Advance-CTR is pleased to announce the 2019 Mentored Research Awards scholars.  

Three scholars have been selected to develop two-year clinical and translational research proposals within a structured mentoring and career-development program. Congratulations to the awardees for their excellent proposals which promise exciting advances in their aspect of research. The scholars are as follows:

Samuels_200.gifElizabeth Samuels, MD
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Rhode Island Hospital 


"Identifying Opioid Overdose Hotspots for Prevention and Treatment Resource Deployment"


Mentors: Brandon Marshall, PhD; Elizabeth Chen, PhD; and Sara Becker, PhD

dszkwarko2.gifDaria Szkwarko, DO, MPH
Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Kent Hospital


"Improving Rhode Island's Tuberculosis Preventive Services in Primary Care: A Mixed-Methods Evaluation of an Innovative Telementoring Model"


Mentors: Roberta Goldman, PhD; E. Jane Carter, MD; and Charles Eaton, MD