People

Associate Dean of Biology Undergraduate Education

Katherine Smith, PhD

Associate Dean Katherine F. SmithAssociate Dean Katherine F. Smith

A member of the Brown faculty since July 2008, Dean Smith received a BS in Biology from The University of New Mexico and a PhD in Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology from The University of California Santa Barbara. Before arriving at Brown, she was a David H. Smith Conservation Research Fellow with the EcoHealth Alliance and University of Georgia. Dean Smith teaches and pursues research in the field of Conservation Medicine.  She is a faculty member in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Dean Smith is the recipient of the 2014-15 Dean's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, Advising and Mentoring in the Biological Sciences.


Office of Biology Undergraduate Education
Arnold Lab | Suite 124

 

Scott Rathbun
Office Coordinator
Scott_Rathbun@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 9624

Michelle Leiber
Program Coordinator
Michelle_Leiber@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 3133

Sarah Taylor
Academic Advisor | Instructional Coordinator/Science Learning Specialist
Sarah_Taylor@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 6891

Jody Hall
Academic Advisor | Teaching Associate & Manager, Undergraduate Laboratories
Jody_Hall@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 2967


Multidisciplinary Teaching Laboratories
BioMedical Center | Room 113


Katherine Patenaude

Director, MDL
Katherine_Patenaude@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 3464

Patricia Martins
Department Coordinator
Patricia_Martins@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 2482

Kelly Cleveland
Senior Technical Assistant
Kelly_Cleveland@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 3995

Michael DePasquale
Senior Technical Assistant
Michael_DePasquale@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 2482

Donna Flanagan
Senior Technical Assistant
Donna_Flanagan@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 3995

Philip Bolduc
Technical Assistant
Philip_Bolduc@brown.edu
401 | 863 | 3995


Biology Curriculum Committee (BCC) 

Chairperson

Associate Dean Katherine Smith 

Faculty & Student Representatives

Bungiro, Richard
Edwards, Erika 

Johnson, Mark 
Kauer, Julie 
Mendoza, Monica-Ann ‘17 
Pettengill, Thomas ‘17  
Swartz, Sharon (On Sabbatical)
Taylor, Sarah 

Department Undergraduate Group (DUGs) Leaders


BIOLOGY AB & ScB:

Ugur Basmaci '17 
Joshua Amaya '18
Erika Denour '18

HEALTH & HUMAN BIOLOGY AB: 

Erica J. Lee '17 
Megumi Mori '17
Regan Butchness '18
Anthony Mei '18 

BIOCHEMISTRY ScB:

Kenneth Kim '17
Margaret Rowe '17
Douglas Shea '19