Office of International Programs

Faculty Advisors for Study Abroad

Students must meet with their concentration advisor before they study abroad to discuss their study abroad plans and plans for completing the concentration. Students also must update concentration declarations in ASK to include any study abroad courses for which they will seek concentration credit.

Many academic departments have a designated a faculty member who serves as a departmental study abroad advisor. If this is someone other than your concentration advisor, you might choose to talk with a departmental study abroad advisor, in addition to your concentration advisor, for:

  • information about the department or concentration’s general study abroad policies; or
  • knowledge of programs pursued in the past or their own recommended programs.

Unless otherwise noted, students should email the following department contact to set up an appointment.

Africana Studies
Lundy Braun

American Studies
Debbi Weinstein

Andrew Scherer

Contact department for office hours.
To be approved by Anthro, courses must 1) have primarily anthro content, and 2) be offered in an Anthro dept. or by an anthropologist in another dept.

Applied Mathematics
Paul Dupuis

Archaeology & the Ancient World
Peter van Dommelen or Sarah Sharpe

Architectural Studies
See History of Art and Architecture (below)

Biology & Medicine

Katherine SmithAssociate Dean of Biology

Sarah TaylorAcademic Advisor/Science Learning Specialist

Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations (BEO)
Concentrators should meet with their track advisors. Please see BEO website for advisor contact details and office hours.  

Amit Basu

Pura Nieto Hernandez

Cognitive Neuroscience
William Heindel

Cognitive Science

Thomas Serre

Comparative Literature
Concentrators should see their own advisors.  Non-concentrators should meet with Dore Levy.

Computer Science
Students should meet with their concentration advisors

Development Studies
Patsy Lewis

Students seeking graduation credit for classes in this area should first see appropriate alternate departments (i.e. Environmental Studies, Africana Studies, etc).

East Asian Studies
Yuko Jackson (Japan)
Wenhui Chen (China)
Hye-Sook Wang (Korea)

Contact department for office hours.

Rachel Friedberg

Luther Spoehr

Contact department for office hours.

Allan Bower

English & American Literature
Olakunle George

Contact department for office hours.

Environmental Studies
Kurt Teichert

Contact department for office hours.

French Studies
Youenn Kervennic (language courses)

Thangam Ravindranathan (other courses)

Gender and Sexuality Studies
Drew Walker

Geological Sciences
Jan Tullis

German Studies
Kristina Mendicino 

Hindi & Urdu
Ashok Koul

Hispanic Studies
Victoria Smith or Eva Gomez

Contact department for office hours.

Howard Chudacoff

Contact department for office hours.

History of Art & Architecture
Jeffrey Muller

Contact department for office hours.

International Relations
Claudia Elliott

Contact International Relations for office hours.

Italian Language Studies
Cristina Abbona-Sneider

Judaic Studies

Paul Nahme

Languages (not taught at Brown)
Ercan Balci

Latin American Studies
Erica Durante

Contact department for office hours.

Scott AnderBois 

Jeffrey Hoffstein

Contact department for office hours.

Medieval Studies
Stratis Papaioannou

Contact department for office hours.

Modern Culture & Media
Anthony Cokes

Modern Greek
Elsa Amanatidou

Fall 2018 contact: Marc Perlman
Spring 2019 contact: Dana Gooley

Contact department for office hours.

Justin Broackes

Contact department for office hours.

Ian dell'Antonio 

Political Science
Students may see any member of the undergrad committee during their regular office hours. 

Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
Luiz Valente

Contact department for office hours.


Elena Festa

Public Health
Mark Lurie
Barbara Dailey  

Contact department for office hours.

Public Policy
Anthony Levitas or Melissa Nicholaus 

Religious Studies
Daniel Vaca

Contact department for office hours.

Slavic Languages

Alexander Levitsky (all areas)
Lynne deBenedette (Russia) 
Masako Fidler (Czech Republic)

Carrie Spearin

Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
Patricia Ybarra

Urban Studies
Dietrich Neumann

Contact department for office hours.

Visual Arts
Leslie Bostrom

Grant Opportunities

Our grant database offers a wide range of funding opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and researcher in different fields of work.

Search Grants

Social Media