Susan Pilch Friedman ’77, P’08 Excellence Award in Women’s Leadership

Nomination Process for April 2022 Award

Students must be nominated for this award. Nominations may be submitted by any member of the Brown community and are due Friday, March 25, 2022. If you encounter difficulties, please contact Melissa Kimmell.

Fill out the online nomination form


About the Award

Established in 2015 by a group of Brown alumnae and parents, in honor and celebration of Susan Friedman’s tireless efforts in the area of women’s leadership, the Award seeks to recognize a senior woman who best exemplifies the outstanding leadership that Susan seeks to promote. The inaugural Award was made in May 2016.

Susan Friedman conceived of the Brown Women’s Leadership Council and was appointed by then-President Ruth J. Simmons as the first chair of the Council in 2004. Through her creative vision, entrepreneurial spirit, and generous philanthropic support, the Council has developed into a vibrant and diverse community of women leaders, volunteers, mentors, and philanthropists at Brown.

Mentoring has been central to both Susan Friedman’s vision and the Women’s Leadership Council’s mission as a way to empower the next generation of women leaders. Susan has personally mentored Brown students and worked to institutionalize one-on-one mentoring for Brown female students with Brown alumnae through the Women’s Launch Pad.


This $2,500 prize is to be awarded to a woman college senior anticipated to graduate in May 2022 or December 2022 who:

  • has worked to empower and promote women as leaders;
  • has demonstrated a dedication to relationship building and/or mentorship as part of their leadership efforts; and
  • has had a positive and tangible impact on groups, organizations and/or individuals, through their leadership efforts, on and/or off campus.

Past Recipients

Cartie Werthman (2021)

Kamren Gilbard  (2020)

Ashley Bang (2019)

Gianna Jasinski (2018)

Fatima Husain (2017)

Katherine Caroline Sudol (2016)