People

Core Faculty



Leticia Alvarado

Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Leticia_Alvarado@brown.edu

Robert P. Emlen

Senior Lecturer
Robert_Emlen@brown.edu

Kevin Escudero

Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow
Kevin_Escudero@brown.edu

Caroline Frank

Associate Director and Special Advisor, MA Program
Caroline_Frank@Brown.edu

Matthew Pratt Guterl

Professor of American Studies, Ethnic Studies, and Africana Studies, and Chair, Department of American Studies
Matthew_Guterl@brown.edu

Beverly Haviland

Senior Lecturer and Visiting Associate Professor of American Studies
Concentration Advisor 
Beverly_Haviland@brown.edu

Elizabeth Hoover

Manning Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Elizabeth_M_Hoover@brown.edu

Evelyn Hu-DeHart

Professor of History, Ethnic Studies, and American Studies
Evelyn_Hu-DeHart@brown.edu

Adrienne Keene

Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Adrienne_Keene@brown.edu

Daniel Kim

Associate Professor of English and American Studies
Daniel_Kim@brown.edu

Robert G. Lee

Associate Professor of American Studies
Robert_Lee@brown.edu

Hilary Levey Friedman

Visiting Assistant Professor of American Studies
hllf@brown.edu

Steven Lubar

Professor, Departments of American Studies, History, and History of Art and Architecture
Lubar@brown.edu

Monica Muñoz Martinez

Stanley J. Bernstein '65 P'02 Assistant Professor of American Studies, Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies
Monica_Martinez@brown.edu

Sara Matthiesen

Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow
Sara_Matthiesen@brown.edu

Richard Alan Meckel

Professor of American Studies
Richard_Meckel@brown.edu

Ralph E. Rodriguez

Associate Professor of American Studies, Ethnic Studies, and English
Ralph_Rodriguez@brown.edu

Felicia Salinas-Moniz

Visiting Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies, and Assistant Director, Sarah Doyle Women's Center
Felicia_Salinas@brown.edu

Naoko Shibusawa

Associate Professor of History and American Studies
Naoko_Shibusawa@brown.edu

Elena Shih

Assistant Professor of American Studies
Elena_Shih@brown.edu

Susan Smulyan

Professor of American Studies and Director, John Nicholas Brown Center for Public Humanities and Cultural Heritage
Susan_Smulyan@brown.edu

Deborah F. Weinstein

Assistant Professor of American Studies
 

Samuel Zipp

Associate Professor of Urban Studies and
American Studies
Samuel_Zipp@brown.edu