economics

contact uswhat's newgraduate programundergraduate programfacutly and staffworking papersworkshops and events

Faculty
Faculty Emeritus
Adjunct and Visiting Faculty
Staff

Selected Faculty Publications

Faculty/Staff/Grad Student Login

Faculty/Staff/Grad Student Register

Admin Login

Faculty

   Anna Aizer
Associate Professor
(Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Phone: (401) 863-9529
Email: Anna_Aizer@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302A (Thurs. 1:00-2:00)
   Nathaniel Baum-Snow
Associate Professor
(Public Economics, Urban Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2697
Email: Nathaniel_Baum-Snow@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302C
   Daniel Bjorkegren
Assistant Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Industrial Organization)
Phone: (401) 863-3690
Email: daniel_bjorkegren@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303D
   Joaquin Blaum
Assistant Professor
(Economic Growth, International Economics, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2285
Email: Joaquin_Blaum@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 309 (Tues 1:30-2:30)
   Dror Brenner
Lecturer
(Applied Microeconomics, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2122
Email: Dror.Brenner@gmail.com
Office: Robinson Hall 214 (On Leave)
   Kenneth Chay
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6296
Email: Kenneth_Chay@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 303 (Tues. 3:00-4:00 & Thurs. 11:00-12:00)
   Pedro Dal Bó
Associate Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: (401) 863-2953
Email: Pedro_dal_bo@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302B (Weds. 10:30-12:00)
   Geoffroy de Clippel
Associate Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory, Welfare Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6288
Email: Geoffroy_DeClippel@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 206 (Advising: Thurs. 8:00-9:00, E1110 Thurs. 9:00-10:00, E1870 Thurs. 10:00- 11:00)
   Mark Dean
Assistant Professor
(Behavioral Economics, Economic Theory, Experimental Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2097
Email: Mark_Dean@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303C (Tues. & Weds. 3:00-5:00)
   Jonathan Eaton
Professor
(International Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2118
Email: Jonathan_Eaton@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 101
   Gauti Eggertsson
Associate Professor
(Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2145
Email: Gauti_Eggertsson@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102B
   Jack Fanning
Assistant Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-1988
Email: jack_fanning@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102A
   Andrew Foster
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Empirical Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2537
Email: Andrew_Foster@brown.edu
Office: Mencoff Hall 112 (Mon. 1:00-3:00)
   Rachel Friedberg
Senior Lecturer
(Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-7578
Email: Rachel_Friedberg@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 216 (Weds. 11:00-12:30)
   Oded Galor
Professor
(Comparative Development, Evolutionary Economics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-2117
Email: Oded_Galor@brown.edu
Office: Robinson 101
   Justine Hastings
Associate Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2691
Email: Justine_Hastings@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 201
   Nathaniel Hilger
Assistant Professor
(Labor Economics, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6297
Email: Nathaniel_Hilger@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302D (Thurs. 2:00-4:00)
   Frank Kleibergen
Professor
(Econometrics, Time Series)
Phone: (401) 863-9590
Email: Frank_Kleibergen@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 209
   Brian Knight
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-1584
Email: Brian_Knight@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304C (Sabbatical)
   Sylvia Kuo
Lecturer
Phone: (401) 863-6257
Email: Sylvia_Kuo@brown.edu
Office: Robinson 104B (Tues. 12:30-1:30 Weds. 11:00-12:00 or by appointment)
   Glenn Loury
Professor
(Economic Theory, Applied Theory, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2606
Email: Glenn_Loury@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 105 (Mon. & Tues. 1:00-2:30)
   Adam McCloskey
Assistant Professor
(Econometrics, Time Series)
Phone: 401-863-9864
Email: Adam_McCloskey@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 215
   Neil Mehrotra
Assistant Professor
(Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2112
Email: Neil_Mehrotra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303A (Mon. 9:00-11:00 )
   Stelios Michalopoulos
Assistant Professor
(Economic Growth, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2506
Email: SMichalo@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 308
   Sriniketh Nagavarapu
Assistant Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Environmental Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6279
Email: Sriniketh_Nagavarapu@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 202 (Weds. 2:00-4:00)
   Andriy Norets
Associate Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-3195
Email: andriy_norets@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304B
   Christina Paxson
Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2234
Email: Christina_Paxson@brown.edu
Office: President`s Office
   Louis Putterman
Professor
(Development Economics, Experimental Economics)
Department Chair
Phone: (401) 863-3837
Email: Louis_Putterman@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 301 (Mon. & Fri. 10:00 – 10:50)
   Eric Renault
Professor
(Econometrics, Financial Economics, Time Series)
Phone: (401) 863-3519
Email: Eric_Renault@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 212 (Thurs. 3:00-4:30)
   Anja Sautmann
Assistant Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Economic Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-6972
Email: Anja_Sautmann@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303B
   Susanne Schennach
Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-1234
Email: Susanne_Schennach@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 102
   Roberto Serrano
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-2764
Email: Roberto_Serrano@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 201B (Tues. 9:00-12:00 or by appointment)
   Matthew Turner
Professor
(Environmental Economics, Urban Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-9331
Email: matthew_turner@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304A
   Rajiv Vohra
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-3030
Email: Rajiv_Vohra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 201A (Tues. & Weds. 3:00-4:00)
   David Weil
Professor
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-1754
Email: David_Weil@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 204 (Tues. 1:00-3:00)

[back to the top]

Faculty Emeritus

   Martin Beckmann
Professor Emeritus
Email: Martin_Beckmann@brown.edu
   Allan Feldman
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory, Law and Economics, Welfare Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2415
Email: Allan_Feldman@brown.edu
   Vernon Henderson
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Economic Growth, Urban Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2886
Email: Vernon_Henderson@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 206
   Peter Howitt
Professor Emeritus
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-5128
Email: Peter_Howitt@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 211
   Tony Lancaster
Professor Emeritus
(Econometrics, Health Economics)
Email: Tony_Lancaster@brown.edu
   Talbot Page
Professor Emeritus
(Environmental Economics, Experimental Economics, Game Theory)
Email: Talbot_Page@brown.edu
   Mark Pitt
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics)
Email: Mark_Pitt@brown.edu
   Harl Ryder
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory)
Email: Harl_Ryder@brown.edu

[back to the top]

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty

   Robert D`Andrea
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 274-2001
Email: RDAndrea@kahnlitwin.com
Office: Off Campus
   Richard Fey
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 863-3239
Email: Richard_Fey@brown.edu
Office: Mencoff 309
   Raphael Franck
Visiting Scholar
Phone: (401) 863-6973
Email: raphael_franck@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 313
   Mark Gradstein
Visiting Professor
Email: mark_gradstein@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304C
   Marc Klemp
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-3239
Email: marc_klemp@brown.edu
Office: Mencoff 309
   Tom Lonardo
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 942-2338
Email: Thomas186@cox.net
Office: Off Campus
   Tim Nguyen
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 863-6359
Email: thanh_nguyen@brown.edu
Office: Sayles Hall 015D (Mon. & Weds. 8:20-9:20 pm (please arrange with him))
   Emily Oster
Visiting Associate Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2170
Email: emily_oster@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102C
   Dimitra Politi
Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: dimitra_politi@brown.edu
   Lawrence Rand
Lecturer
Phone: (401) 863-6359
Email: Lawrence_Rand@brown.edu
Office: Sayles Hall 015D
   Frank Sciuto
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 521-1550
Email: FSciuto@dpcpas.com
Office: Off Campus
   Amy Serrano
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: amy_serrano@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 106
   Jesse Shapiro
Visiting Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2970
Email: jesse_shapiro_1@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 302
   Eytan Sheshinski
Visiting Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2887
Email: eytan_sheshinski@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 210
   Henry Silva
Adjunct Lecturer
Phone: (401) 274-2001
Email: Hsilva@kahnlitwin.com
Office: Off Campus (Tues. & Thurs. 5:15-6:00 or by appointment.)
   David Wyss
Adjunct Professor
Phone: (401) 863-1997
Email: david_wyss@brown.edu
Office: Watson Institute 128

[back to the top]

Courtesy Faculty

   John Papay
Assistant Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-5137
Email: John_Papay@brown.edu
Office: Barus 202
   John Tyler
Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-1036
Email: John_Tyler@brown.edu
Office: Barus Hall 202

[back to the top]

Staff

   Mary Ellen Brown
Financial Manager
Phone: (401) 863-2144
Email: Mary_Brown@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102D
   Kim Departie
Department Manager
Phone: (401) 863-2116
Email: Kim_Departie@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 103C
   Ashley Dufour
Administrative Assistant
Phone: (401) 863-3836
Email: Ashley_Dufour@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 103
   Natalia Ignatyeva
Adminstrative Assistant
Phone: (401) 863-2142
Email: Natalia_Ignatyeva@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 103B
   Eric Scantlebury
Systems Manager
Phone: (401) 863-2917
Email: Eric_Scantlebury@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 202
   Angelica Vargas
Student Affairs Manager
Phone: (401) 863-2465
Email: Angelica_Vargas@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 103D

[back to the top]


Site design by Sarah Lang, photography by Rajiv Vohra