Skip over navigation
Brown shield Brown shield Brown University Brown shield Brown shield Brown University Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World

Core Faculty

Peter van Dommelen

Director, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology

Professor of Anthropology and Italian Studies

Peter_van_Dommelen@brown.edu

 

Margaret M. Andrews

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Archaeology

Margaret_Andrews@brown.edu

 

Laurel Bestock

Associate Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World and Egyptology and Assyriology

Laurel_Bestock@brown.edu

 

Sheila Bonde

Chair, History of Art and Architecture, Professor of Archaeology, and Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Sheila_Bonde@brown.edu

 

Katherine Brunson

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Katherine_Brunson@brown.edu

 

John F. Cherry

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology

Professor of Classics; Professor of Anthropology

Director of Graduate Studies

John_Cherry@brown.edu

 

 

Yannis Hamilakis

Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology and Professor of Modern Greek Studies

Yannis_Hamilakis@brown.edu

 

Sophie Moore

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Sophie_Moore@brown.edu

 

Tate Paulette

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Tate_Paulette@brown.edu

 

Matthew Reilly

Visiting Assistant Professor, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World & Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice

Matthew_Reilly@brown.edu

 

Felipe Rojas

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Assyriology

Felipe_Rojas@brown.edu

 

Andrew Scherer

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology

Andrew_Scherer@brown.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

James P. Allen

Charles Edwin Wilbour Professor of Egyptology

jamespallen@brown.edu

John Bodel

W. Duncan MacMillan II Professor of Classics and Professor of History

John_Bodel@brown.edu

Gina Borromeo

Curator of Ancient Art, Rhode Island School of Design Museum

gborrome@risd.edu

Clyde Briant

Otis Everett Randall University Professor of Engineering

Clyde_Briant@brown.edu

Keith Brown

Professor of International Studies (Research)

Keith_Brown@Brown.EDU

Jonathan P. Conant

Associate Professor of History

Jonathan_Conant@brown.edu

Harold Cook

John F. Nickoll Professor of History, Director of Renaissance and Early Modern Studies

Harold_Cook@brown.edu

Carol Lowery Delaney

Visiting Scholar of Religious Studies

Carol_Delaney@brown.edu

Nicola F. Denzey

Visiting Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Nicola_Denzey@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani

Joukowsky Family Professor of Modern Middle East History, Professor of History, Director of Middle East Studies

bdoumani@brown.edu

James Fitzgerald

St. Purandara Das Distinguished Professor of Classics; Professor of Religious Studies

James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu

Katharina Galor

Visiting Scholar in Judaic Studies

Katharina_Galor@Brown.EDU

Susan Ashbrook Harvey

Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence, Willard Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of History and Religion

Susan_Harvey@Brown.EDU

Stephen D. Houston

Dupee Family Professor of Social Science and Professor of Anthropology

Stephen_Houston@brown.edu

 

Yongsong Huang

Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences

Yongsong_Huang@brown.edu

Nancy Khalek

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Nancy_Khalek@brown.edu

Steven Lubar

Professor of American Studies, Professor of History of Art and Architecture, Professor of History

lubar@brown.edu

Lisa Mignone

Assistant Professor of Classics

Lisa_Mignone@brown.edu

 

Jeffrey Moser

Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Jeffrey_Moser@brown.edu

Dietrich Neumann

Professor of History of Art and Architecture, Professor of Urban Studies, Professor of Italian Studies, Director of Urban Studies

Dietrich_Neumann@Brown.EDU

Graham Oliver

Professor of Classics, Professor of History

Graham_Oliver@brown.edu

Saul Olyan

Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of Religious Studies

Saul_Olyan@Brown.EDU

Itohan Osayimwese

Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Itohan_Osayimwese@brown.edu

Stratis Papaioannou

Director of the Program of Medieval Studies, Associate Professor of Classics

sp@brown.edu

Robert Preucel

Director, Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology, and Professor of Anthropology

Robert_Preucel@brown.edu

Joseph Pucci

Professor of Comparative Literature and Professor of Classics

Joseph_Pucci@brown.edu

Patricia E. Rubertone

Professor of Anthropology

Patricia_Rubertone@brown.edu

Matthew Rutz

Assistant Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology, William A. Dyer, Jr. Assistant Professor of Humanities

Matthew_Rutz@brown.edu

Kenneth S. Sacks

Professor of History and Classics

Kenneth_Sacks@Brown.EDU

Michael Satlow

Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies

Michael_Satlow@Brown.EDU

Adele Scafuro

Professor of Classics

Adele_Scafuro@brown.edu

Brian W. Sheldon

Professor of Engineering

Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu

Kevin Smith

Deputy Director and Chief Curator, Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology

Kevin_P_Smith@Brown.EDU

John Steele

Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology, Chair of Egyptology and Assyriology

John_Steele@brown.edu

Ian Straughn

Joukowsky Family Middle East Studies Librarian

Ian_Straughn@brown.edu

 

Parker VanValkenburgh

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Parker_VanValkenburgh@brown.edu

Faculty Office Hours