Chemistry Department Prizes & Awards

The Department recognizes outstanding achievements of graduate students by awarding several prizes and awards. Most awards are presented at the annual Awards Ceremony in May.

The William R. Potter Prize for Doctoral Thesis of Outstanding Merit

All graduate students completing Ph.D. theses judged to be of outstanding merit are eligible for the Potter Prize. This prize is awarded annually to the most exceptional chemistry Ph.D. dissertation as judged by a faculty committee. In addition to a monetary award of $2,500, this distinguished award is announced at the Chemistry Department Diploma Ceremony during Commencement.

2023 Potter Prize Recipient

G. Stephen Kocheril

The William T. King Prize  

The King Prize recognizes superior performance as a teaching assistant during the academic year. The prize is awarded annually to graduate students whose efforts as a teacher and facilitator of chemical learning go beyond normal expectations. 
2023 Recipients: David Romano, Lisa Huang and Lacie Connelli

Sigma Xi Award

The Sigma Xi Award for Excellence in Graduate Research recognizes outstanding research accomplishments during a graduate student's career. Students in their last year of graduate study are eligible. 
2023 Recipients: TBA

 The Vince Wernig Fellowship Award

Sebastian Rueda (Basu Group) Gopa Iyer (Rubenstein Group) were the 2023 Vince Wernig Fellowship Awardees for Academic Year 2023-24. The Vince Wernig Fellowship is competitively awarded to advanced graduate students. The level of support includes stipend, tuition, health insurance, and health services fees.

The Elaine Chase Award for Leadership and Service

The Chase Award recognizes the students whose extraordinary leadership and service contributions during their years at Brown improved the department or the academic and educational experiences of all graduate students.  

2023 Recipients: Joshua Dunn and Timea Kolozsvary

Research Travel & Conference Funding

Graduate School Research Travel & Conference Funding

Graduate students are encouraged to attend national and international conferences. In most cases, student travel is supported by a combination of funds from the Graduate School and the research group.

Please see the Graduate School website for detailed information on research travel and conference travel funding.

William R. Potter Chemistry Graduate Student Conference Travel Grants

The William R. Potter Fund provides grants to graduate students specializing in chemistry to support their travel to and participation in national chemistry conferences at which they present thesis research. All Chemistry graduate students and graduate students whose doctoral studies are directed by a Chemistry faculty member are eligible to apply.  Download the application and submit to Rose Barreira, Graduate Program Coordinator. Deadlines: May 1 for conferences in the months of July - December, and November 1 for conferences in the months of January - June.

The Dwight A. Sweigart Graduate Student Travel Award

The Dwight A. Sweigart Travel Award was established to honor Professor Dwight Sweigart, a dedicated scientist, teacher, and mentor. Each year, the presenter of the best inorganic chemistry / materials poster at the Chemistry Department's Annual Poster Session will receive the Sweigart Travel Award to support travel to a national conference.

The Cane-Nambiar Graduate Student Travel Award

Dr. Prabu Nambiar, a former post-doc in the research group of David E. Cane, Vernon K. Krieble Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, established the Cane-Nambiar Graduate Student Travelship in Professor Cane's honor. Each year, the presenter of the best organic / biological chemistry poster at the Chemistry Department's Annual Poster Session will receive the Cane-Nambiar Award to support travel to a national conference.

Physical / Theoretical Graduate Student Travel Award

Each year, the presenter of the best physical / theoretical chemistry poster at the Chemistry Department's Annual Poster Session will receive the Physical / Theoretical Graduate Student Travel Award to support travel to a national conference.

The Phyllis R. Strauss Travel Award

The Phyllis R. Strauss Fund supports travel and registration costs for women in Brown's Chemistry Graduate Program to participate in scientific development activities including, but not limited to, scientific workshops or professional conferences to present a poster or a talk. Recipients will write a follow-up message to Dr. Strauss to describe the experience. 


Updated May 31, 2022