Skip over navigation
Brown shield Brown shield Brown University Brown shield Brown shield Brown University Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World

Core Faculty

Susan E. Alcock

Director, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World
Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology
Professor of Classics; Professor of Anthropology; Professor of the History of Art and Architecture

Susan_Alcock@brown.edu

 

Laurel Bestock

Vartan Gregorian Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Egyptology and Assyriology

Laurel_Bestock@brown.edu

 

Sheila Bonde

Chair, History of Art and Architecture, Professor of Archaeology, and Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Sheila_Bonde@brown.edu

 

Anne Chen

Visiting Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Anne_Chen@brown.edu

 

John F. Cherry

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology

Professor of Classics; Professor of Anthropology

John_Cherry@brown.edu

 

Claudia Glatz

Visiting Scholar in Archaeology and the Ancient World

Claudia_Glatz@brown.edu

 

Ömür Harmansah

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Egyptology and Assyriology

Omur_Harmansah@brown.edu

 

Stephen D. Houston

Dupee Family Professor of Social Science and Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology

Stephen_Houston@brown.edu

 

 

Brett Kaufman

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Brett_Kaufman@brown.edu

 

Miriam Müller

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Miriam_Muller@brown.edu

 

James Osborne

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

James_Osborne@brown.edu

 

Matthew Reilly

Postdoctoral Fellow in Archaeology

Matthew_Reilly@brown.edu

 

Felipe Rojas

Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Assyriology

Felipe_Rojas@brown.edu

 

Krysta Ryzewski

Visiting Scholar in Archaeology and the Ancient World

Krysta_Ryzewski@brown.edu

 

Andrew Scherer

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology

Andrew_Scherer@brown.edu

Peter van Dommelen

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology

Professor of Anthropology

Director of Graduate Studies

Peter_van_Dommelen@brown.edu

 

Christina Williamson

Visiting Scholar in Archaeology and the Ancient World

Christina_Williamson@brown.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

James P. Allen

Wilbour Professor of Egyptology

jamespallen@brown.edu

John Bodel

W. Duncan MacMillan II Professor of Classics and Professor of History

John_Bodel@brown.edu

Gina Borromeo

Research Associate and Adjunct Professor

Curator of Ancient Art, Rhode Island School of Design Museum

gborrome@risd.edu

Cynthia Brokaw

Professor of History

Cynthia_Brokaw@brown.edu

Keith Brown

Professor (Research)

Keith_Brown@Brown.EDU

Melani Cammett

Associate Professor of Political Science

Melani_Cammett@Brown.EDU

Jonathan P. Conant

Assistant Professor of History

Jonathan_Conant@brown.edu

Harold Cook

Professor of History

Harold_Cook@brown.edu

Carol Lowery Delaney

Visiting Scholar of Religious Studies

Carol_Delaney@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani

Joukowsky Family Professor of Modern Middle East History; Director, Middle East Studies; Faculty Fellow, Watson Institute

bdoumani@brown.edu

Nicola Denzey Lewis

Visiting Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Nicola_Denzey@brown.edu

James Fitzgerald

St. Purandara Das Distinguished Professor and Chair of Classics / Faculty Affiliate in Religious Studies

James_Fitzgerald@brown.edu

Katharina Galor

Hirschfeld Visiting Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies

Katharina_Galor@Brown.EDU

Susan Ashbrook Harvey

Willard Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of Religious Studies

Susan_Harvey@Brown.EDU

Molly Ierulli

Visiting Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature

Molly_Ierulli@brown.edu

David Kertzer

Dupee University Professor of Social Science, Professor of Anthropology & Italian Studies

David_Kertzer@Brown.EDU

Nancy Khalek

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

Nancy_Khalek@brown.edu

Ross S. Kraemer

Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies

Ross_Kraemer@brown.edu

 

Steven Lubar

Professor, Departments of American Studies, History, and History of Art and Architecture and Director, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage

lubar@brown.edu

Lisa Mignone

Assistant Professor of Classics

Lisa_Mignone@brown.edu

Dietrich Neumann

Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Dietrich_Neumann@Brown.EDU

Saul Olyan

Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of Religious Studies

Saul_Olyan@Brown.EDU

Stratis Papaioannou

Associate Professor of Classics; Director, Modern Greek Studies Program. Graduate Advisor, Classics

sp@brown.edu

Robert Preucel

Director, Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology, and Professor of Anthropology

Robert_Preucel@brown.edu

Joseph Pucci

Associate Professor of Classics and in the Program in Medieval Studies and Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Joseph_Pucci@brown.edu

Patrica E. Rubertone

Professor of Anthropology and Departmental Graduate Supervisor

Patricia_Rubertone@brown.edu

Matthew Rutz

Assistant Professor of Egyptology and Ancient Western Asian Studies

Matthew_Rutz@brown.edu

Kenneth S. Sacks

Professor of History and Classics

Kenneth_Sacks@Brown.EDU

Michael Satlow

Professor of Religious Studies and Judaic Studies

Michael_Satlow@Brown.EDU

Adele Scafuro

Professor of Classics

Adele_Scafuro@brown.edu

Brian W. Sheldon

Professor

Brian_Sheldon@brown.edu

Kevin Smith

Deputy Director & Chief Curator

Kevin_P_Smith@Brown.EDU

John Steele

Professor of Egyptology and Ancient West Asian Studies

John_Steele@brown.edu

Ian Straughn

Joukowsky Family Middle East Studies Librarian

Ian_Straughn@brown.edu

 

Stanley K. Stowers

Professor of Religious Studies

Stanley_Stowers@brown.edu

Vazira F-Y Zamindar

Associate Professor of History

vfyz@brown.edu

Faculty Office Hours