April 11, 2006 Minutes

Tuesday, April 11, 2006
4:00 P.M. – 5:30 P.M.
Leung Gallery

Members: President Simmons, Brenda Allen, David Greene, Beppie Huidekoper, Christopher Bull, John Cassese, David Cutts, Stephen Foley, Barrett Hazeltine, Joachim Krueger, David Sheinberg, Robert Smith, Kate Brandt, Robert Klaber, Sarah Saxton-Frump, Emma Tai, Michael Williams, James Gagnon, Jonna Iacono, Matt Lease, Zachary Ginsberg, Stephanie Birdsall, Dorothy Hitt, Geoffrey Greene, David Kanig, Tovah Reis, Kisa Takesue, David Bloom, Sarah O’Dowd, Guy Sanchez, and Emma Simmons were in attendance. Provost Zimmer, Paul Armstrong, Gretchen Schultz, Elmo Terry-Morgan, and Neel Shah were unable to attend.

The minutes of the March 14, 2006 meeting were approved.

Nancy Barnett, Associate Professor of Psychology and Human Behavior, gave background on alcohol use among college students nationally and reviewed data collected about Brown students specificallyThe data on Brown students are from a study funded by the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) whose goal is to better understand how students transition in and out of problematic drinking patterns. Professor Barnett is the study’s principal investigator.

Professor Barnett spoke about recommendations from the Subcommittee on Alcohol and Drug Use that overlap with the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee to Review Social Events Policy and Procedures. These overlapping recommendations consist of additional oversight in the residence halls from 9:00 – 11:00 pm, admission ban for intoxicated individuals, provision of food and beverage at any event serving alcohol, no readmission during social functions, and funding for creative non-alcoholic programming. Next she reviewed additional recommendations from the Subcommittee on Alcohol and Drug Use which focus on the residence halls, prevention, alcohol service, emergency medical services, enforcement, and off campus concerns.

A summary of the findings and recommendations of the Environmental Task Force (ETF) was presented by two of its members, Chair Kurt Teichert and Kate Brandt ’07. Mr. Teichert provided background on Brown’s increased energy consumption and related emissions from FY 1991 through FY 2005. Ms. Brandt outlined the recommendations of ETF in the areas of energy use and efficiency, utility cost control, energy awareness, renewable energy, and recycling. Jenna Horton ’08, a representative from the Brown Environmental Action Network (BEAN), concluded the discussion on energy by asking that Brown commit to purchasing 25% of its energy annually from clean, renewable resources.

Professor Louis Putterman, Chair of the Advisory Committee on Corporate Responsibility in Investing (ACCRI), reviewed the history and status of the Committee’s proposal regarding the creation of a Social Choice Fund. The fund would provide donors with the option of designating their donations to Brown for investment in a fund that chooses stocks based on environmental, social, and corporate behavior criteria, as well as income and growth potential. Courtney Hull ’06, an ACCRI member, spoke in favor of creating a social choice fund.

The Council voted unanimously in favor of a motion that expresses its support of the notion that donors to the University should have the option of their new donations being invested in a social choice fund.

Due to time constraints, the opportunity for members of the Brown Community to address the Council was deferred.

The next meeting of the Brown University Community Council will be held on Tuesday, September 12 from 4:00 – 5:30 pm in Leung Gallery.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine Pincince
Secretary of the Brown University Community Council