NIH/Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Adolescent/Young Adult Biobehavioral HIV Research

The Research Training Program in Adolescent/Young Adult Biobehavioral HIV Research prepares post-residency psychiatrists, postdoctoral psychologists, and behavioral scientists to conduct independent research in the area of  biobehavioral HIV as full-time University faculty members.

The program is a two-year fellowship in which research fellows train under the guidance of experienced mentors. It includes didactic work, participation in ongoing funded projects, and independent research.

A central characteristic of the program is its integration of biological and behavioral components to inform HIV research. Trainees receive dual mentorship both from a faculty in the Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior and a faculty in the Center for AIDS Research. Projects may involve infected, affected or at-risk youth in behavioral or biologic research. Ongoing funded projects target youth in diverse settings (HIV/STI Clinics, mental health treatment, public schools, the RI Family court, detention facilities, and community-based recreational programs), investigate novel interventions (family-based, ​internet​, gaming, and media) and include biological markers (HIV and other STIs, viral load, immune functioning and stress reactivity). Clinical experiences are also available for appropriate trainees.


Research trainees select an established mentor whose area of research matches well with their own. Please contact potential mentors prior to applying, to determine their availability and the suitability of their research.  ​ 

Visit [email protected] to learn more about the research and clinical interests of these Brown faculty mentors.

The primary mentors are:

David Barker, Ph.D.

Curt G. Beckwith, M.D.

Katie Biello, Ph.D.

Larry K. Brown, M.D. (Director)

Michael Carey, Ph.D. (Co-Director)

Susan Cu-Uvin, M.D.

Timothy Flanigan, M.D. (Co-Director)

Abigail Harrison, Ph.D.

Christopher Houck, Ph.D.

Chanelle Howe, Ph.D.

Elissa Jelalian, Ph.D.

Christopher Kahler, Ph.D.

Caroline Kuo, Ph.D.

Rami Kantor, M.D.

Michelle Lally, M.D., M.Sc. (Co-Director)

Mark Lurie, Ph.D.

Elizabeth McQuaid, Ph.D., ABPP (Co-Director)

Nicole Nugent, Ph.D.

Donald Operario, Ph.D.

Josiah Rich, M.D.

Anthony Spirito, Ph.D., ABPP

Laura Stroud, Ph.D.

Laura Whiteley, M.D.

Ira Wilson, M.D., M.Sc.

Caron Zlotnick, Ph.D.