Grading Rubrics: Sample Scales

These are some sample rating scales for you to consider as you develop a grading rubric. As you develop your rubric, decide how many different levels it should have and whether to list the highest possible level of achievement first or last.

Three Levels

Weak, Satisfactory, Strong

Beginning, Intermediate, High

Weak, Average, Excellent

Developing, Competent, Exemplary

Low Mastery, Average Mastery, High Mastery

Four Levels

Unacceptable, Marginal, Proficient, Distinguished

Beginning, Developing, Accomplished, Exemplary

Needs Improvement, Satisfactory, Good, Accomplished

Emerging, Progressing, Partial Mastery, Mastery

Not Yet Competent, Partly Competent, Competent, Sophisticated

Inadequate, Needs Improvement, Meets Expectations, Exceeds Expectations

Poor, Fair, Good, Excellent

Five Levels

Poor, Minimal, Sufficient, Above Average, Excellent

Novice, Intermediate, Proficient, Distinguished, Master

Unacceptable, Poor, Satisfactory, Good, Excellent

Six Levels

Unacceptable, Emerging, Minimally Acceptable, Acceptable, Accomplished, Exemplary