We at Advance-CTR are pleased to announce the investigators in our community who received extramural funding in 2020.

Eleven Advance-CTR awardees and seven service core users have gone on to secure grants and awards from federal agencies, foundations, and industry, despite the enormous challenges this year has posed on conducting research. 

We are tremendously proud of all investigators in our community, and we invite you to join us in congratulating these investigators on their outstanding work. 


Chathuraka Jayasuriya, PhD
"Stimulating Meniscus Fibrocartilage Healing by Biologic Cell Therapy" (Applied Research Grant, DoD)

"Facilitating Meniscus Healing through SDF-1/CXCR4 Axis Modified Cell-Therapy" (R21, NIAMS)

"Elucidating Biological Mechanisms for Accelerating Cell-Mediated Repair of Meniscal Fibrocartilage" (NIGMS)

Bong Sook Jhun, PhD
"Use of PDE5 Inhibitor for Preventing Cardiac Damage by SARS-CoV-2 in COVID-19 Patients with Cardiopulmonary Diseases" (Covid-19 Rapid Response Grant, University of Minnesota Medical School and University of Minnesota Physicians and Fairview Health Services)

Nishant Shah, MD
"Establishing the Providence VA Medical Center as the First ATTR-CM Center of Excellence within the VA" (Quality Improvement Grants to Support Development of Cardiac Amyloid Centers, Pfizer)

Katie Sharkey, MD, PhD
"Personalized Integrated Chronotherapy for Perinatal Depression" (R01, NIMH)

Maria Steenland, PhD
"Reducing Postpartum Health Care Disparities Through Increased Insurance Coverage After Childbirth" (K01, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)

Daria Szkwarko, DO, MPH
"TELEHEALTH RI: Primary Care Training in Telemedicine, Rural and Underserved Heath, and Opioid Use Disorder" (Health Resources and Services Administration)

Jun Tao, PhD
"Peer-Driven Intervention Promoting Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis Uptake among African American and Hispanic/Latino Men Who Have Sex with Men" (K01, NIMH)

Kali Thomas, PhD
Terrie Fox Wetle Rising Star Award in Health Services and Aging Research, American Federation for Aging Research

The award is for work in applying health services research to inform policies and practices that secure better health and quality of life outcomes for individuals who are aging and disabled, particularly those who require long-term services and supports.

Eliza Van Reen, PhD
"Individualized Circadian Rhythm Therapy via Schedule-Sensitive Photic Interventions in Shared Workspaces" (STTR Phase I, NSF)

Yang Zhou, PhD
"Targeting Chi3l1 and Its Receptors In Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome-Associated Lung Disease" (R01, NHLBI)

Andrew Zullo, PhD, PharmD
"Medications and the Risk of Motor Vehicle Crashes in Older Adults" (R01, NIA)

Service Users

Alessandra Adami, PhD
"Determinants of 5-Year Progression of Muscle Dysfunction and Inactivity in Copdgene Participants" (R01, NHLBI)

Alisa Baron, PhD
Advancing Academic-Research Careers Award, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

This $5,000 award is given to new faculty in higher education to support their academic and research endeavors in the field of communication sciences and disorders. Dr. Baron’s research focuses on neurotypical Spanish-English bilingual children and children with developmental language disorders as well as heritage Spanish speaking adults, seeking to understand how English affects Spanish grammar development and vice versa. She uses eye-tracking methodology to better understand how bilinguals process grammatical structures in both languages. 

Emily Panza, PhD
"Using the Multiphase Optimization Strategy to Optimize a Culturally Tailored Online Behavioral Weight Loss Intervention for Sexual Minority Women" (K23, National Institute On Minority Health and Health Disparities)

Linda Resnik, PhD and Theresa Shireman, PhD
"LEARRN: The Learning Health Systems Rehabilitation Research Network" (P2C, NICHD, NINR)

Laura Stroud, PhD
"Research Training In Childhood Stress, Trauma, and Resilience" (T32, NICHD)

Louisa Thompson, PhD
"Implementing Digital Cognitive Tests for the Detection of Preclinical AD" (Clinician Scientist Fellowship Grant Award, Alzheimer’s Association)