Primary Investigator

Dr. David Sobel
Professor of Cognitive Science and Psychology


David Sobel received his BA in Psychology and Computer Science from Swarthmore College and his MA and Ph.D. in Psychology from the University of California. He joined the Brown faculty in 2001. He is the author of over 60 peer-reviewed publications as well as the co-editor of
Cognitive Development in Museum Settings: Relating Research to Practice. He is an officer for the Cognitive Development Society and an Associate Editor for the journal Developmental Psychology

Click Here to see Dr. Sobel's CV

Graduate Students





Elena Luchkina.
Elena is a fifth year graduate student. Her interests are in children's language development and understanding of communicative intent.



Jayd Heilbrun.
Jayd is a second year graduate student. She is interested in the development of morality and children's trust in testimony.

Research Staff





Zoe Finiasz.
Zoe is the Lab Manager. She is interested in the social factors that influence children's learning.



Laura Stricker.
Laura is the Museum Researcher. Her focus is in how children play and learn in museum settings. 

Undergraduate Research Assistants





DJ is a member of the class of 2020. She is a cognitive science concentrator.




Emily Yang is a member of the class of 2020. She is a Psychology and Literary Arts concentrator. 




Hasiba Zandi is a member of the class of 2021. She is concentrating in Psychology. 




Julia Donovan is a member of the class of 2020. She is a Cognitive Neuroscience concentrator. 




Nicie Jenell Grier-Spratley is a member of the class of 2019. She is a Health and Human Biology concentrator




Sarah Nicita is a member of the Brown | RISD class of 2020. She is a Cognitive Neuroscience concentrator. 


Lab Alumni

Dr. Susan Letourneau
Carol Medina
Maya Lennon
Cam Davis
Abigayle Konys
Yael Braverman
May Stern
Emma Vecchione
Colton Lacy
Julia Fein
Michal Clayton
Deanna Marcis
Tiffany Tassin
David Buchanan
Chris Erb
Tiffany Tassin
Antonija Kolobaric
Meghan Gonzales
Sarah Fracasso Francis
Veronica Fletcher
Isobel Heck
Estee Feldman
Riva Lam
Jenna Eldridge
Andrea Wister
Rachel Zolno
Brianna Doherty
Kathryn Green
Naomi Heilweil
Katherine Williams
Caroline Kleeman
Rachel Shelley-Abrahamson
Lea Ventura
Emily Hopkins
Emily Blumenthal
Sara Yerry
Megan Blossom
Abby Bookman
Alisa Breetz
Karis Casagrande
Michal Clayton
Claire Cook
Kathleen Corriveau
Sarah Fiske
Stephen Mitroff
Anne Moody
Sarah Munro
Philip Parker
Kathryn Noe
Kelly Powell
Cesalie Stepney
Kristin Swan
Ana Van Gulick
Beverly Young