Faculty

Department Chair

Paul G. Williard
Professor
Email

 


Chemistry Faculty (A-Z)

[View Faculty by Research Area]
Amit Basu
Associate Professor
Email
Sandra Russo-Rodriguez
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Email
Ou Chen
Assistant Professor
Email 
Chen Lab
Jason K. Sello
Associate Professor
Email
Vicki L. Colvin
Vernon K. Krieble Professor
Email 
Christopher T. Seto
Associate Professor
Email 
Sarah Delaney
Associate Professor
Email 
Delaney Lab
Richard M. Stratt
Newport Rogers Professor
Email
Gerald J. Diebold
Professor
Email
Diebold Lab 
Shouheng Sun
Vernon K. Krieble Professor
Email
Sun Lab
Kathleen M. Hess
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Email 
Lai-Sheng Wang
Jesse H. and Louisa D. Sharpe Metcalf Professor
Email
Wang Lab 
Eunsuk Kim
Associate Professor
Email 
Kim Lab
Li-Qiong Wang
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry
Email 
Jerome R. Robinson
Assistant Professor 
Email 
Robinson Lab 
Peter M. Weber
Professor
Email
Weber Lab
Christoph G. Rose-Petruck
Professor
Email
Paul G. Williard
Professor
Email
Williard Lab
Brenda M. Rubenstein
Assistant Professor
Email
Rubenstein Lab 
Matthew B. Zimmt
Professor
Email 

Adjunct Lecturers

Joseph D. Geiser
joseph_geiser@brown.edu 
Suzanne M. Rudnicki
suzanne_rudnicki@brown.edu 
Charles I. Morton
charles_morton@brown.edu 
Eric Victor
eric_victor@brown.edu 

Affiliated Faculty

Wesley H. Bernskoetter
Adjunct Associate Professor of Chemistry
wesley_bernskoetter@brown.edu 
Markus Meuwly
Adjunct Professor of Chemistry
markus_meuwly@brown.edu
Hannes Jonsson
Adjunct Professor of Chemistry (Research)
hannes_jonsson@brown.edu
G. Tayhas R. Palmore
Professor of Engineering
tayhas_palmore@brown.edu
Kristie J. Koski
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Chemistry
kristie_koski@brown.edu 
Arthur R. Salomon
Associate Professor of Biology
arthur_salomon@brown.edu

Emeriti

James Baird
David Cane
Jimmie Doll
Joan Lusk
William Risen, Jr.
J. William Suggs

Faculty by Research Area

Organic Chemistry

Amit Basu
Associate Professor
abasu@brown.edu

Glycobiology, polymers, green chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry, interfacial recognition, nanomaterials 
Christopher Seto
Associate Professor
christopher_seto@brown.edu

Drug discovery, phosphatases, activity based probes, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis 
Sarah Delaney
Associate Professor
sarah_delaney@brown.edu

Nucleic acids chemistry and biology, DNA repair, enzyme kinetics
Paul Williard
Professor
pgw@brown.edu

X-ray diffraction analysis, organolithium compounds, NMR, organometallics, organic synthesis
Jason Sello
Associate Professor
jason_sello@brown.edu

Synthetic organic chemistry, microbiology, antibiotic mechanism and resistance, drug discovery, biofuels, analytical chemistry
Matthew Zimmt
Professor
matthew_zimmt@brown.edu

Nanoscience, self-assembly, scanning microscopies, organic synthesis

Inorganic Chemistry

Vicki Colvin
Professor
vicki_colvin@brown.edu

Nanomaterials synthesis, magnetic materials, environmental fate and transport of colloids, biologically compatible nanomaterials, magnetic and electrical imaging in complex environments. 
Jerome Robinson
Assistant Professor
jerome_robinson@brown.edu 

Inorganic synthesis/catalysis, Green chemistry, energy, materials, Rare-earth metals
Ou Chen
Assistant Professor
ou_chen@brown.edu

Quantum dots, multifunctional nanomaterials, hybrid nano-structures, and nanotechnology for energy and bio-imaging
Shouheng Sun
Professor
ssun@brown.edu

Nanomaterials synthesis, self-assembly, nanomedicine, catalysis and energy storage
Eunsuk Kim
Associate Professor
eunsuk_kim@brown.edu

Bioinorganic chemistry, coordination chemistry, redox signaling, nitric oxide signaling, energy, carbon dioxide conversion

Theoretical & Experimental Physical Chemistry

Gerald Diebold
Professor
gerald_diebold@brown.edu

Photoacoustic effect, thermal diffusion, medical imaging, vibration potential imaging, x-ray phase contrast, radiation force spectrometry
Richard Stratt
Professor
richard_stratt@brown.edu

Theoretical chemistry, molecular dynamics in liquids, ultrafast spectroscopy
Christoph Rose-Petruck
Professor
crosepet@brown.edu 

Ultrafast x-ray science, ultrafast spectroscopy of chemical reactions, medical x-ray and ultrasound imaging, x-ray microscopy
Lai-Sheng Wang
Professor
lai-sheng_wang@brown.edu

Nanoclusters, chemical structures and bonding, catalysis, cluster-assembled nanomaterials, multiply charged anions, electrospray ionization and solution chemistry in the gas phase, photodetachment, photoelectron spectroscopy and imaging
Brenda Rubenstein
Assistant Professor
brenda_rubenstein@brown.edu 

Theoretical quantum chemistry and physics, stochastic methods for electronic structure theory, strongly correlated and relativistic materials, quantum computing, actinide structure and transport 
Peter Weber
Professor
peter_weber@brown.edu

Chemical reaction dynamics, ultrafast laser spectroscopy, molecular beam spectroscopy, multi-photon proceses, photoionization, photoelectron spectroscopy

Nano & Materials Chemistry

Amit Basu
Associate Professor
abasu@brown.edu

Glycobiology, polymers, green chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry, interfacial recognition, nanomaterials 
Shouheng Sun
Professor
ssun@brown.edu

Nanomaterials synthesis, self-assembly, nanomedicine, catalysis and energy storage
Ou Chen
Assistant Professor
ou_chen@brown.edu

Quantum dots, multifunctional nanomaterials, hybrid nano-structures, and nanotechnology for energy and bio-imaging
 
Lai-Sheng Wang
Professor
lai-sheng_wang@brown.edu

Nanoclusters, chemical structures and bonding, catalysis, cluster-assembled nanomaterials, multiply charged anions, electrospray ionization and solution chemistry in the gas phase, photodetachment, photoelectron spectroscopy and imaging
Vicki Colvin
Professor
vicki_colvin@brown.edu

Nanomaterials synthesis, magnetic materials, environmental fate and transport of colloids, biologically compatible nanomaterials, magnetic and electrical imaging in complex environments.
Matthew Zimmt
Professor
matthew_zimmt@brown.edu

Nanoscience, self-assembly, scanning microscopies, organic synthesis

Chemical Biology

Amit Basu
Associate Professor
abasu@brown.edu

Glycobiology, polymers, green chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry, interfacial recognition, nanomaterials 
Jason Sello
Associate Professor
jason_sello@brown.edu

Synthetic organic chemistry, microbiology, antibiotic mechanism and resistance, drug discovery, biofuels, analytical chemistry
Sarah Delaney
Associate Professor
sarah_delaney@brown.edu

Nucleic acids chemistry and biology, DNA repair, enzyme kinetics
Christopher Seto
Associate Professor
christopher_seto@brown.edu

Drug discovery, phosphatases, activity based probes, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis
Eunsuk Kim
Associate Professor
eunsuk_kim@brown.edu

Bioinorganic chemistry, coordination chemistry, redox signaling, nitric oxide signaling, energy, carbon dioxide conversion
Paul Williard
Professor
pgw@brown.edu

X-ray diffraction analysis, organolithium compounds, NMR, organometallics, organic synthesis

Chemical Education

Kathleen Hess
Senior Lecturer
kathleen_hess@brown.edu

Guided inquiry organic and inorganic experiments, green chemistry principles, renewable energy, liberal learning, interdisciplinary studies
Li-Qiong Wang
Senior Lecturer
li_qiong_wang@brown.edu

Development of innovative and engaging introductory chemistry and bioinorganic chemistry laboratory experiments (areas of interest: green chemistry, clean energy, environmental chemistry), collaborative teaching and learning pedagogy
Sandra Russo-Rodriguez
Senior Lecturer
sandra_russo-rodriguez@brown.edu

Development of collaborative learning activities and problem sessions in general chemistry, case studies for study of science 

 

 

updated 2/7/17