Graduate Student Activities

Annmary Brown Memorial Galleries: The Memorial now contains Rush Christopher Hawkins' collection of paintings, displayed in three beautifully renovated galleries, where REMS seminars, lectures, and concerts are held.Annmary Brown Memorial Galleries: The Memorial now contains Rush Christopher Hawkins' collection of paintings, displayed in three beautifully renovated galleries, where REMS seminars, lectures, and concerts are held.
Graduate Student Activities
  • REMS and the Annmary Brown Memorial serve as the forum for a vibrant community of graduate students in affiliated departments. The REMS Graduate Colloquium meets several times a semester in the convivial setting of the Memorial, to hear and discuss papers by scholars or graduate students in an interdisciplinary context.
This year's graduate student representatives are:

Minta Zlomke (English) Minta_Zlomke@brown.edu

Suzanne Duff (History of Art and Architecture) Suzanne_Duff@brown.edu

Charlotte Buecheler (Comparative Literature) Charlotte_Buecheler@brown.edu

 

Colloquium/Reading Group

The following meetings will be held in the Annmary Brown Memorial at 1:30 PM over lunch.

Semester I

  • Wednesday, September 24 
  • Wednesday, October 8
  • Wednesday, October 29
  • Wednesday, September 10
  • Wednesday, November 19
Lectures

The following events will be held in the Annmary Brown Memorial at 5:30 PM

  • Monday, September 15, Barbara Fuchs (UCLA,)   “An Andalusian in Rome, or, Translating the Picaresque”

Semester II

  • Wednesday, February 11
  • Wednesday, March 18, 10am to noon 
  • Thursday, April 1, 10am to noon
  • Wednesday, April 22
  • Wednesday, April 29
Lectures
  • Tuesday, March 31, Emine Fetvaci (Boston University,) TBD