Faculty

Steven Clemens, Associate Professor, Research
GeoChem Building Room 127
Phone: 863-1964
Steven_Clemens@brown.edu


I focus on Milankovitch to centennial-scale climate change within the Neogene, with an emphasis on the Indian and Asian monsoon regions.
Yan Liang, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 046
Phone: 863-9477
Yan_Liang@brown.edu

My general research interests are in the areas of laboratory experiments, theoretical analysis, numerical simulations, and petrologic and geochemical applications of mass transfer in fluid systems.
 Reid Cooper, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 031
Phone: 863-2160
Reid_Cooper@brown.edu

My research emphasizes solid-state mechanical and chemical kinetics in rocks, minerals and melts. (Also does interdisciplinary research with the Tectonophysics group). 
Amanda Lynch, Professor
BERT Room 116
Phone: 863-5153
Amanda_Lynch@brown.edu

My research interests focus primarily on the role of polar cyclones in the climate system, and on the policy implications of extreme weather in small and indigenous communities. I have a joint appointment with Geology and IBES.
  
Colleen Dalton
, Associate Professor
GeoChem Building Room 161
Phone: 863-3339
Colleen_Dalton@brown.edu

I am a seismologist, and my research is focused on imaging the Earth's interior using seismic waves. The overarching goal of my research program is to determine 3-D variations in the temperature, composition, partial-melt content, and volatile abundance of Earth’s mantle.  
Ralph Milliken, Associate Professor
Lincoln Field Building
Phone: 863-1118
Ralph_Milliken@brown.edu

 Karen M. Fischer, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 163
Karen_Fischer@brown.edu
My research involves imaging the structure of the Earth's crust and mantle using seismic waves in order to better understand dynamic processes inside Earth.
David Murray, Lecturer in Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
MacMillan Hall Room 114
Phone: 863-3531
David_Murray@brown.edu




Don Forsyth, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 158
Phone: 863-1699
Donald_Forsyth@brown.edu
My interests are in the processes that create new seafloor at mid-ocean ridges, the properties of the lithosphere and asthenosphere, and the nature of small-scale convection beneath tectonic plates. 
John Mustard, Professor
Lincoln Field Building Room 110
Phone: 863-1264
John_Mustard@Brown.EDU
My research focuses on the processes that modify solid surfaces and the spatial and temporal scales that control environmental processes on the Earth.
 Baylor Fox-Kemper, Associate Professor
GeoChem Building Room 133
Phone: 863-3979
Baylor_Fox-Kemper@brown.edu
I study the physics of the ocean and its role in past, present, and future climate. I use models that range from the global scale to focused process models that apply universally.
Stephen Parman, Associate Professor
GeoChem Building Room 037
Phone: 863-3352
Stephen_Parman@brown.edu
My research focuses on the chemical evolution of the Earth, moons, and planets.
 L. Peter Gromet, Professor Emeritus
GeoChem Building Room 044
L_Gromet@brown.edu
My major research interest is on understanding the processes that control the tectonic evolution of ancient collisional mountain belts.
Marc Parmentier, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 162
Phone: 863-1700
EM_Parmentier@brown.edu
My research centers on understanding the roles of melting, melt migration, and mantle dynamics on the long-term evolution of the interior of the Earth and other planetary bodies.

 Meredith Hastings, Associate Professor
MacMillan Hall Room 111
Phone: 863-3658
Meredith_Hastings@brown.edu
My research focuses on the reactive nitrogen cycle, with an emphasis on nitrate deposition. I have a joint appointment with Geology & ECI.
Carle Pieters, Professor (Research)
Carle_Pieters@brown.edu Professor Pieters’ research focuses on remote compositional analyses and surface processes. She has extensive laboratory experience with lunar samples and meteorites. She has been a productive lunar and asteroid astronomer as well as active science team member on exploration missions. Dr. Pieters was PI of the Moon Mineralogy Mapper (M3) on the Indian Chandrayaan-1 spacecraft and is currently a CoI on NASA’s Dawn Mission to Vesta and Ceres.
 
James Head
, Professor
Lincoln Field Building Room 104
Phone: 863-2526
James_Head@Brown.EDU
Professor Head studies themes of planetary evolution and the role of volcanism and tectonism in the formation and evolution of planetary crusts. Several research projects are underway in the field in Antarctica, on the Earth's seafloor, and in assessing data from planetary surfaces to study climate change on Mars, volcanism on the Moon, Mars, and Venus, the geology of the surface of Mercury and the tectonic and volcanic evolution of icy satellites.
Warren Prell, Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)
GeoChem Building Room 132
Phone: 863-3221
Warren_Prell@brown.edu
I use deep-sea sediments to reconstruct and interpret the evolution of Neogene oceans and climates.
 Timothy Herbert, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 125
Phone: 863-1207
Timothy_Herbert@brown.edu
Understanding how the earth's climatic system, particularly the ocean, adjusts itself to perturbation on various timescales drives most aspects of my research.

James Russell
, Associate Professor
GeoChem Building Room 143
Phone: 863-6330
James_Russell@brown.edu
I use late Neogene lake sediments to investigate millennial to decadal-scale climate changes, focusing on tropical Africa and Indonesia.
John Hermance, Professor Emeritus
GeoChem Building Room 167
John_Hermance@brown.edu
My research is in the area of environmental geophysics and hydrology.
Malcolm Rutherford, Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)
GeoChem Building Room 049
Phone: 863-1927
Malcolm_Rutherford@brown.edu
The focus of my research is the experimental, field, and theoretical investigations of the phase equilibria of calc-alkaline magmas.
 Paul Hess, Professor Emeritus
GeoChem Building Room 050
Phone: 863-1929

I focus on fundamental geochemical questions ranging from the atomistic scale to larger problems dealing with the igneous evolution of the Moon and Mars.
Alberto Saal, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 038
Phone: 863-7238
Alberto_Saal@brown.edu
I have broad interests in the application of geochemistry to problems of earth, planetary, and environmental science.
 Greg Hirth, Professor & Chair
GeoChem Building Room 035
Phone: 863-7063
Greg_Hirth@brown.edu
My interests are in experimental rock mechanics, deformation mechanisms in both crustal and mantle lithologies, structural geology, application of experimental flow laws to geophysical and geological observations. (Also does interdisciplinary research with the Tectonophysics group).
Peter Schultz, Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)
Lincoln Field Building
Phone: 863-2417
My main research has been on the effect of impact angle on cratering and the role of the atmosphere in modifying the process. Different planetary environments, laboratory simulations, and theoretical models allow testing under extreme conditions and to extreme scales.
 Yongsong Huang, Professor
GeoChem Building Room 147
Phone: 863-3822
Yongsong_Huang@brown.edu
I bring new capabilities for studies of lake and marine sediments in terms of isotopic measurements of organic substances.
Jan Tullis, Royce Family Professor in Teaching Excellence
GeoChem Building Room 033
Phone: 863-1921

My research involves experimental investigations of the deformation mechanisms, microstructures, and rheology of crustal rocks. (Also does interdisciplinary research with the Tectonophysics group).
Christian Huber, Assistant Professor
GeoChem Building Room 167
Phone: 863-5876
Christian_Huber@Brown.edu 
I study the role of multi phase processes on the dynamics of Earth and other Planetary bodies. More specifically, I focus on volcanology, geodynamics and porous media flow with a variety of theoretical, numerical and experimental approaches.
 Terry Tullis, Professor Emeritus, Professor (Research)
GeoChem Building Room 016
Phone: 863-3829
Terry_Tullis@brown.edu
I focus on understanding the mechanics of earthquakes.
Brandon Johnson, Assistant Professor
Lincoln Field Building Room 303
Phone: 863-5163
Brandon_Johnson@Brown.edu
Impact cratering is arguably the most pervasive geologic process in the solar system. I use numerical models called hydrocodes to study impact processes and the formation of impact craters.
Thompson Webb, Professor Emeritus
GeoChem Building Room 130
863-3128
Thompson_Webb_III@brown.edu
My paleoclimate research focuses on mapping large data sets and the calibration of pollen data in climate terms. 
Jung-Eun Lee, Assistant Professor
GeoChem Building Room 131
Phone: 863-6465

I study the global water cycle, focusing on how the terrestrial ecosystem influences and is influenced by the physical climate system. My research tools are numerical models of different complexities, ranging from 1-dimensional simple models to more complex earth system models. I often work with researchers who make measurements to improve our understanding of the interplay among different components of the climate system.