No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.

-Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 to the 1964 Civil Rights Act

The Title IX Program Officer is responsible for ensuring compliance with Title IX, overseeing training and education, and gathering and reporting information to the campus community. The Title IX Program Officer and Deputy Title IX Coordinators are available to answer any questions related to the Policy, Complaint Process, available resources and reporting options, and remedial and safety measures.

University's Title IX Program Officer:

Rene Davis
Title IX Program Officer
Title IX Office
J. Walter Wilson Suite 319
(401) 863-2386
rene_davis@brown.edu or titleixoffice@brown.edu

Deputy Title IX Coordinators 

For Faculty:

Anne Windham
Associate Dean of the Faculty
415 University Hall
1 Prospect Street
Providence, RI 02912
(401) 863-5410
anne_windham@brown.edu

For Undergraduate Students:

Yolanda Castillo-Appolonia
Senior Associate Dean of Students and Director of Student Conduct & Community Standards
Vice President of Campus Life & Student Services
Box 2014
(401) 863-3145
yolanda_castillo-appolonia@brown.edu

For Graduate Students:

Maria Suarez
Associate Dean of Student Support Services
(401) 863-1802
maria_suarez@brown.edu

For Medical Students:

Lindsay Orchowski
Psychiatry and Human Behavior
146 W River St, Providence, RI 02904
(401) 444-7021
lindsay_orchowski@brown.edu

For Staff:

Wendy J. McRae-Owoeye
Senior Director of ​Diversity and Inclusion
Office of Institutional Equity & Diversity
(401) 863-1787
wendy_mcrae-owoeye@brown.edu​ or institutional_diversity@brown.edu

Brown Survivor Support Group
Thursdays from 5:00-6:30pm , Oct. 5 - Dec. 7
Email SHARE@brown.edu for location and more information.

Have you been looking to find support at Brown for your experiences with gender, sexual, and/or relationship violence? We invite all Brown undergraduate, graduate or medical students to this collaboration between the SHARE advocates and interested students. The group will focus on building a community of emotional support and learning coping skills.

Specific affinity group meetings for LGBTQ+ students will be held, dates TBD.

Undergraduate Students

Graduate Students

Faculty

Staff