Feminist Theory Archive

Scrapbook for Quest: A Feminist Quarterly, circa 1977. Nancy C.M. Hartsock Papers, Ms. 2010.006.Scrapbook for Quest: A Feminist Quarterly, circa 1977. Nancy C.M. Hartsock Papers, Ms. 2010.006.

Established in 2003 with the papers of the late Naomi Schor, the Feminist Theory Archive documents the work of influential scholars who have transformed the  landscape of higher education through their writing, teaching, institution building, and activism. By establishing academic programs and institutes, organizing innovative conferences and publications, and introducing questions about women and gender to a range of disciplines throughout the humanities and social sciences, these thinkers have transformed and diversified the very meaning of “feminist” research. The Feminist Theory Archive gathers, catalogs, and preserves evidence of this groundbreaking work in order to make it accessible to future scholars and students at the John Hay Library

The following scholars already have papers in the collection or have signed letters of intent to donate their papers in the future:


Lila Abu-Lughod, Columbia University
◊ Linda Martin Alcoff, Hunter College - City University of New York 
Emily Apter, New York University
Nancy Armstrong, Duke University
Ariella Azoulay, Brown University
◊ Mieke Bal, Universiteit van Amsterdam
Anne Balsamo, New School for Social Research
Tani Barlow, Rice University
Frances Bartkowski, Rutgers University - Newark
◊ Sandra Lee Bartky, University of Illinois-Chicago
◊ Seyla Benhabib, Yale University
◊ Jessica Benjamin, New York University 
Anne-Emmanuelle Berger, Cornell University
◊   Lauren Berlant, University of Chicago
◊ Jacqueline Bhabha, Harvard University
Susan Bordo, University of Kentucky
Leslie Bostrom, Brown University
Rachel Bowlby, University College London 
◊ Teresa Brennan,(1952-2003) 
Deborah Bright, Pratt Institute
◊ Karen Brodkin, University of California-Los Angeles
Wendy L. Brown, University of California-Berkeley
Judith Butler, University of California-Berkeley
Camera Obscura, University of California-Santa Barbara
Hazel V. Carby, Yale University
Elizabeth A. Castelli, Barnard College, Columbia University
Anne Anlin Cheng, Princeton University
Ellen Chesler, Roosevelt Institute
◊ Miriam Cooke, Duke University
Joan Copjec, Brown University
Drucilla Cornell, Rutgers University
Elizabeth Cowie, Rutherford College, University of Kent
Christina Crosby, Wesleyan University
Joan E. DeJean, University of Pennsylvania
Penelope L. Deutscher, Northwestern University
Wai Chee Dimock, Yale University
Janice L. Doane, Saint Mary’s College-California
◊ Mary Ann Doane, University of California-Berkeley
◊ Ann duCille, Wesleyan University
◊ Zillah Eisenstein, Ithaca College
◊ Jean Bethke Elshtain (1941-2013)
Yasmine Ergas, Columbia University
◊ Anne Fausto-Sterling, Brown University
Frances Ferguson, Johns Hopkins University
Margaret W. Ferguson, University of California-Davis
Jane Flax, American University
Susan Stanford Friedman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jane Gallop, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Judith Kegan Gardiner, University of Illinois-Chicago 
Inderpal Grewal, Yale University 
Shahla Haeri, Boston University
Sandra Harding, University of California-Los Angeles
◊ Nancy C.M. Hartsock, University of Washington (1943-2015)
Virginia Held, City University of New York
Mae G. Henderson, University of North Carolina
Marianne Hirsch, Columbia University
Bonnie Honig, Brown University
Maryanne Cline Horowitz, Occidental College
Jean E. Howard, Columbia University
Lynne R. Huffer, Emory University
Alison M. Jaggar, University of Colorado-Boulder
Alice A. Jardine, Harvard University
Barbara Johnson, Harvard University (1947-2009)
Lynne Joyrich, Brown University
◊ Claire Kahane, SUNY-Buffalo
◊ Coppélia Kahn, Brown University
Cora Kaplan, Queen Mary College, University of London
Ranjana Khanna, Duke University
Vicki Kirby, University of New South Wales
Dorothy Yin-Ye Ko, Barnard College, Columbia University 
Carolyn Korsmeyer, University at Buffalo
Kay Dian Kriz, Brown University
◊ Louise Lamphere, University of New Mexico
Joan B. Landes, Pennsylvania State University
Marnia Lazreg, Hunter College 
Saba Mahmood, University of California-Berkeley 
Sharon Marcus, Columbia University
Elissa Marder, Emory University
◊ Elaine Marks (1930-2001)
Anne McClintock, Princeton University
Deborah E. McDowell, University of Virginia
◊ Diane Middlebrook (1939 - 2007)
◊ Nancy K. Miller, City University of New York
Tania Modleski, University of Southern California
Henrietta L. Moore, University of Cambridge
Helen Morales, University of California, Santa Barbara
Chantal Mouffe, University of Westminster
◊ Karen Newman, Brown University
◊ Linda Nicholson, Washington University
Miglena Nikolchina, Sofia University
Anne Norton, University of Pennsylvania 
Kelly Oliver, Vanderbilt University
Carole Pateman, University of California, Los Angeles
Constance Penley, University of California-Santa Barbara
Griselda Pollock, University of Leeds
Mary Poovey, New York University
Denise Riley, University of East Anglia
Mary Louise Roberts, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Avital Ronell, New York University
Ellen Rooney, Brown University
Jacqueline Rose, Queen Mary University of London
Kristin Ross, New York University
Gayle M. Salamon, Princeton University
Renata Salecl, Central European University
Chela Sandoval, University of California-Santa Barbara
Sylvia Schafer, University of Connecticut
Mira Schor, Parsons School of Design
◊ Naomi Schor (1943-2001)
Joan Wallach Scott, Institute for Advanced Study
Jenny Sharpe, University of California-Los Angeles
Elaine Showalter, Princeton University, emerita
◊ Barbara Herrnstein Smith, Brown University and Duke University
Society for Women in Philosophy (SWIP)
Barbara Spackman, University of California-Berkeley
Hortense J. Spillers, Vanderbilt University
Suzanne Stewart-Steinberg, Brown University 
Ann Laura Stoler, New School for Social Research
Lyndsey Stonebridge, University of East Anglia
Judith Surkis, Rutgers University
Jennifer Terry, University of California-Irvine
Charis Thompson, University of California-Berkeley
Barrie Thorne, University of California-Berkeley
Louise A. Tilly, New School for Social Research, emerita
Leti Volpp, Berkeley Law University of California
Judith R. Walkowitz, The Johns Hopkins University
Kay B. Warren, Brown University
◊ Elizabeth Weed, Brown University
Kari Weil, Wesleyan University
Laura Wexler, Yale University
Mimi White, Northwestern University
Faith Wilding, School of the Art Institute of Chicago 
◊ Linda Williams, University of California-Berkeley
Patricia Williams, Columbia University
Elizabeth A. Wilson, Emory University
Alison Wylie, University of Washington
Patricia Smith Yaeger (1949-2014)
Froma Zeitlin, Princeton University
Linda M.G. Zerilli, University of Chicago
◊ Ewa Plonowska Ziarek, SUNY - Buffalo


◊ Materials from these donors have been received and processed. Finding aids are available on the Accessible Collections page.

The Pembroke Center is actively expanding the Feminist Theory Archive. Inquiries from donors and researchers should be directed to: pembroke_archives@brown.edu.