Seminars

Seminars 2017-2018

August

Dissertation Defense

Thursday, August 24, 2017
2:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yu-Hang Tang, Brown University

Title

September

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, September 8, 2017
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jose Carrillo, Imperial College

Title: Hydrodynamic Models with Attractive-Repulsive and Alignment Effects

Abstract

Short Course:  Model Order Reduction Methods

September 11 - 15, 2017
Monday/Wednesday 11:00 - 12:30
Tuesday/Thursday 4:00 - 5:30
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yvon Maday, Visiting Professor Brown University

Title: Model Order Reduction Methods: Reduced Basis Methods and Associated Approaches

LCDS/Probability Seminar

Monday, September 11, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jonathan Touboul, Brandeis University

Title: Around the complex interplay of noise, heterogeneity and excitability on collective dynamics of neuronal networks

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Sebastian Andres, University of Cambridge

Title: Berry-Esseen Theorem for the Random Conductance Model

Abstract

Pattern Theory Seminar

Wednesday, September 20, 2017
12:00pm
Room 110, 182 George Street

Daniel Sanz-Alonso, Brown University

Title: Graph-based Bayesian learning: continuum limits and algorithms

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Thursday, September 21, 2017
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Amir Dembo, Stanford University

Title: The criticality of a randomly-driven front

Abstract

Applied Topology and Geometry Seminar

Thursday, September 21, 2017
12:00pm
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House

Justin Curry, University at Albany SUNY

Title: The Fiber of the Persistence Map

Abstract

Lunch will be provided.

PDE Seminar

Friday, September 22, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Sameer Iyer, Brown University

Title: Global-in-x Steady Prandtl Expansion over a Moving Boundary

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, September 25, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jason Bramburger, Brown University

Title: Rotating Waves Solutions to Lattice Dynamical Systems

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jose Carrillo, Imperial College

Title: Swarming, Interaction Energies and PDEs

Abstract

Fluids Seminar

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
3:00pm
Room 190, Barus & Holley

Michael Amitay, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Title: Aerodynamic Flow Control: From Basic Research to Application

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, September 29, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Allen Wu

Title

Abstract

October

LCDS Seminar

Monday, October 2, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Reza Pakzad, University of Pittsburgh

Title

Abstract

Applied Topology and Geometry Seminar

Thursday, October 5, 2017
12:00pm
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House

Elchanon Solomon, Brown University

Title 

Abstract

Lunch will be provided.

PDE Seminar

Friday, October 6, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Sona Akopian, Brown University

Title 

Abstract

Pattern Theory Seminar

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
12:00pm
Room 110, 182 George Street

Nir Sharon, Princeton University

Title

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, October 13, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Thomas Beck

Title

Abstract

David Gottlieb Memorial Lectureship

Monday, October 16, 2017
2:00 p.m.
Barus & Holley, Room 190

Recital immediately following in
Room 110, 182 George Street

Anthony T. Patera, MIT

Title: Model Order Reduction for Component-to-System Analysis of Parametrized Partial Differential Equations

Abstract and Biography

Applied Topology and Geometry Seminar

Thursday, October 19, 2017
12:00pm
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House

Lorin Crawford, Brown University

Title

Abstract

Lunch will be provided.

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, October 20, 2017
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street 

Anne Gelb, Dartmouth College

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, October 23, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street 

Alexei Novikov, Penn State

Title

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, October 27, 2017
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Roman Garnett, Washington University in Saint Louis

Title

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, October 27, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Philippe LeFloch

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, October 30, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Mythily Ramaswamy, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bangalore

Title

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, October 31, 2017
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Haya Kaspi, Technion Institute

Title: Local Times of Markov Processes and Permanental Processes

Abstract

November

Applied Topology and Geometry Seminar

Thursday, November 2, 2017
12:00pm
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House

Anthea Monod, Columbia University

Title: Tropical Sufficient Statistics for Persistent Homology with a Parametric Application to Infectious Viral Disease

Abstract

Lunch will be provided.

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, November 3, 2017
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yanlai Chen, Brown University

Title

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, November 3, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Alex Ionescu

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, November 6, 2017
4:00pm

Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Tim Laux, UC Berkeley

Title

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Tuesday, November 7, 2017
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Deanna Needell Hunter, UCLA

Title: Simple Classification using Binary Data

Abstract

Pattern Theory Seminar

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
12:00pm
Room 110, 182 George Street

Todd Zickler, Harvard University

Title

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, November 8, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Luis Silvestre

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, November 13, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Michael Loss, Georgia Tech

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, November 20, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Brad Marston, Brown University

Title

Abstract

Pattern Theory Seminar

Wednesday, November 29, 2017
12:00pm
Room 110, 182 George Street

Youssef Marzouk, MIT

Title

Abstract

December

PDE Seminar

Friday, December 1, 2017
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Hui Yu

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, December 4, 2017
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jinho Baik, University of Michigan

Title

Abstract

Applied Topology and Geometry Seminar 

Thursday, December 7 , 2017
12:00pm
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House

Pablo Camara

Title

Abstract

Lunch will be provided.

March

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday, March 15, 2018
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Andrew Stuart, Caltech

Title

Abstract