Brown University SealBrown University

People

 
Faculty  |  Visiting  |  Emeritus  |  Affiliated  |  Graduate  |  Staff
 

Nelson Vieira 

Department Chair

Leonor Simas-Almeida

Director of Graduate Studies

Patricia Sobral

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Faculty

Onésimo T. Almeida

Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Onesimo_Almeida@brown.edu

Anani Dzidzienyo

Associate Professor of Africana Studies and Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Anani_Dzidzienyo@brown.edu

Roquinaldo Ferreira

Vasco da Gama Associate Professor of History and Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Roquinaldo_Ferreira@brown.edu

James Green

Professor of History and Brazilian Studies
James_Green@brown.edu

Elise A. Laorenza

Research & Evaluation Specialist
Elise_Laorenza@brown.edu

Maria Pacheco

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Maria_Pacheco@brown.edu

Naomi Parker

Adjunct Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Naomi_Parker@brown.edu

Leonor Simas-Almeida

Director of Graduate Studies
Senior Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Leonor_Goncalves_Simas-Almeida@brown.edu

Sara Smith

Adjunct Lecturer
Sara_Smith@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Senior Lecturer in Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Luiz Fernando Valente

Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Comparative Literature
Luiz_Valente@brown.edu

Nelson H. Vieira

Chair
University Professor and Professor of Portuguese & Brazilian Studies and Judaic Studies
Nelson_Vieira@brown.edu

Visiting Faculty and Instructors

Marta Rodrigues Vilar Rosales 

FLAD/Michael Teague Visiting Professor
Marta_Rodrigues_Vilar_Rosales@brown.edu

Jhuliane Silva

Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Jhuliane_Evelyn_Da_Silva@brown.edu

Emeritus Faculty

George Monteiro

Adjunct Professor, Professor Emeritus of English and Portuguese and Brazilian Studies
George_Monteiro@brown.edu

Thomas E. Skidmore

Professor Emeritus (Brazilian History)
Thomas_Skidmore@brown.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Geri Augusto

Visiting Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Geri_Augusto@brown.edu

Keisha-Khan Y. Perry

Associate Professor of Africana Studies
Keisha-Khan_Perry@brown.edu

Christopher Joshua Tucker

Assistant Professor of Music
Joshua_Tucker@brown.edu

Leah VanWey

Associate Professor of Sociology
Leah_Vanwey@brown.edu

Graduate Students

Portuguese and Brazilian Studies

Pedro Lopes de Almeida

Pedro_LopesdeAlmeida@brown.edu

Marcos Cerdeira

Marcos_Cerdeira@brown.edu

Linda Conceição

Linda_Conceição@brown.edu

Ana Letícia Fauri Gaspar

Ana_Fauri@brown.edu

Patrícia Ferreira

Patricia_Martinho_Ferreira@brown.edu

Gabriela Gazzinelli

Gabriela_Gazzinelli@brown.edu

Adi Gold

Adi_Gold@brown.edu

Chloe Hill

Chloe_Hill@brown.edu

Ben Legg

Benjamin_Legg@brown.edu

Brianna Medeiros

Brianna_Medeiros@brown.edu

David Mittelman

David_Mittelman@brown.edu

Lauren Papalia

Lauren_Papalia@brown.edu

Luiz (Luca) Prazeres

Luiz_Prazeres@brown.edu

Abner Santos

Abner_Santos@brown.edu

Hasan Shahid

Hasan_Shahid@brown.edu

Sílvia Cabral Teresa

Silvia_Cabral_Teresa@brown.edu

Flora Thomson-DeVeaux

Flora_Thomson-Deveaux@brown.edu

Lucas Wakefield

Lucas_Wakefield@brown.edu

ESL Education and Cross-Cultural Studies

AnnaMaria Abrams

annamaria_abrams@brown.edu 

Justin Cardinale

justin_cardinale@brown.edu

Heather-Jean Cardone

heather-jean_cardone@brown.edu

Elizabeth A. Nault Costa

elizabeth_nault_costa@brown.edu

Rebecca DelBarone

rebecca_delbarone@brown.edu

Mark DiBiasio

mark_dibiasio@brown.edu

Kristina Ducharme

kristina_ducharme@brown.edu

Ashley Ferreira

Benjamin Gormley

benjamin_gormley@brown.edu

William Graves

william_graves@brown.edu

Christina Hebert

christina_hebert@brown.edu

Erica Jacobsen

erica_jacobsen@brown.edu

Lauren Kopel

lauren_kopel@brown.edu

Matthew E. Laroche

matthew_laroche@brown.edu

Elizabeth A. Lavallee

elizabeth_lavallee@brown.edu

Elena Maker

elena_maker@brown.edu

Corey Masse

corey_masse@brown.edu

Jennifer McCaughey

jennifer_mccaughey@brown.edu

Jessica Pugnali

jessica_pugnali@brown.edu

Denise Smith

Catharine Sully

catharine_sully@brown.edu

Melynda West

melynda_west@brown.edu

Staff

Armanda Silva

Academic Department Manager
Armanda_Silva@brown.edu

Tel: (401) 863-3042
Fax: (401) 863-7261

Kate Beall

Publications and Program Coordinator
Kaitlin_Beall@brown.edu

Tel: (401) 863-2695
Fax: (401) 863-7261