Seminars

Seminars 2017-2018

January

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, January 26, 2018
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Jianxian Qiu, Xiamen University

Title: A simple and efficient WENO method for hyperbolic conservation laws

Abstract

February

LCDS Seminar

Monday, February 5, 2018
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Markus Kunze, University of Cologne

Title: On the relativistic Vlasov-Maxwell system

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Thursday, February 8, 2018
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Wilfrid Gangbo, UCLA

Title

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, February 9, 2018
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yang Yang, Michigan Technological University

Title: Third-order maximum-principle-preserving third-order local discontinuous Galerkin methods on overlapped meshes

Abstract

Fluids at Brown and Fluids and Thermal Sciences Joint Seminar Series

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
3:00pm
Barus & Holley, Room 190

Brenden Epps, Dartmouth

Title

Abstract

Fluids at Brown and Fluids and Thermal Sciences Joint Seminar Series

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
3:00pm
Barus & Holley, Room 190

Lisa Tran, University of Pennsylvania

Title: Change in stripes for cholesteric shells via anchoring in Moderation

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday, February 22, 2018
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Gerard Ben Arous, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, NYU

Title

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, February 23, 2018
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

David M. Williams, Pennsylvania State University

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, February 26, 2018
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Ryan Goh, Boston University

Title

Abstract

March

LCDS Seminar

Monday, March 5, 2018
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Mattia Serra, Harvard University

Title: Material Coherent Structures in Chaotic Flows

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, March 6, 2018
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Rick Durrett, Duke University

Title

Abstract

Fluids at Brown and Fluids and Thermal Sciences Joint Seminar Series

Tuesday, March 6, 2018
12:00pm
BioMed Center, Eddy Auditorium

David Lentink, Stanford

Title

Abstract

Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday, March 15, 2018
12:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Andrew Stuart, Caltech

Title

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Nina Gantert, TUM

Title

Abstract

Fluids at Brown and Fluids and Thermal Sciences Joint Seminar Series

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
3:00pm
Barus & Holley, Room 190

Daphne Klotsa, UNC

Title

Abstract

April

LCDS Seminar 

Monday, April 2, 2018
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Madhu Venkadesan, Yale University

Title

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Sekhar Tatikonda, Yale University

Title

Abstract

PDE Seminar

Friday, April 13, 2018
3:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Gadi Fibich, Tel Aviv University

Title

Abstract

LCDS Seminar

Monday, April 16, 2018
4:00pm
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Aaron Hoffman, Olin College

Title

Abstract

Probability Seminar

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
11:00am
Room 110, 182 George Street

Jose Blanchet, Stanford University

Title

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, April 20, 2018
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Yingda Cheng, Michigan State University

Title

Abstract

Scientific Computing Seminar

Friday, April 27, 2018
11:00am
Room 108, 170 Hope Street

Olivier Bokanowski, Université Paris Diderot (Paris 7)

Title

Abstract