Faculty

Faculty



 

Anna Aizer
Professor
(Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Department Chair
Phone: (401) 863-9529
Email: Anna_Aizer@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302A
Office Hours: 


 

Lint Barrage
Assistant Professor

 (Environmental and Public Economics, Policy Design and Analysis, Climate Change,Integrated Assessment-Climate Economy Modeling) 
Phone: (401) 863-3868
Email: lint_barrage@brown.edu 
Office: Robinson Hall 211
Office Hours: 

Daniel Bjorkegren
Assistant Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Industrial Organization)
Phone: (401) 863-3690
Email: daniel_bjorkegren@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303D
Office Hours: Thursday 2:30-3:30 pm

Joaquin Blaum
Assistant Professor
(Economic Growth, International Economics, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2285
Email: Joaquin_Blaum@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302C  
Office Hours:  Tuesday 4:00-5:00 pm 

Kenneth Chay
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6296
Email: Kenneth_Chay@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 303    
Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-4:00 pm, Thursday  11:00-12:00 pm

Pedro Dal Bó
Associate Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-2953
Email: Pedro_dal_bo@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302B 
Office Hours: Friday 1:00-2:00



Geoffroy de Clippel
Associate Professor
(Game Theory, Behavioral Economics, Experimental Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6288
Email: Geoffroy_DeClippel@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 206
Office Hours: 

Gauti Eggertsson
Professor
(Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2145
Email: Gauti_Eggertsson@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102B 
Office Hours: 

Jack Fanning
Assistant Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-1988
Email: jack_fanning@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303C
Office Hours:  By Appointment

Andrew Foster
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Empirical Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2537
Email: Andrew_Foster@brown.edu
Office: Mencoff Hall 203
Office Hours: Monday 1:00-3:00 pm

Rachel Friedberg
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
(Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-7578
Email: Rachel_Friedberg@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 216
Office Hours: Wednesday 10:00-11:30 am 

John Friedman
Associate Professor
(Public Economics, Political Economy)
Email: John_Friedman@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall Room 304B
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-2:45 




Oded Galor
Professor
(Comparative Development, Evolutionary Economics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-2117
Email: Oded_Galor@brown.edu
Office: Robinson 101
Office Hours: Friday 1:30-2:40




Justine Hastings
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2691
Email: Justine_Hastings@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 201 (by appointment only) 

Brian Knight
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-1584
Email: Brian_Knight@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304C
Office Hours: Monday 9:30-10:30am , Wednesday 3:15-4:15pm


Sylvia Kuo
Senior Lecturer

(Applied Microeconomics, Investments)
Phone: (401) 863-6257
Email: Sylvia_Kuo@brown.edu

Office: Robinson 104B

Office Hours: 


 

Rafael La Porta

Professor 
(Macroeconomics, Investor Protection, Corporate Governance) 
Phone: (401) 863-2118
Email: rafael_la_porta@brown.edu 
Office: 70 Waterman 101
Office Hours: (Please email to confirm meeting before coming to office hours) Tuesday-Friday: 10:30-11:30 

Glenn Loury
Professor
(Economic Theory, Applied Theory, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2606
Email: Glenn_Loury@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 105
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 3:00-5:00 or By Appt.  


 

Neil Mehrotra
Assistant Professor
(Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2112
Email: Neil_Mehrotra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303A
Office Hours: Wednesday 11:00-12:00 pm
 

Pascal Michaillat
Assistant Professor
(Macroeconomics, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2672 
Email: pascal_michaillat@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 202
Office Hours: By Appt. Only

 

Stelios Michalopoulos
Associate Professor
(Economic Growth, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2506
Email: SMichalo@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 308
Office Hours: Econ 1210-Tuesday and Thursday, 4:00-5:00 PM. Econ 2860-By Appointment 

Andriy Norets
Associate Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-3195
Email: andriy_norets@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 209
Office Hours: Thursday 2:30-3:30 pm 

Emily Oster
Professor
(Health Economics, Development Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2170
Email: emily_oster@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102C
Office Hours:  Wednesday 10:30-12:00 pm


 

Bobby Pakzad-Hurson
Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2122
Email: bph@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 215
Office Hours: Wednesday 1:30-3:30pm. Taking appointment signups for the first half of office hours. Students can sign up for a slot at https://bph.youcanbook.me/ 

Christina Paxson
Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2234
Email: Christina_Paxson@brown.edu
Office: President's Office

Louis Putterman
Professor
(Development Economics, Experimental Economics)                         Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Phone: (401) 863-3837
Email: Louis_Putterman@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 301
Office Hours:                                                  Tuesday: 1:00 - 1:50  pm                          Thursday: 1:00 - 1:50 pm

 


 


Kareen Rozen
Associate Professor
(Behavioral economics, decision theory, game theory, experimental economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2097
Email: Kareen_Rozen@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102A
Office Hours:                                          

Susanne Schennach
Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-1234
Email: Susanne_Schennach@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 102  Office Hours- By Appointment

Roberto Serrano
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-2764
Email: Roberto_Serrano@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 201B
Office Hours: Monday 9:00-12:00 pm


Jesse Shapiro
Professor
(Industrial Organization, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-2970
Email: jesse_shapiro_1@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman Room 302 (Office hours are listed in Econ Advising Google Calendar or by appointment)

 

Bryce Steinberg
Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-9819
Email: Bryce_Steinberg@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303B
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:00 pm


 

Neil Thakral                                 Assistant Professor 
(Applied microeconomics, Behavioral Economics, Labor Economics, and Market Design) 
Phone: (401) 863-6297
Email: neil_thakral@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302D
Office Hours: Tuesday, 1:00-3:00 pm

Matthew Turner
Professor
(Environmental Economics, Urban Economics)
Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: (401) 863-9331
Email: matthew_turner@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304A
Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:30-3:30, Fridays 2-3:30pm






Rajiv Vohra
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-3030
Email: Rajiv_Vohra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 
Office Hours: 


David Weil
Professor
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-1754
Email: David_Weil@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 204
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:00-4:00 pm 

 

Faculty Emeritus



 

Allan Feldman
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory, Law and Economics, Welfare Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2415
Email: Allan_Feldman@brown.edu

 

Vernon Henderson
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Economic Growth, Urban Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2886
Email: Vernon_Henderson@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 206

 

Peter Howitt
Professor Emeritus
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-5128
Email: Peter_Howitt@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall Room 105 

 

 

Tony Lancaster
Professor Emeritus
(Econometrics, Health Economics)
Email: Tony_Lancaster@brown.edu

 

Talbot Page
Professor Emeritus
(Environmental Economics, Experimental Economics, Game Theory)
Email: Talbot_Page@brown.edu

 

Mark Pitt
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics)
Email: Mark_Pitt@brown.edu

 

Harl Ryder
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory)
Email: Harl_Ryder@brown.edu

Mark Schupack 
Professor Emeritus 
Email: Mark_Schupack@brown.edu

Courtesy Faculty

 


Matthew Kraft
Assistant Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-3795
Email: mkraft@brown.edu
Office: Barus 204

 

John Papay
Assistant Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-5137
Email: John_Papay@brown.edu
Office: Barus 202

 

John Tyler
Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-1036
Email: John_Tyler@brown.edu
Office: Barus 108