People

Core Faculty


Aliyyah Abdur-Rahman

Associate Professor of American Studies and English
Aliyyah_Abdur-Rahman@brown.edu

Leticia Alvarado  (ETHN Concentrator Advisor)

Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Leticia_Alvarado@brown.edu

Shontay Delalue

Adjunct Assistant Professor and Vice President of Institutional Equity and Diversity
Shontay_Delalue@brown.edu

Eric Estes

Adjunct Assistant Professor and Vice President of Campus Life and Student Services
Eric_Estes@brown.edu

Robert P. Emlen

Senior Lecturer
Robert_Emlen@brown.edu

Kevin Escudero

Assistant Professor of American Studies
Kevin_Escudero@brown.edu

Caroline Frank

Associate Director and Special Advisor, MA Program
Caroline_Frank@Brown.edu

Nitana Greendeer

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Nitana Greendeer@brown.edu

Matthew Pratt Guterl (Chair)

Professor of American Studies, Ethnic Studies, and Africana Studies
Specializations:  History; Race and Ethnicity; Nation and Empire; Trans-nation and Diaspora  
Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu
personal website 
Twitter: @matthewguterl

Beverly Haviland

Senior Lecturer and Visiting Associate Professor of American Studies
Beverly_Haviland@brown.edu

Elizabeth Hoover

Manning Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Specializations: Native American and Indigenous Studies; food sovereignty; food movements; heritage seeds; environmental health

Elizabeth_M_Hoover@brown.edu
Personal website

Evelyn Hu-DeHart

Professor of History, Ethnic Studies, and American Studies
Evelyn_Hu-DeHart@brown.edu

Adrienne Keene

Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Adrienne_Keene@brown.edu

Daniel Kim

Associate Professor of English, American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Daniel_Kim@brown.edu

Robert G. Lee

Associate Professor of American Studies
Robert_Lee@brown.edu

Steven Lubar

Professor, Departments of American Studies, History, and History of Art and Architecture
Specialization: Museum studies, history of museums, public and digital humanities.
Lubar@brown.edu
Personal Website
Twitter: @lubar

Monica Muñoz Martinez

Stanley J. Bernstein '65 P'02 Assistant Professor of American Studies, Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Monica_Martinez@brown.edu

Richard Alan Meckel

Professor of American Studies
Richard_Meckel@brown.edu

Kiri Miller

Professor of American Studies and Music
kiri_miller@brown.edu

Dixa Ramirez

Assistant Professor of American Studies and English
Dixa_Ramirez@brown.edu

Ralph E. Rodriguez

Professor of American Studies, Ethnic Studies, and English
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Felicia Salinas-Moniz

Adjunct Visiting Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies, and Assistant Director, Sarah Doyle Women's Center
Felicia_Salinas@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa

Associate Professor of History, American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Specializations: US empire & capitalism, Asian American history, gender & sexuality, political culture
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Elena Shih

Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Elena_Shih@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan

Professor of American Studies and Director, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage
Susan_Smulyan@brown.edu

Theresa Warburton

Mellon Cogut Postdoctoral Fellow in Native American Literature 
Theresa_Warburton@brown.edu

Deborah F. Weinstein (AMST Concentrator Advisor)

Associate Professor of American Studies
 

Samuel Zipp (Director of Graduate Studies)

Associate Professor of Urban Studies and
American Studies
Samuel_Zipp@brown.edu