Hassenfeld Child Health Innovation Awards

The Hassenfeld Child Health Innovation Institute holds an annual competitive application process for its Child Health Innovation Awards. These awards are made possible through the generous support of the Hassenfeld family. In addition to requesting funding support, applicants may request technical assistance and collaboration from the Hassenfeld Child Health Institute’s Core Research and Evaluation Unit.

The institute is looking to partner with community organizations, including nonprofit groups and government entities (local, state, school departments and individual schools, etc.) with innovative ideas to address maternal and child health disparities in Rhode Island. We are particularly looking for proposals that address health disparities and inequities, as well as addressing social determinants of health and social justice. If Rhode Island is to become the healthiest place in the world for children, we must focus our efforts on communities facing the greatest health burdens.

The deadline to apply for the fall 2021 awards is 9 a.m. Wednesday, June 30, 2021. More information about the awards, including application instructions, can be found here.

Past Recipients

There were two Innovation Award recipients in 2018. Alison Field, ScD and co-investigator Graham Thomas, PhD, have received the innovation award for their project titled "Understanding the Influence of Dietary Intake during Pregnancy." Patricia Risica, DrPH has also received the innovation award for her project titled "Sleep, Stress, Depressive Symptoms and Other Determinants of Infant Feeding."

The 2017 Hassenfeld Child Health Innovation Award recipient is Sarah Davis, MD, Assistant Professor in Maternal-Fetal Medicine at Women & Infants Hospital and the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Her project is entitled "Maternal and Fetal Telomere Length, Timing of Delivery, and Racial/Socioeconomic Disparities." 

There were two Innovation Award recipients in 2016. Kevin Bath, PhD and Dima Amso, PhD received support for their project "Neural Mechanisms by Which Socioeconomic Status Shapes Brain Development." 

Michael Mello, MD, MPH, FACEP - with co-investigators Dina Burstein , MD, MPH, CPSTI, FAAP; Patricia Flanagan, MD; James G. Linakis, PhD, MD; Megan L. Ranney, MD, MPH, FACEP; and Mark R. Zonfrillo, MD, MSCE - also received an Innovation Award for the project mSafety – Preliminary Work for a Text and Video Messaging Home Safety Intervention for Teen Mothers.