About the Speakers

Keynote Speaker

Diana Taylor, University Professor
Department of Performance Studies, Tisch School of the Arts, New York University

Invited Speakers (alphabetically)

James Chandler, Professor
Department of English
Director, Franke Institute for the Humanities, University of Chicago

Sharon Daniel, Professor
Film and Digital Media, University of California/Santa Cruz

Matthew Fuller, Reader
Centre for Cultural Studies, Goldsmiths College, University of London

Kelly Gates, Assistant Professor
Department of Communication, University of California/San Diego

Brian Goldfarb, Associate Professor
Department of Communication, University of California/San Diego

Amelie Hastie, Associate Professor
Film and Digital Media Department, University of California/Santa Cruz

Alexandra Juhasz, Professor
Media Studies, Pitzer College

Josh Kun, Associate Professor
Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California

Lawrence Liang, Lawyer and Founder
Alternative Law Forum, Bangalore, India

Tara McPherson, Associate Professor and founding editor of Vectors
School of Cinematic Arts, University of Southern California

Janine Marchessault, Research Chair in Art, Digital Media, and Globalization
Department of Film, York University, Toronto

Nicholas Mirzoeff, Professor
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, New York University

Trevor Paglen, Geographer
Department of Geography, University of California/Berkeley

Lisa Parks, Associate Professor and Department Chair
Department of Film and Media Studies, University of California/Santa Barbara

Joan Saab, Associate Professor and Director, Visual and Cultural Studies Program
Department of Art and Art History, Rochester University

Abby Smith Rumsey, Director
Scholarly Communication Institute, University of Virginia Library

Ramesh Srinivasan, Assistant Professor
Department of Information Studies, University of California/Los Angeles

James Tobias, Assistant Professor
Chair of Library, Media, and Computer Committee
Department of English, University of California/Riverside

Brown Faculty Speakers

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun, Associate Professor
Modern Culture and Media
Conference Organizer

John Cayley, Visiting Professor
Literary Arts Program

David Cooper, Professor

Mary Ann Doane, Professor
Modern Culture and Media

Harriette Hemmasi, University Librarian

Lynne Joyrich, Associate Professor
Modern Culture and Media

Dietrich Neumann, Professor
History of Art & Architecture

Ellen Rooney, Professor
Modern Culture and Media/English

Philip Rosen, Professor
Modern Culture and Media

Rebecca Schneider, Associate Professor
Theatre Arts and Performance Studies

Michael Silverman, Professor
Modern Culture and Media

Michael Steinberg, Director
Cogut Center for the Humanities
Professor of History; Professor of Music