Skip to Navigation

Presidential Fellowships

2016-2017 Presidential Fellows2016-2017 Presidential FellowsBrown’s Graduate School offers Presidential Fellowships to some of the most outstanding applicants to doctoral programs across the disciplines. Awarded on a competitive basis, the honor recognizes academic promise and carries enhanced stipend support for three years.

The Presidential Fellowships are an early result of Building on Distinction, the University’s strategic plan.

The Graduate School announced the nomination and selection process to graduate programs in January 2014. As established in the first year of the program, nominations are due in early February and are reviewed by a committee of senior faculty and the Dean of the Graduate School.  Programs should refer to admission instructions for details of the process.

The primary selection criterion is the excellence of the admitted applicant.  All components of a student’s application dossier are considered, including letters of recommendations, publications, GRE scores, past prizes, awards and recognitions, and undergraduate GPAs. In some disciplines, knowledge of languages may be considered as well.

The 2016-2017 cohort of Presidential Fellows includes:


  • Graham Bishop, Comparative Literature
  • Austin Carder, Comparative Literature
  • Ryan Doherty, French Studies
  • Ana Garriga  Espino, Hispanic Studies
  • Nicolas Barbosa Lopez, Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
  • Kenneth Molloy, Theatre Studies

Life Sciences

  • Augustine Wee Cheng Kang, Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
  • Xien Yu Chua, Molecular Pharmacology
  • Armita Manafzadeh, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology
  • Adedotun Ogunbajo, Behavioral and Social Health Sciences

Physical Sciences

  • Natasha Danas, Computer Science
  • Aaron Danilack, Engineering
  • Camille Denton, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
  • Anna Grim, Applied Mathematics
  • Sierra Kaufman, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
  • Michael Markovitch, Computer Science
  • Ashling Neary, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
  • Xuliang Qian, Engineering
  • Peter Walecki, Engineering
  • Qingyu Ye, Chemistry

Social Sciences

  • Felicia Bishop Denaud, Africana Studies
  • Aaron Jacobs, History
  • Aaron Stern, Political Science
  • Katherine Thompson, Anthropology