[email protected]

Projects for Peace

Deadline 01/07/2022
Eligibility all undergraduates
Contact Linda Dunleavy
Website http://www.davisprojectsforpeace.org/


Projects for Peace is open to all undergraduates at the 95 institutions (including Brown) that are part of the Davis United World College Scholars Program. Students are invited to design grassroots projects that they will implement during the summer. The 100 projects judged to be the most promising and feasible will be funded at $10,000 each. The program is made possible by Kathryn W. Davis, an accomplished internationalist and philanthropist, who died in 2013 at 106 years of age. Mrs. Davis' legacy will live on through the continuation of Projects for Peace. 


All undergraduates including seniors who would complete their projects after graduation are eligible.  Groups of students from the same campus, as well as individual students, may submit proposals.


$10,000 in support of the winning project. 


Brown will select among its internal applicant pool one student proposal and one alternate student proposal.  The two chosen applicants from Brown will have a short time to revise their proposals in time for the February deadline. 

Applicants must submit a complete application to UFunds, Brown's online application by the campus deadline. We require one copy of the following:   

1) a two page proposal including expected outcomes and prospects for future impact

2)  a one page budget

3)  a cover sheet with the following information:  Name, email, concentration, and telephone number

4) Letter(s) from Organization(s) involved in the Project

5) a letter of reference discussing the project's significance and your ability to carry it out

Instructions for applying: Applicants will upload application materials to UFunds, Brown's online application system by the campus deadline of January 7, 2021.

UFunds is currently open for students interested in applying.

Linda Sutherland
Co-Curricular Program Manager
Box 1828, Brown University
Providence, RI 02912 


Sara Ouaddi, '23
Grace Ouedraogo, '22
Jacob Cousin, '20
Bruno Felalaga, '20
Ruth St Fleur, '18
Charlene Chabata, '16
Liza Yeager, '17
Annabel Lemma, '16
Gwendolene Mugodi, '18
Oluwakemi Odusanya, '18