Faculty Fellows

The ISES Council of Fellows is comprised of recognized leaders from across Brown and across career stages, with an outstanding record of achievement and ability in diverse areas of natural and social sciences of the environmental. These University faculty develop the direction of the interdisciplinary research conducted at ISES. As a group, they exemplify the innovative, cooperative, and interdisciplinary foundations of ISES research and teaching.

Faculty Fellows

Leadership

Amanda Lynch

Director; 
Professor of Earth, 
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences
Amanda_Lynch@brown.edu
401.863.5153

Leah VanWey

Deputy Director of Research; 
Associate Professor of Sociology
Leah_VanWey@brown.edu
401.863.3184

Dov Sax

Deputy Director of Education; 
Associate Professor of 
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Dov_Sax@brown.edu
401.863.9676 

Cici Bauer, Biostatistics

Cici_Bauer@brown.edu

Kim Boekelheide, Pathology

Kim_Boekelheider@brown.edu

Joseph Braun, Epidemiology

Joseph_Braun_1@brown.edu

Erika Edwards, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

Erika_Edwards@brown.edu

Andrew Foster, Economics

Andrew_Foster@brown.edu

Baylor Fox-Kemper

Earth, Environmental & Planetary 

Sciences

Baylor_Fox-Kemper@brown.edu

Scott Frickel, Sociology

Scott_Frickel@brown.edu

Meredith Hastings, Earth,
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences

Meredith_Hastings@brown.edu

Timothy Herbert, Earth,
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences

Timothy_Herbert@brown.edu

Robert Hurt, Engineering

Robert_Hurt@brown.edu

Agnes Kane, Pathology

Agnes_Kane@brown.edu

Caroline Karp, Environmental Studies

Caroline_Karp@brown.edu

James Kellner, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

James_R_Kellner@brown.edu

Karl Kelsey, Epidemiology

Karl_Kelsey@brown.edu

Jung-Eun Lee, Earth,
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences

Jung-Eun_Lee@brown.edu

Heather Leslie, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

Heather_Leslie@brown.edu

Richard Locke, Political Science

Richard_locke@brown.edu

John Logan, Sociology 

John_Logan@brown.edu

John Mustard, Earth,
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences

John_Mustard@brown.edu

Sriniketh Nagavarapu, Economics

Sriniketh_Nagavarapu@brown.edu

Christopher Neill, Marine Biological Laboratory 

Christopher_Neill@brown.edu

G Tayhas R. Palmore, Engineering

Tayhas_Palmore@brown.edu

Stephen Porder, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

Stephen_Porder@brown.edu

Jeremy Rich, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

Jeremy_Rich@brown.edu

J. Timmons Roberts, Sociology

J_Timmons_Roberts@brown.edu

James Russell, Earth,
Environmental & Planetary
Sciences

James_Russell@brown.edu

Neil Safier, History

Neil_Safier@brown.edu

David Savitz, Epidemiology

David_Savitz@brown.edu

Katherine Smith, Ecology &
Evolutionary Biology

Katherine_Smith@brown.edu

Kurt Teichert, Environmental Studies

Kurt_Teichert@brown.edu

Gregory Wellenius, Epidemiology

Gregory_Wellenius @brown.edu

Terrie Fox Wetle, Public Health 

Terrie_Wetle@brown.edu

Visiting Faculty Fellows

Geri Augusto, Africana Studies,

Science and Society Program

Geri_Augusto@brown.edu

Lenore Manderson,

Environment & Society

Lenore_Manderson@brown.edu

Teaching Fellows

Cornelia (Cory) Dean

Cornelia_Dean@brown.edu

Dawn King

Dawn_King@brown.edu