Romer Advising Prize

The Karen T. Romer Prize for Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring was created in 2004 to recognize and reward excellence in advising by Brown faculty. The prize was established by the family of trustee Marty Granoff, and is justly named for a former Associate Dean of the College—and legendary figure at Brown—who was a creative and passionate advocate for undergraduate education.

The Romer Advising Prize is presented each year to two faculty members who have demonstrated extraordinary care in attending to the academic and personal needs of undergraduate students. Each winner receives an award of $10,000. The 2013 recipients of the award are Willoughby Britton, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, and Jack Wright, Associate Professor of Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences.

Past recipients include Professors Banchoff (Mathematics), Chudacoff (History), Elliot (Sociology), Garcia-Coll (Education), Green (History and Portuguese & Brazilian Studies), Lincoln (History of Art and Architecture), Pucci (Classics), Terry-Morgan (Africana Studies), Tullis (Geological Sciences), Vorenberg (History), Fischer (Geological Sciences), Hu-DeHart, (History), Cheit (Political Science and Public Policy), Swartz (Biology and Medicine), Blume (Engineering), Burwell (Cognitive, Linguistic, and Psychological Sciences), Harvey (Religious Studies), and Shibusawa (History and American Studies).

A request for nominations goes out to faculty and students every March, and winners are selected by a committee of students, faculty, and administrators. The prizes are awarded at a special ceremony. For further information about the award, please contact Barbara Sardy in the Office of the Dean of the College.