Doctoral Program in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences

The PhD program in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences (BSHS) has become the 4th doctoral program offered by the Brown University School of Public Health. We are excited to welcome our second class, which will matriculate in the Fall of 2015.

Doctoral training in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences at Brown University is inherently multidisciplinary. Students learn to employ behavioral and social science theory and methods to understand contemporary health problems.The signatures of Behavioral and Social Sciences training at Brown University include health behavior interventions development and evaluation, and collaboration across disciplines and between researchers and communities.  The program puts substantive focus on behavioral health issues such as diet, physical activity and obesity; alcohol and other drug abuse; smoking and tobacco use; HIV risk behaviors; and behavioral medicine.Students in the Doctoral Program in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences demonstrate mastery of relevant theory and methods, assessed via coursework and examinations, and complete a dissertation that represents original research.

All students admitted to the PhD program receive funding in the form of a fellowship, teaching assistantship, or research assistantship. The funding package includes tuition, health insurance, and an annual stipend.  Four years of financial support is the norm for those entering with a relevant Master’s degree and five years for those entering without such a background.

Useful Links:

The following BSS faculty members are open to taking a BSHS doctoral student for the fall of 2016:

Nancy Barnett 
Nancy_Barnett@brown.edu 
Abigail Harrison
Abigail_Harrison@brown.edu
Don Operario 
Don_Operario@brown.edu
Sara Becker
Sara_Becker@brown.edu 
Christopher Kahler 
Christopher_Kahler@brown.edu
Rochelle Rosen 
Rochelle_Rosen@brown.edu
Katie Biello
Katie_Biello@brown.edu
Akilah Dulin Keita 
Akilah_Dulin_Keita@brown.edu
Cynthia Rosengard
Cynthia_Rosengard@Brown.edu
Beth Bock
bbock@lifespan.org
Molly Magill 
Molly_Magill@brown.edu
Lori A.J. Scott-Sheldon
Lori_Scott-Sheldon@Brown.edu
Kate Carey 
Kate_Carey@brown.edu
Rosemarie Ann Martin 
Rosemarie_Martin@brown.edu
Tara White 
Tara_White@brown.edu
Shira Dunsiger 
Shira_Dunsiger@ brown.edu
Jennifer Merrill 
Jennifer_Merrill@brown.edu
David Williams 
David_M_Williams@brown.edu
Kim Gans 
Kim_Gans@brown.edu
Matthew Mimiaga 
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu

Contacts:

Kate Carey, PhD, Graduate Program Director, BSHS
Kate_Carey@brown.edu
(401) 863-6558

Laura Kallio Joyce, Academic Program Coordinator
Laura_Joyce@brown.edu
(401) 863-6578

Dean of the School of Public Health,  Professor Fox WetleDean of the School of Public Health, Professor Fox Wetle