[email protected]

Harry S. Truman Scholarship Program

Deadline 11/07/2022
Eligibility Juniors
Contact Linda Dunleavy
Website http://www.truman.gov


Established by Congress in 1975, the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships to college juniors (at the time of application) who have outstanding leadership potential and intend to pursue careers in public service. In 2022, one or more scholarships will be available to a qualified resident nominee in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and considered as a single entity, the Islands: Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.


Brown can nominate four candidates for this scholarship each year. Juniors planning a career that has a public service component and who are United States citizens or United States nationals from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands are eligible to apply. Criteria for selection are a strong desire to be a “change agent,” outstanding potential for leadership, and academic performance. The candidates are judged on the basis of analytical ability, leadership, communications skills, independence, initiative, sensitivity to others, demonstrated interest in government and/or community service, prospects of performing well in graduate school, and commitment to a career in public service. A variety of disciplines can lead to public service careers; for example, engineering, mathematics, physical sciences, biology, and environmental studies, as well as fields such as history, political science, government, public health, public administration, economics, and international relations. Authentic leadership and commitment to making a difference as well as an imaginative approach to conceiving of these things are desirable qualities for students interested in this award.


$30,000 for graduate or professional study. In addition to funding, the Truman involves a leadership week and a summer institute both of which give Truman scholars a chance to explore pressing policy and public service concerns as well develop connections and learn from each other.



Brown holds an internal competition to determine our nominees. A complete application is due by the campus deadline.  We require one copy of the following:

  • A completed application form; the form can be downloaded from the Truman site; note:  for the campus competition, students use the sample application.
  • Full answers to all of the essay questions that are part of the Truman application including a policy memo.
  • Three letters (3) of recommendation. One must be written by a Brown faculty member familiar with the applicant’s academic abilities and prospects for success in graduate school; another must be written by someone who can discuss the applicant’s commitment to a career in public service; and the third will come from someone who can attest to the applicant’s leadership abilities and can ideally speak directly about the leadership example the applicant uses in question 7. (Please have letters addressed to Linda Dunleavy, Associate Dean of the College for Fellowships).
  • Official Brown University transcript as well as an official transcript from any other school attended for post-secondary studies.
Instructions for applying
UFunds is currently open and accepting accplications for students interested in applying for the Truman Scholarship.
  • UPLOAD your sample application form from the Truman Scholars website. Save a PDF of the application and upload it to UFunds, Brown's online application system.
  • UPLOAD Full answers to all of the essay questions that are part of the Truman application including the policy memo. (This part of the application can be uploaded as part of the sample application above or as a separate word document saved as a PDF.
  • REGISTER YOUR THREE REFEREES on UFunds, Brown's online application system. Once you do so, the system will send a request for a reference with login information to the person registered. The referees are then responsible for uploading their references to UFunds, Brown's online application system by the campus deadline of November 7, 2022.
  • UPLOAD your official Brown University Transcript, as well as official transcripts from any other schools attended for post-secondary studies. 

After reviewing the applications, Brown’s Truman committee will contact finalists for the 4 nominations and invite them to interview. The interviews will take place in early-mid January. Finalists who are studying away can be interviewed via Skype.

For questions regarding the Truman Scholarship contact: [email protected].


John Lin, '23
Marysol Fernandez Harvey, '21
Rose Lang-Maso, '20
Dorothy Jiang, '19