People

Lab Director

Eric Darling
Associate Professor of Medical Science, Engineering, and Orthopaedics
Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, & Biotechnology
Center for Biomedical Engineering
Eric_Darling@brown.edu


Research staff

Vera Fonseca
Lab manager
Vera_Fonseca@brown.edu

Nick Labriola
Post-doctoral researcher
Nicholas_Labriola@brown.edu
Research area: Hyper-compliant micro/nano-particles


Graduate students

Megan Dempsey
PhD student
Megan_Dempsey@brown.edu
Research area: Magnetically detectable gene expression

Rafael González Cruz
PhD candidate
Rafael_Gonzalez_Cruz@brown.edu
Research area: Spatiotemporal changes in MSC gene expression and mechanics


Robert Gutierrez
PhD student
Robert_Gutierrez@brown.edu
Research area: Mechanobiology, Regenerative engineering

Manisha Kanthilal
PhD candidate
Manisha_Kanthilal@brown.edu
Research area: Mechanical biomarkers an mechanosensing


Addie Parsons
PhD student
Adrienne_Parsons@brown.edu
Research area: Donor variability and ASC standardization

Bryan Sutermaster
PhD candidate
Bryan_Sutermaster@brown.edu
Research area: High-yield biomarkers for cell identification

Jess Sadick
PhD candidate
Jessica_Sadick@brown.edu
Research area: Neurogenic purification and characterization


Undergraduate students

Keenan Line
Biomedical Engineering
Keenan_Line@brown.edu

Liz Bixler
Biomedical Engineering
Elizabeth_Bixler@brown.edu


Alumni

Graduate students
Olivia Beane (Ph.D. BME '16), Research Scientist, EpiBone 
Hetal Marble (Ph.D. Biology '17), Scientific Client Support Specialist, Promega
Nicholas Labriola (Ph.D. BME '17), Post-doc, Brown University 

Manisha Kanthilal (Sc.M. BME '13), PhD candidate, Brown University
Bella Okiddy (Sc.M., BME '16), Co-founder, Technologies Against Assault
Addie Parsons (Sc.M. Biotechnology '17), PhD student, Brown University

Undergraduate students
Indu Voruganti (Sc.B. Biology '12)
Noa Nessim (Sc.B. Biology '13)
Aaron Chiou (Sc.B. BME '14)
Eunice Cho (Sc.B. Biology '14)
Libby Stein (Sc.B. Biology '15)
Iris Pak (Sc.B. BME '15)
Bella Okiddy (Sc.B. BME '15)
Corey Holman (Sc.B. Biology '16)