Faculty

The Epidemiology faculty is comprised of campus- and hospital-based researchers and practitioners. They conduct research on a broad range of topics, including behavioral, cancer, cardiometabolic health, environmental, global health, health disparities, infectious disease, molecular, obesity, pediatrics, perinatal and reproductive, psychiatric, quantitative methods, social determinants and women’s health epidemiology.

Primary appointments
Affiliated appointments (secondary, clinical and practice)
Adjunct
Emeritus

Department Chair: Alison E. Field, ScD

Primary Faculty

Joseph Braun
Associate Professor of Epidemiology; Master's Program Director
Studying patterns and identifying determinants of environmental exposures in pregnant women, infants and children. Quantifying the health effects of neurotoxicants and obesogens. Identifying biological mechanisms linking environmental exposures to childrens' health.
joseph_braun_1@brown.edu



Stephen Buka
Professor and Founding Chair of Epidemiology
Causes and prevention of neuropsychiatric disorders. He has conducted extensive research in neuropsychology and psychiatric epidemiology, directed several major longitudinal studies examining the impact of birth complications, environmental hazards, and socioeconomic conditions on behavioral and intellectual development
stephen_buka@brown.edu

Alison Field
Department Chair; Professor of Epidemiology and Pediatrics
Director, Center for Epidemiology and Environmental Health
Examining risk factors for and causes of obesity, excessive weight gain, and eating disorders in longitudinal studies; identifying subtypes of obesity and eating disorders; mental and physical health of children, adolescents, and young adults.
alison_field@brown.edu

Ilana Gareen
Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Research)
Design and conduct of studies of diagnostic imaging technologies.  Focus on patient outcomes associated with diagnostic imaging technologies, including the impact of imaging on patient health, patient quality of life, and medical care utilization; interest in the impact of significant incidental findings detected on screening tests on patient health and health care utilization
igareen@stat.brown.edu

Annie Gjelsvik
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and Pediatrics (Teaching Scholar); Faculty Scholar, Hassenfeld Child Health Innovation Institute
Examining childhood health exposures, health care access and outcomes; using national surveillance databases to understand child health; primary investigator for the Brown University Vanguard Center of the Jackson Heart Study.
annie_gjelsvik@brown.edu

Chanelle Howe
RGSS Assistant Professor of Public Health
Advanced quantitative methods to enhance causal inference; racial/ethnic health disparities; socioeconomic-based health disparities; neighborhood-based health disparities; HIV/AIDS; cardiovascular health; alcohol/drug use.
chanelle_howe@brown.edu

Karl Kelsey
Professor of Epidemiology and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Center for Environmental Health and Technology
Investigation of the environmental origins of cancer; epigenetics; Study of gene - environment interaction in cancer and development; examination of the epidemiology of the immune system employing epigenetic techniques in archival blood specimens. 
karl_kelsey@brown.edu

Simin Liu
Professor of Epidemiology
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Medicine
Director, Brown Center for Global CardiometabolicHealth (CGCH)
Etiology of chronic disease with special emphasis on investigating how dietary and biological factors and their interactions influence chronic disease development over a person's lifespan; understanding of how dietary and nutritional factors may interact with genetic susceptibilities in determining an individual's risk; obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, nutrition, clinical epidemiology
simin_liu@brown.edu

Eric Loucks
Associate Professor of Epidemiology; Graduate Program Director
Associate Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director of Mindfulness Center
Research focuses on elucidating biological mechanisms by which social factors such as mindfulness, education, and early life adversity may influence cardiovascular disease. Dr. Loucks has generated research findings that have helped to better understand how biological factors such as inflammatory markers, epigenetics, blood pressure, obesity, lipids, amongst others, may be important mechanisms through which social factors could influence cardiovascular disease. He is now increasingly moving into practical applications of the work, including randomized controlled trials of mindfulness interventions for cardiovascular disease risk reduction.
eric_loucks@brown.edu

Mark Lurie
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
International Health Institute

Epidemiology, prevention and treatment of infectious diseases, particularly HIV, TB and sexually transmitted diseases in Africa; global health. Examining ways to improve men's movement through the HIV treatment cascade; testing different methods of partner notification for sexually transmitted infections; examining the impact of migration on health care utilization for HIV and NCDs, testing conditional incentives for linkage to HIV treatment.
mark_lurie@brown.edu

Brandon D.L. Marshall
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Examining the causes and consequences of drug and alcohol use, including overdose, HIV/AIDS, and hepatitis C virus infection; structural determinants of health; agent-based modeling; evaluation of harm reduction programs; psychiatric and substance use epidemiology.
brandon_marshall@brown.edu

Stephen McGarvey
Professor of Epidemiology and Anthropology; Director, International Health Institute
Global health; noncommunicable diseases, especially cardiometabolic risk factor, in low and middle income countries; genetic epidemiology; obesity; Samoa, American Samoa, South Africa, Kenya. 
stephen_mcgarvey@brown.edu

Deborah Pearlman
Associate Professor of the Practice
Examining risk and resilience (protective) factors for health risk behaviors (smoking, substance abuse, obesity) and related chronic diseases (asthma, diabetes and heart disease), as well as for mental illness (depression, suicide ideation) and interpersonal violence, using cross sectional and longitudinal data, and applying a social determinants of health framework that examines disparities in the health of children, adolescents and adults at the individual and community levels.
deborah_pearlman@brown.edu

David Savitz
Professor of Epidemiology
Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Professor of Pediatrics
Studying the health of pregnancy considering environmental, lifestyle, and clinical influences on fetal growth, preterm birth, pregnancy complications, and child health; assessing health effects of environmental pollutants; use of epidemiology to inform policy and health behaviors.
david_savitz@brown.edu

Gregory Wellenius
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Director, Center for Environmental Health & Technology
Performing research to inform the development of healthy and sustainable urban environments, including examining the impacts of outdoor and indoor air pollution, climate change, and the built environment on human health and wellbeing across the lifespan
gregory_wellenius@brown.edu

Tongzhang Zheng
Professor of Epidemiology; Director, Brown-China Center for Environmental Health Sciences
Investigating human cancer risk related to environmental and occupational exposures, genetic and epigenetic factors and gene-environment interaction.  Particularly interested the fetal origin hypothesis stating that many human cancers start in utero.  Also interested in prenatal exposures and fetal growth trajectories and child growth.
tongzhang_zheng@brown.edu 

Affiliated Faculty 

Katie Biello 
Assistant Professor of Behavioral and Social Science 
Identifying and understanding the underlying risk factors for social inequities in HIV/STIs and developing behavioral interventions to reduce HIV risk among racial, sexual and gender minorities and those in resource limited settings, both domestically and globally. 
katie_biello@brown.edu 

Colleen Caron
Assistant Professor of the Practice
Examining multilevel factors predictive of child welfare, behavioral health and juvenile justice outcomes employingmultiple research designs, longitudinal, program evaluation and subpopulation comparisons, and general surveillance.Examining the application of data and study findings to inform program, policy and system interventions
colleen_caron@brown.edu

Eunyoung Cho
Associate Professor of Dermatology
eunyoung_cho@brown.edu

Issa Dahabreh
Assistant Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice
Issa_Dahabreh@brown.edu 
 
Valery Danilack
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology (Research)
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research)
Perinatal epidemiology and birth outcomes research. Best practices for clinical care in pregnancy and the newborn period, including medications, tests, procedures, and provider visits. Comparative effectiveness of methods for labor induction.
valery_danilack@brown.edu

Dorothy Dumont
Assistant Professor of Practice 
Senior public health epidemiologist at RI Department of Health
Examining social determinants of health and health disparities, particularly within RI; chronic disease and associated health behaviors; incarceration and public health.
dora_dumont@brown.edu 

Charles Eaton
Professor of Family Medicine, Director of Center for Primary Care and Prevention
Examining the role of nutrition and physical activity on cardiovascular disease with emphasis on subclinical atherosclerosis,  sudden cardiac death, heart failure and its sub-types and osteoarthritis; Examining the role of gender and racial and ethnic differences on  risk of obesity and its subtypes, body composition and  molecular biomarkers on cardiometabolic  disease throughout the lifecycle; Pragmatic Primary Prevention Clinical trials- behavioral weight loss, physical activity, aspirin, flavonoids 
charles_eaton@brown.edu

Jennifer Friedman
Professor of Pediatrics
Dr. Friedman is a pediatrician who conducts international health research out of Lifespan's Center for International Health Research. Her research addresses quantification of and mechanisms of morbidity of parasitic diseases among pregnant women and children. 
jennifer_friedman@brown.edu 

William Hollinshead
Assistant Professor of the Practice
william_hollinshead@brown.edu

Yongwen Jiang
Assistant Professor of the Practice
yongwen_jiang@brown.edu

Hyun (Hanna) Kim
Assistant Professor of the Practice
hyun_kim@brown.edu

Wen-Qing Li
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
wen-qing_li@brown.edu

Matthew Mimiaga
Professor of Behavioral & Social Health Sciences and Epidemiology, School of Public Health; Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Alpert Medical School 
matthew_mimiaga@brown.edu 

Donna Parker
Associate Professor of Family Medicine (Research)
Smoking cessation among pregnant women and patients with COPD; reproductive risk factors for pregnant women; andclinical trial of patients with COPD
donna_parker@brown.edu

Maureen Phipps
Chair and Chace-Joukowsky Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Assistant Dean for Teaching and Research on Women's Health
Phipps' broad interest in women's health has been geared toward improving the health of underserved women.  In addition to excellence in clinical care and research, she is dedicated to training the next generation of women’s health providers.
maureen_phipps@brown.edu

Abrar Qureshi
Professor and Chair of Dermatology
abrar_qureshi@brown.edu

Josiah Rich
Professor of Medicine
josiah_rich@brown.edu

Patricia Risica
Assistant Professor of Behavioral and Social Science 
patricia_risica@brown.edu

Dwight Rouse
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dr. Rouse is in his fourth 5-year cycle as Principal Investigator for the NICHD Maternal-Fetal Medicine Units (MFMU) Network. He leads a research staff of 16 at Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island who have broad experience and expertise in the conduct of large observational and randomized intervention studies. 
drouse@wihri.org

Elena Salmoirago-Blotcher
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Research); Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research)
Research interests: primary prevention of cardiovascular disease and vascular dementia; psychosocial determinants of cardiovascular disease; mindfulness-based approaches for the promotion of cardiovascular health (physical activity, diet); dissemination of mindfulness-based interventions. 
elena_salmoirago-blotcher@brown.edu 

Peter Simon
Associate Professor of the Practice
peter_simon@brown.edu

Alvaro Tinajero
Clinical Assistant Professor
alvaro_tinajero@brown.edu

Ellen Tohn
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Epidemiology
etohn@tohnenvironmental.com

Martin Weinstock
Professor of Dermatology
Chief of Dermatology, Providence Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Melanoma and melanoma precursors, with particular emphasis on screening; (keratinocyte carcinoma (basal and squamous cell carcinoma of the skin) and precursors, with particular emphasis onchemoprevention;teledermatology
martin_weinstock_md@brown.edu

Erika Werner
Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Associate Professor of Epidemiology

Erika_Werner@brown.edu 

Wen-Chih (Hank) Wu
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Epidemiology
Effectiveness of shared medical appointments in heart failure, where a multi-disciplinary team of providers with expertise in nutrition, nursing, behavior and medication management join to manage heart failure in addition to and support of, the patient’s regular physician visits. Evaluate the comparative effectiveness and implementation of a novel reciprocal peer support program—the Peer to Peer Program (P2P)—in maintaining gains from diabetes Shared-medical appointments.
wen-chih_wu@brown.edu

Haiyan Xu
Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Research)
haiyan_xu@brown.edu

Andrew Zullo
Assistant Professor of Health Services, Policy, and Practice
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Research Scholar Track)

Andrew_Zullo@brown.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Hélène Carabin
Adjunct Professor
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
helene_carabin@brown.edu

Kei Hang (Katie) Chan
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Chinese University of Hong Kong

Melissa Clark
Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology
University of Massachusetts Medical School
melissa_clark@brown.edu

Christopher Colvin
Adjunct Associate Professor
University of Cape Town
christopher_colvin@brown.edu 

Traci Green
Adjunct Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine 
Boston University
traci_green@brown.edu

Nicola Hawley
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
Yale University
nicola.hawley@yale.edu

Yen-Tsung Huang
Adjunct Associate Professor
Associate Research Fellow with Tenure at the Institute of Statistical Science, Academia Sinica in Taiwan
yen-tsung_huang@brown.edu

Douglas Kiel
Adjunct Professor
Harvard Medical School
Epidemiology of musculoskeletal diseases including osteoporosis and sarcopenia in olderadults. Dr. Kiel leads the Framingham Osteoporosis Study and has ongoing geneĕcepidemiology studies using GWAS, whole genome sequencing, and epigeneĕcs
douglas_kiel@brown.edu

Elizabeth Kimani
Adjunct Assistant Professor
African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC)
elizabeth_kimani@brown.edu 

Natalie Leon
Adjunct Assistant Professor

South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC)
Natalie_Leon@brown.edu

Carmen Marsit
Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology
Rollins School of Public Health, Emory
carmen_marsit@brown.edu

Kenneth Mayer
Adjunct Professor
Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
kenneth_mayer@brown.edu

Roland Merchant
Adjunct Professor of Emergency Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology
rmerchant@lifespan.org

Dominique Michaud
Adjunct Professor
Tufts University School of Medicine

Interested in inflammation and immune response and how they play a role in the etiology of cancer; microbiome and GI cancers; epigenetic immune markers and cancer; periodontal disease and cancer. 
dominique_michaud@brown.edu 

Karine Monteiro
Assistant Professor of the Practice
Rhode Island Department of Health
karine.monteiro@health.ri.gov

Megan Romano
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dartmouth  

Edmond Shenassa
Adjunct Associate Professor
University of Maryland
edmond_shenassa@brown.edu

Elizabeth Triche
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Yale University
elizabeth_triche@brown.edu

Emeritus

Sally Zierler
Professor Emerita