Sabbaticals and Leaves

Sabbaticals and Leaves

Sabbaticals are available to all tenured faculty, junior sabbaticals are available to all tenure-track assistant professors, and scholarly leaves are available to full-time regular lecturers who do not hold staff appointments.  Visiting, adjunct, research, clinical and other non-regular faculty are not eligible for sabbaticals.  More details on the leave policy can be found in the Guidelines for Leave Eligibility section of this website, and the policies governing leaves can be found in the Handbook of Academic Administration, chapter thirteen.

Applications for leaves of any sort (including unpaid leaves of absence) should be made through the chair of the faculty member’s unit in the January preceding the academic year in which the leave is to be taken.  All leaves are subject to the approval of the Dean.

Each fall, the Dean's office will publish brief reports on sabbatical research undertaken in the previous academic year.  Previous years' reports can be found in the "related links" section below.

Course buyouts are governed by a separate policy, covered in the Handbook, Chapter Seven.  To request a course buyout please use this form. Please note that funds used to buy out courses do not accrue as GIF balances.

For information concerning medical leaves, please contact Senior Associate Dean Revill. Parental teaching relief is not considered a leave of absence, as the faculty member is expected to continue with research, student advising, and participation in University and departmental affairs.  To apply for teaching relief, please complete the online form found on this page

Salary (semester/year) Eligibility Related Documents

Junior Sabbatical

100%/ 50% Untenured Assistant and Associate Professors Request Form
Post-Tenure Sabbatical 100%/ 75% Tenured faculty in second year after tenure Request Form
Sabbatical  75%/ n.a. Tenured faculty with 6 semesters of credit accrued  Request Form
Sabbatical (12 semesters) 100%/ 75% Tenured Faculty with 12 semesters of credit accrued  Request form
Scholarly Leave 100%/ 50% Lecturers and senior lecturers with 12 semesters of credit accrued Request form