic Entrance

For a new arrival who made a big splash or created a lot of buzz

Holocaust Initiative at Brown University


Forming Partnerships

For a great collaborative effort between multiple individuals or groups

BRYTE (Brown Refugee Youth Tutoring & Enrichment)


Fostering Understanding

For efforts to increase dialogue and greater appreciation of diversity

Interfaith Exchange


Inspiring Action

For activism, awareness, or advocacy

The Brown University Democrats


Theory into Practice

For an student group initiatives that connect the curricular with the co-curricular.

Brown Entrepreneurship Program


The LGBTQ Resource Center Award

LGBTQ Leadership Award 

Recognizes a graduating senior who has positively affected lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning life during her/his undergraduate years at Brown.

Sharina Gordon, Drew Heckman & Michael Rose

The Third World Center Awards 

The Rising Star Award 

 Awarded to a first-year student who has demonstrated notable initiative in engaging with projects and programs that promote social justice among communities of color at Brown 

Floripa Olguin 

The Collaboration Award 

Awarded to a sophomore or junior who has modeled collaboration and allyship by bridging the work of the Third World Center with different individuals, departments, or organizations on or off campus 

Jenny Li 

The Senior Leadership Award 

 Awarded to two graduating seniors who have exhibited exceptional leadership and commitment to the mission of the Third World Center by making lasting contributions to communities of color at Brown 

Sharina Gordon & Francisco Oliveira 

The Multicultural Alumni Committee of the Brown Alumni Association

Asian/Asian American Alumni Alliance Community Contribution Award 

This award is given to an Asian/Asian American graduating senior who has made significant contributions to the quality of life for Asian/Asian American Brown students and/or has made significant contributions to the development of the Asian/Asian American community at Brown.

Donna Leong

Swearer Center for Public Service Awards

The Derek Canfield Barker Prize 

Established in 1994 through a gift from Richard C. Barker '57 and Abbie D. Paterson '57 in memory of their son. The purpose of the Prize is to recognize students at Brown who have shown qualities of leadership, who have triumphed over adversity, and who have worked to bring the Brown community together through community service.

Soufiane Azargui & Vanessa Welten

The Yat K. Tow Prize

Established in 1991 by the family of  Yat K. Tow '41, in his memory and funded by his family and friends. The purpose of the Prize is to recognize a junior, graduating senior, or graduate student who has advanced a shared community vision and principles of outstanding citizenship while maintaining a strong academic record. 

Molly Lao


The Jin Prize 


The Jin Prize was established in honor of the late Dr. Yong-Son Jin, professor of Physics, and his wife, Mrs. Kyunghee Jin.  It is awarded to an outstanding graduating senior who has a achieved superior academic performance as demonstrated by grades and/or an individual project and who has a strong commitment to service, broadly defined, to Brown or to the larger community.

to be announced at commencement


The Office of the Chaplains and Religious Life Awards

The Kapstein Family Interfaith Leadership Award 

Made possible through the generosity of the Kapstein Foundation honoring the late Reverend Charles A. Baldwin, chaplain of the University from1958-1988 is given to a member of the graduating class who has demonstrated interfaith leadership both on campus and beyond, within the confines of the academic year and/or during time away. This award acknowledges the energy, insight, imagination, and service of a student in the realm of interreligious community building and programming.

Andrew Kim & Joseph Resnick

The Levi Adams Citation 

Inaugurated in 2001, honors a senior(s) in the college for distinction and service in the leadership of a campus-based religious organization, project, or initiative. Dr. Adam's resilience, imagination, and strength in his varied tasks were always ground in deep spiritual convictions. Empowered by example, this citation is made to honor such service.

Holly Doerflinger & Alexander Rofes


The President James Manning Medal:

Presented to graduating senior(s) whose pursuit of excellence in the study and practice of religion is exemplary. 

Sarah Forman & Benjamin Marcus

The Brown RISD Hillel Foundation Awards

The Robert '81 and Elana '08 Goldberg Family Ruach Award  

Given to a first-year student for demonstrated potential and exceptional first-year leadership.

Paul Wojtal

The Rabbi Alan C. Flam Tzedek Award 

For outstanding social justice and service leadership

Joanna Kramer


The Danny Warshay '87 Exceptional Leadership Award 

For demonstrated leadership qualities: mentoring, modeling and community building

Alexander Rofes


The John Blacher Astounding New Initiatives Award 

Given to a student who has built a new initiative that has had a positive and sustainable impact on the Jewish Community at Brown University.

Ian Callender


The Presidential Award 

Given to a senior who has demonstrated ongoing and mature commitment and leadership throughout his or her four years at Brown University.

Joseph Resnick


The Senior Leadership Award 

Given to a senior who has demonstrated ongoing and mature commitment and leadership throughout his or her four years at Brown University.

Sarah Forman, Ariel Pick & Neal Poole


The Division of Campus Life and Student Services Awards

The Joslin Award 

Named for the late Judge Alfred Joslin '35 and given to students graduating in May or December of each year who have made significant contributions to the University through their leadership and service.

Rahel Dette, Sarah Forman, Emily Gonzalez, Andrew Kim, Gopika Krishna, Alexandra Linn, Benjamin Marcus, Ryan McDuff, Gladys Ndagire, Lindsay Nickel, Rebecca Rast & Evan Schwartz