The BUE offices at Arnold Lab are closed at this time. All staff and advisors are working remotely and can be contacted via email.

Associate Dean of Biology Undergraduate Education

Katherine Smith, PhD

Associate Dean Katherine F. SmithAssociate Dean Katherine F. Smith

A member of the Brown faculty since July 2008, Dean Smith received a BS in Biology from The University of New Mexico and a PhD in Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology from The University of California Santa Barbara. Before arriving at Brown, she was a David H. Smith Conservation Research Fellow with the EcoHealth Alliance and University of Georgia. Dean Smith teaches and pursues research in the field of Conservation Medicine.  She leads the new course Living Biology at Brown & Beyond as part of the Biology Program's Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan. Dean Smith is a first generation student who is an active member of Brown's College Curriculum Council and Global Health Initiative. She is a faculty member in Medical Science. Dean Smith is the recipient of the 2014-15 Dean's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, Advising and Mentoring in the Biological Sciences.

Office of Biology Undergraduate Education
Arnold Lab | Suite 124


Scott Rathbun
Program Coordinator
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 9624

Michelle Leiber
Program Coordinator
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 3133

Sarah Taylor
Senior Academic Advisor | Instructor
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 6891

Jody Hall
Senior Academic Advisor | Instructor
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 2967

Multidisciplinary Teaching Laboratories
BioMedical Center | Room 113

Katherine Patenaude

Director, MDL
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 3464

Patricia Martins
Department Coordinator
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 2482

Kelly Cleveland
Senior Technical Assistant
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 3995

Liz Lavigne
Senior Technical Assistant
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 2482

Donna Flanagan
Senior Technical Assistant
[email protected]
401 | 863 | 3995

Sean Dowers Colon
Technical Assistant
Sean Dowers [email protected]
401 | 863 | 3995

Biology Curriculum Committee (BCC) 


Associate Dean Katherine Smith 

Faculty & Student Representatives

Belenky, Peter
Freiman, Richard
Hai, Chi-Ming
Kellner, James
Ngo, Lynna

Department Undergraduate Group (DUGs) Leaders


Elizabeth Leon '21
Kaeri Martinez ' 21
Miranda Triedman '21
Alannah Clarke '22
Michelle Medina '22


Sarah Grill '21
Chiaka Ibe '21
Rachel Sklar '22


Marisa Agarwal '21
Noah Medina '21


Christine Huynh '21
Annie Huang '22


Claire Aibel '22
Jon Mallen '22