Skip over navigation

Committee on Faculty Retirement

Committee Members 2010-2011

Lois Monteiro, Chair, is Professor Emerita of Community Health, Alpert Medical School. A faculty member since 1974, she retired in 2002. She has served on many university committees, was the Chair of the Department of Community Health, and served as Associate Dean of Medicine.

Mary Gluck, Professor of History and Comparative Literature, is an intellectual-cultural historian of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Europe, with special expertise in Central Europe and France. She has published extensively on Georg Lukacs, modernism, and avant-garde culture and the Jewish Question. Her latest book focuses on Popular Bohemia: Modernism and Urban Culture in Nineteenth-Century Paris. Currently, she is working on Jewish humor and assimilation in fin-de-siecle Budapest and on bohemias in a global perspective.

Bruno Harris came to Brown as Associate Professor of Mathematics in 1961 and was promoted to Professor in 1964: he became Emeritus Professor in 2006. He has been Visiting Professor at Princeton in 1981 and at Nankai University (China) in 2001.His research area is Geometry and he has published a book "Iterated Integrals and Cycles on Algebraic Manifolds" (based on his course at Nankai), in 2004. In the Mathematics department he has served as chairman and in other positions. At present he is the departmental Library representative and also a Freshman and Sophomore Advisor.

Coppelia Kahn, Professor of English, has taught at Brown since 1987. The author of two books on Shakespeare, she has also published on other Renaissance playwrights, feminist theory, psychoanalytic theory, and Shakespeare as a cultural icon in England and America. In 2009, she was president of the Shakespeare Association of America, and she is incoming co-chair of the MLA Commission on the Status of Women in the Profession.
At Brown, she has served on TPAC and has chaired the Nominations Committee.

Joan Lusk (Chair 2007-2008) is Associate Professor Emerita of Chemistry, retiring in January 2008.  She came to Brown as an assistant professor in 1972 and spent 14 years as Associate Dean of the Graduate School, practicing accounting and social work with a license for neither. Her initial research was on bacterial membranes and transport; after returning to the faculty in 2003 she focused on teaching freshman chemistry labs.  In retirement she is spending more time playing the cello in chamber music and in the RI Philharmonic Community Orchestra, and taking lessons in drawing and watercolor.

Robert Patrick, Associate Professor of Neuroscience, came to Brown in 1977. He teaches courses encompassing Introductory Neuroscience, Neuropharmacology and Synaptic Transmission, and Psychoactive Drugs. He has served as a member of the University Awards and Benefits Committee, the University Radiation Safety Committee, the Campus Police and Security Committee, the Standing Committee on the Academic Code, the University Commencement Speaker Committee, the Neuroscience Undergraduate Curriculum Committee, and, for a change of pace, has served as President of the Rhode Island Squash Rackets Association (RISRA).

Committee Members 2009-2010

Steve Rabson, (Chair); Mary Gluck, Bruno Harris, Lewis Lipsitt, Joan Lusk, Lois Montiero

Committee Members 2007-2009

Bruno Harris, Lois Monteiro, Lewis P. Lipsitt, Joan Lusk (Chair 2007-2008), Steve Rabson (Chair 2008-2009), Newell Stultz

Lewis P. Lipsitt, Ph.D. is Professor Emeritus of Psychology, Medical Science, and Human Development and, since retirement in 1996, has been Professor (Research) of Psychology. He was the founding director, for 25 years, of Brown’s Child Study Center, responsible for Brown’s participation in a long-term National Collaborative Perinatal Project involving 4,000 local children, beginning before birth, on the origins of developmental disorders. His studies, writings, and teaching relate to infant sensory and behavioral processes, lifespan development, crib death, and adolescent suicide.

Steve Rabson (Chair 2008-2009) is Professor Emeritus of East Asian Studies. His teaching and research are on modern Japanese literature in social, cultural, and historical context.  He focuses on the literature of Japan’s minorities, especially Okinawans, and has written on literature depicting war and military occupation. He has published Okinawa: Two Postwar Novellas (U. of California, 1989, reprinted 1996), Righteous Cause or Tragic Folly: Changing Views of War in Modern Japanese Poetry (U. of Michigan, 1998), and co-edited Southern Exposure: Modern Japanese Literature from Okinawa (U. of Hawaii, 2000).

Newell Stultz is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Brown.  A graduate of Dartmouth College, he received his PhD in political and African from Boston University in 1965. He was first appointed at Brown in 1965. He has held appointments at Northwestern University, Rhodes University (South Africa), Yale's Southern African Research Program, and the University of South Africa. His research has focused primarily on comparative politics, specializing in South Africa.  His teaching fields have included ethnopolitics and higher education, the last topic informed by his many years of service in the Brown University central administration. Prof. Stultz took emeritus status in 2003, but continues to serve the University in various capacities.