Public Education Committee 

A Public Education Committee established in 2020 is charged with recommending use of payouts from the Fund in ways that can most benefit Providence students. Members also play a key role in guiding the direction of K-12 education initiatives at Brown and ensuring that Brown is optimizing its resources to support PPSD in the most effective ways possible.

The committee meets at least two times over the course of each academic year. Every three years the committee will conduct a review of the distribution of proceeds from The Fund for the Education of the Children of Providence and oversee a survey on the same schedule that will provide an assessment of Brown’s K-12 education initiatives and their alignment with evolving PPSD priorities.

The membership of the committee is structured to ensure collaboration across the University as well as with members of the greater Providence community. Current membership of PEC includes:


  • Christina H. Paxson, President of Brown University (Chair)
  • Elizabeth Bernold, Undergraduate Student
  • Meaghan Carley, Graduate Student
  • Paige Clausius-Parks, Senior Policy Analyst at RI KIDS COUNT
  • Jonathan Collins, Assistant Professor of Education
  • Atabongfeh Khumbah, Undergraduate Student
  • Daniel Rodriguez, Assistant Professor of History
  • Jayson Rodriguez, Youth Organizer at Providence Student Union
  • Ramona Santos Torres, Executive Director of Parents Leading for Educational Equity
  • Joi-Danelle Whitehead, Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Access for the Division of Pre-College & Summer Undergraduate Programs

Ex Officio Members:

  • Shontay Delalue, Vice President for Institutional Equity and Diversity 
  • Susanna Loeb, Director of Annenberg Institute for School Reform  
  • Tracy Steffes, Chair of the Department of Education
  • Betsy Shimberg, Director of the Swearer Center for Public Service
  • Soljane Martinez, Educational Coordinator for the Annenberg Institute for School Reform

Ex Officio, Non-Voting Members:

  • Jorge Elorza, Mayor of the City of Providence
  • Harrison Peters, Superintendent of Providence Public Schools

Chief of Staff and Assistant to the President Marguerite Joutz will staff the committee

Learn more about the Fund for the Education for the Children of Providence under the President's Initiatives tab. Contact [email protected] with any inquiries.