Core Faculty

Sarah Besky
Charles Evans Hughes 1881 Assistant Professor of Anthropology and International and Public Affairs
Sarah_Besky@brown.edu
political economy, labor, environment, justice, South Asia, Himalayas 

Rebecca Louise Carter
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Urban Studies
Rebecca_Carter@brown.edu
social and environmental vulnerability, human dwelling, placemaking, urban social transformation

Paja Faudree
Associate Professor of Anthropology 
Paja_Faudree@brown.edu
linguistic anthropology, music, political economy, Latin America, indigeneity, drugs and psychoactive plants, language and medicine

Lina Fruzzetti
Professor of Anthropology
Lina_Fruzzetti@brown.edu
gender, ritual, India

Matthew Gutmann
Professor of Anthropology; Faculty Fellow, Watson Institute for International Studies
Matthew_Gutmann@brown.edu
gender, politics, health, Latin America, China 

Sherine Hamdy
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Sherine_Hamdy@brown.edu
medical anthropology, bioethics, gender, Islam, Middle East  

Stephen Houston
Dupee Family Professor of Social Science and Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology
Stephen_Houston@brown.edu
Maya, kingship, writing systems, imagery and representation  

David Kertzer
Dupee University Professor of Social Science, Professor of Anthropology & Italian Studies
David_Kertzer@brown.edu
politics, population, Italy 

Jessaca Leinaweaver
Associate Professor of Anthropology 
Jessaca_Leinaweaver@brown.edu
kinship, childhood, aging, migration, Latin America

Catherine Lutz
Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Family Professor of Anthropolopgy and International Studies
Catherine_Lutz@brown.edu
war and social life, inequality, automobility, subjectivity, visual anthropology, U.S. twentieth century history and ethnography, Asia-Pacific 

Katherine A. Mason
Assistant Professor of Anthropology 
Katherine_Mason@brown.edu 
medical anthropology, public health, bioethics, reproductive health, mental illness, infectious disease, population studies, gender studies, China, U.S.

Robert Preucel
Professor of Anthropology and Director of the Haffenreffer Museum
Robert_Preucel@brown.edu

Patricia E. Rubertone
Professor of Anthropology
Patricia_Rubertone@brown.edu
historical archaeology, colonialism, landscape and memory, identity and representation, urban indigeneity, Native North America, Northeast 

Andrew Scherer
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Archaeology, Undergraduate Advisor
Andrew_Scherer@brown.edu
archaeology, biological anthropology, political practice, war and violence, mortuary archaeology, bioarchaeology, Maya/Mesoamerica

William Simmons
Professor of Anthropology
William_Simmons@brown.edu
Myth, Ritual, Folklore, Higher Education, North America

Bhrigupati Singh 
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Bhrigupati_Singh@brown.edu
Vitality and Wellbeing, Aspiration, Ethics, Religion/Secularism, Media, Anthropology and Philosophy, South Asia 

Daniel Jordan Smith
Department Chair, Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence, Professor of Anthropology 
Daniel_J_Smith@brown.edu
medical anthropology, anthropology & population, development, political culture, Nigeria 

Peter Van Dommelen
Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology and Professor of Anthropology Peter_Van_Dommelen@brown.edu
archaeology, colonialism, migration, rural studies, Mediterranean

Parker VanValkenburgh 
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Parker_VanValkenburgh@brown.edu
Space and landscape, political subjectivity, colonialism, GIS and Spatial Analysis, ceramics, Andes

Kay Warren
Charles C. Tillinghast '32 Professor of International Studies and Professor of Anthropology
Kay_Warren@brown.edu
political anthropology, human trafficking, transnational migration, counterinsurgency war and peace, indigenous activists, gender and sexuality, violence and the media, Latin America

 

Archaeological fieldwork, Chiapas, MexicoArchaeological fieldwork, Chiapas, Mexico