Skip to Navigation

Graduate School Faculty Award for Advising & Mentoring

José Itzigsohn, Professor of SociologyJosé Itzigsohn, Professor of Sociology

Created by the Graduate Council in 2010, the Graduate School Faculty Award for Advising and Mentoring recognizes a faculty member who has made a significant contribution as an advisor or mentor to graduate students. Any Brown faculty member who has served as graduate advisor, trainer, or dissertation chair, unofficial or official mentor is eligible for nomination. The recipient is honored at the annual University Awards Ceremony. The award is announced at Commencement by Associate Dean Thomas A. Lewis.

Nominations are due by April 1. Include a description (at least two paragraphs) of the contribution made by the nominee. Please send the nomination to Barbara Bennett.

José Itzigsohn, Professor of Sociology 

Patricia Ybarra,
Associate Professor of Theatre Arts and Performance Studies 

Paja Faudree, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Ellen Rooney, Chair and Professor, Modern Culture and Media and Professor of English

Efstratios Papaioannou, Associate Professor of Classics 

Anita L. Zimmerman, Professor of Medical Science; Vice Chair, Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology

Diane Lipscombe, Professor of Neuroscience