Graduate Students

 

Alcover, Omar
omar_alcover@brown.edu
Maya archaeology, Preclassic Maya, Warfare, Epigraphy, Settlement, Landscape Studies, GIS

Arey, Whitney
whitney_arey@brown.edu
Medical Anthropology, NGOs, Global Health, Ghana

Avera, Emily
emily_avera@brown.edu
transfusion and transplant medicine, science and technology studies, global health, language and medicine

Bastani, Parsa
parsa_bastani@brown.edu
addiction, drugs, Iran, medical anthropology, public health

Berhane, Fiori
fiori_berhane@brown.edu
Humanitarian relief, diaspora, transnationalism, political belonging, refugees  

Cormier McSwiggin, Chelsea
chelsea_cormier_mcswiggin@brown.edu
migration/transnationalism studies, Haitian Diaspora, kinship studies

Deal, Lauren E.
lauren_deal@brown.edu
Linguistic Anthropology, Argentina and the Andes, Social Movements, Performance and Performativity, Poetics, Sound Studies, Circulation

de Carteret, Alyce
alyce_decarteret@brown.edu
Mesoamerican archaeology; the Classic Maya; household archaeology; El Zotz, Guatemala

Dewan, Eve Harene
eve_dewan@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, Indigenous archaeology, colonialism, institutions, schools, discipline, gender, labor, children and childhood, frontiers and borderlands, landscape, GIS

Dias, Paula
paula_dias@brown.edu
Development, energy industries (especially oil), environmental politics, citizenship, identity, race/ethnicity, Brazil, Latin America

Firoz, Malay
malay_firoz@brown.edu
Humanitarianism, refugees, war, sovereignty, global governance, empire, political theory, Middle East 

Hefny, Sara
sara_hefny@brown.edu
Middle East, migration, Europe, asylum, anthropology of the state, integration and assimilation, food and foodways, gastronomic identity, cultural heritage

Horton, Brian A.
brian_horton@brown.edu
Queer theory, subaltern studies, desire, affect, modern South Asia

Katzenstein, Jessica
jessica_katzenstein@brown.edu
Police, security, the military, anthropology of the state, violence, technology, race, gender; United States

Kearin, Madeline
madeline_kearin@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, religion, identity, US

Larotonda, Alice
 alice_larotonda@brown.edu
Medical Anthropology; Anthropology of Infants and Children; Child Health and Child Rearing; Reproduction, Parenting and Parenthood; Anthropology of and in the Clinical Setting; Global Health; Cape Verde

Lewis, Kimberly J.
kimberly_lewis@brown.edu
higher education; political anthropology; race, ethnicity and indigeneity; Ecuador, the Andes

MacLeod, Josh P.
josh_macleod@brown.edu
Latin America; Guatemala; Human Rights, with a focus on Indigenous Rights; Natural Resources and Social Movements; International jurisprudence and how national and local actors are working to enforce these international conventions.

Markovitz, Bryan
bryan_markovitz@brown.edu
Museums and material culture, archaeology of performance, experimental cultures in science and art, Peircian semiotics, geohumanities and GIS.

Marsh, Katharine
katharine_marsh@brown.edu
Christianity, Migration, Kinship

Marshall, Hannah
hannah_marshall@brown.edu
Human trafficking; crime and legal anthropology; security; gender; international law enforcement; policing; violence

Matsumoto, Mallory
mallory_matsumoto@brown.edu
Maya archaeology, epigraphy, and linguistics; language and material culture; scribal practice; grammatology; comparative writing systems research

McKelvey, Patrick
patrick_mckelvey@brown.edu
Performance studies; medical anthropology; anthropology of disability; anthropology of work; affective labor; neoliberal critique

Moorefield, Bryan
bryan_moorefield@brown.edu
Americas; Mexico and southern United States; "Guestworkers” and farmworkers; transnational labor, migration, and kinship

Nelson, Jessica
jessica_nelson@brown.edu
Historical archaeology, New Netherland, New York

Parikh, Anar
anar_parikh@brown.edu
Cultural heritage, urban anthropology, India/South Asia

Peck, Alexandra
Coast Salish and Wakashan Art Forms, Museology and Repatriation Studies (specifically NAGPRA), Archaeological Ethics, Native Anthropology and "Reverse" Fieldwork, Post-Structuralism and Structuration Theory
alexandra_peck@brown.edu

Rafiq, Mohamed Yunus
mohamed_rafiq@brown.edu
Public health, medical anthropology, science and technology studies, anthropology of the state, anthropology of media

Roche Recinos, Alejandra
alejandra_rocherecinos@brown.edu

Savell, Stephanie
stephanie_savell@brown.edu
Brazil; United States; political anthropology; urban studies; security and policing; everyday violence; citizenship and rights; civic engagement

Sen, Sertac
sertac_sen@brown.edu
the military, civil-military relations, anthropology of the state, museum studies, urban anthropology, infrastructure

Sheridan, Derek
derek_sheridan@brown.edu
Geopolitical imaginations, theories of value, economic anthropology, Africa-China Relations, Tanzania, Taiwan

Shim, Yoon Kyung
yoon_kyung_shim@brown.edu
Indigenous archaeology, Asian-American archaeology, spaces of confinement, construction of historical narratives

Srinivasan, Rama
rama_srinivasan@brown.edu
Legal Anthropology; Gender and Sexuality; Emotions; India 

Sulaiman, Samee
samee_sulaiman@brown.edu 
Middle East, Islam, disability, HIV, sovereignty, spectacle, medical anthropology,  post-colonial thought, settler colonialism, secularism, liberalism

Sun, Yuezhu
yuezhu_sun@brown.edu 
Family, aging, urban China

 
Wright, Andrea
andrea_wright@brown.edu
migration, affective labor, gender, development, India

Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004Miguel Aleman reservoir, with the Sierra Mazateca in the background, northern Oaxaca, Mexico, 2004

American historical archaeology; maritime societies; labor, gender and household practice; material culture; public history and museums