Skip to Navigation

Bates-Clapp Award

The Brown University Graduate Student Council conferrs the Bates-Clapp Award annually to a staff member who has made outstanding contributions to master's students and the Graduate School. The Bates-Clapp Award is named in honor of Louise Prosser Bates (Mrs. Francis E. Bates) and Lucia Maria Clapp (Mrs. William Noyes), who in 1893-94 were the first women to receive master's degrees from Brown University. The award is given on behalf of all Brown master's students to express their appreciation for the recipient’s dedication and commitment to graduate students at the University. It is presented at the Master's Commencement Ceremony in May.

Nominations for the Bates-Clapp Award should be made through UFunds, found under the Graduate Student and Alumni Awards. Deadline: Friday, March 4, 2022 at 5 pm EDT.
Questions should be sent to [email protected].

Recipients of the Bates-Clapp Award:

Eileen Caffrey Wright, Program Manager, Global Health Initiative
Read more about Eileen's award.

Carrie Nordlund, Associate Director of the Master of Public Affairs Program at the Watson Institute
Read more about Carrie and the Bates-Clapp award.

Dr. Laura Sobik, Psychologist and Assistant Director, Counseling and Psychological Services

Carin Algava, Assistant Director for Teacher Education, Department of Education

Robyn S. Schroeder '16 PhD, 
Postdoctoral Fellow and Director of Graduate Studies, Public Humanities