Seminars

Seminars 2019

January 2020

PDE Seminar

Friday, January 17, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Mahir Hadzic, University College London

Title: Can highly relativsitic, selfgravitating matter distributions be stable?

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Thursday, January 23, 2020
10:30am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Elchanan Mossel, MIT

Title: Simplicity and Complexity of Belief-Propagation

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, January 27, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Stanislav Shvartsman, Princeton University and Flatiron Institute 

Title: Embryogenesis: a cascade of dynamical systems

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Tuesday, January 28, 2020
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Madhu Sudan, Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Title: Polarization of Bounded Martingales

Abstract

Biography

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, January 31, 2020
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Sigal Gottlieb, Brown University

Title: Error inhibiting schemes with post-processing

Abstract

February 2020

LCDS Seminar

Monday, February 3, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Alexander Dunlap, Stanford University

Title: Stationary solutions for the stochastic heat, KPZ, and Burgers equations

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, February 7, 2020
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Wasilij Barsukow, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Title: Structure Preservation Properties of the Active Flux Scheme for multi-dimensional hyperbolic equations

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday, February 20, 2020
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yao Yao, Georgia Tech

Title: 

Abstract

LCDS/PDE Seminar

Friday, February 22, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Charles Doering, University of Michigan

Title: Optimal bounds and extremal trajectories for time averages in nonlinear dynamical systems

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, February 24, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Tom Trogdon, University of Washington

Title: 

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, February 28, 2020
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Lin Fu, Stanford University

Title: 

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, February 28, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yannick Sire, Johns Hopkins University 

Title: Minimizers for the thin one-phase free boundary problem

Abstract

March 2020

LCDS Seminar

Monday, March 2, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Dan Weinreich, Brown University

Title: 

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
10:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Mariana Olvera-Craviato, University of North Carolina

Title: 

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday, March 5, 2020
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Tomaso Poggio, MIT

Title: Center for Brains, Minds, and Machines

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, March 6, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Dominik Inauen, University of Zurich

Title: 

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, March 9, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Fraydoun Rezakhanlou, UC Berkely

Title: 

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, March 13, 2020
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Ari Stern, Washington University, St. Louis

Title: 

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, March 13, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jian-Guo Liu, Duke University

Title: 

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, March 16, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Bernard Chazelle, Princeton University

Title: 

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Nick Trefethen, University of Oxford 

Title: 

Abstract

LaSalle Lecture

Thursday, March 19, 2020
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Mete Soner, Princeton University

Title: 

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, March 20, 2020
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Noel Walkington, Carnegie Mellon University

Title: Numerical Approximation of Parabolic SPDE’s

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, March 30, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jessica Lin, McGill University 

Title: 

Abstract

APRIL 2020

PDE Seminar

Friday, April 3, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Hyunju Kwon, IAS 

Title: 

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, April 6, 2020
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Daniel Rothman, MIT 

Title: Carbon-Cycle Catastrophes: A Dynamical-Systems Perspective

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, April 10, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jingang Xiong, Beijing Normal University

Title: 

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, April 17, 2020
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Fabio Pusateri, University of Toronto

Title: 

Abstract