Alfred H. Joslin Award

About the Joslin Award

The Joslin Awards recognize a small group of seniors who have contributed in a very significant way to the quality of student life at Brown. Award winners generally demonstrate a wide breadth of involvement during their campus years as well as substantial depth in one or more areas. Through their leadership and involvement, they have not only enhanced their own liberal education, they have also provided services, programs and other opportunities for involvement to their peers, thus enhancing the learning environment for all students.

In the area of CHARACTER, the selection committee is interested not just in what a nominee has done, but the personal qualities and attributes that model the highest ideals of leadership, citizenship, and community. Please identify known INVOLVEMENTS, leadership positions, and noteworthy accomplishments in co-curricular activities (whether they be on or off campus). Please also address the nominee’s IMPACT on Brown (the student experience, community engagement, etc.). Aspects of impact that may aid in the committee’s evaluation include sustainability, breadth, or depth of their efforts.
Recipients will be honored at the Commencement and Reunion Weekend's Jin-Joslin-Joukowsky Award Ceremony held in the afternoon of the opening Friday of the weekend.

The Joslin Award is given in the name of Judge Alfred H. Joslin, a 1936 Brown graduate, a member of the Corporation from 1963-1985, and a member of the Board of Fellows. Because of this extraordinary service to the Brown community, his initial chairmanship of the Corporation Committee on Student Life, and his abiding concern for the interests and welfare of undergraduates, it is fitting that this award should be designated in his honor.

Nominations for the 2023 Joslin Awards have closed. The Joslins are awarded each year to a select group of seniors whose contributions to the quality of student life at Brown are truly exemplary. Joslin recipients represent the very best of Brown in the areas of character, involvement, and impact. Joslin Award nominations may be submitted by any member of the Brown community. Nominees must be college seniors anticipated to graduate in May 2023 or December 2023.

2023 Award Recipients

Individual Awards

  • Ritiika Avarrsekar
  • Aliyah Blattner
  • Elon C. Colins
  • Alexa De La Fuente
  • Bintou Diarra
  • Michael Foiani
  • Leona Hariharan
  • Shantal Hernández Guerrero
  • Rachel L. Huynh
  • Justin Lu
  • Victoria Rose

Team Awards

  • Andre Grossmann-Level and Davi Sapiro-Gheiler
  • Jasmine Lee and Calista Rosemarie Manuzza

Learn more about current and past Joslin Award Recipients