Faculty

Faculty



 

Anna Aizer
Professor
(Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Department Chair
Phone: (401) 863-9529
Email: Anna_Aizer@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302A
Office Hours: 


 

Lint Barrage
Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-3868
Email: Lint_Barrage@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 211              
Office Hours:                                                

Daniel Bjorkegren
Assistant Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Industrial Organization)
Phone: (401) 863-3690
Email: daniel_bjorkegren@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303D
Office Hours: Thursday 2:00-3:00 pm

Joaquin Blaum
Assistant Professor
(Economic Growth, International Economics, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2285
Email: Joaquin_Blaum@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302C  
Office Hours:  Tuesday 4:00-5:00 pm 

Kenneth Chay
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6296
Email: Kenneth_Chay@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 303    
Office Hours: Monday 4:00-5:00 pm, Wednesday 1:00-2:00 pm

Pedro Dal Bó
Associate Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-2953
Email: Pedro_dal_bo@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 302B 
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30-11:30 am , Thursday 10:30-11:30 am



Geoffroy de Clippel
Associate Professor
(Game Theory, Behavioral Economics, Experimental Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-6288
Email: Geoffroy_DeClippel@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 206
Office Hours: 

Gauti Eggertsson
Professor
(Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2145
Email: Gauti_Eggertsson@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102B 
Office Hours: 

Jack Fanning
Assistant Professor
(Experimental Economics, Game Theory, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-1988
Email: jack_fanning@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303C
Office Hours:  By Appointment

Andrew Foster
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics, Empirical Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2537
Email: Andrew_Foster@brown.edu
Office: Mencoff Hall 112
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:30-3:30 pm

Rachel Friedberg
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
(Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-7578
Email: Rachel_Friedberg@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 216
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-11:30 am 

John Friedman
Associate Professor
(Public Economics, Political Economy)
Email: John_Friedman@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall Room 304B
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-2:45 




Oded Galor
Professor
(Comparative Development, Evolutionary Economics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-2117
Email: Oded_Galor@brown.edu
Office: Robinson 101
Office Hours: Friday 1:30-2:30




Justine Hastings
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2691
Email: Justine_Hastings@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 201 (by appointment only) 

Brian Knight
Professor
(Applied Microeconomics, Political Economy, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-1584
Email: Brian_Knight@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304C
Office Hours: Monday 9:30-10:30am , Wednesday 3:15-4:15pm


Sylvia Kuo
Senior Lecturer
Phone: (401) 863-6257
Email: Sylvia_Kuo@brown.edu
Office: Robinson 104B
Office Hours: Mondays 2:00-3:00pm, Tuesdays 12:30-1:30pm


 

Rafael La Porta
Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2118 
Email: Rafael_La_Porta@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 101
Office Hours:( Please email Professor La Porta to confirm meeting before coming to office hours) Tuesday-Friday 10:00-11:00 

Glenn Loury
Professor
(Economic Theory, Applied Theory, Labor Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2606
Email: Glenn_Loury@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 105
Office Hours: By Appointment


 

Neil Mehrotra
Assistant Professor
(Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2112
Email: Neil_Mehrotra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303A
Office Hours: 
 

Pascal Michaillat
Assistant Professor
(Macroeconomics, Public Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2672 
Email: pascal_michaillat@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 202
Office Hours: 

 

Stelios Michalopoulos
Associate Professor
(Economic Growth, Macroeconomics)
Phone: (401) 863-2506
Email: SMichalo@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 308
Office Hours: 

Andriy Norets
Associate Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-3195
Email: andriy_norets@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 209
Office Hours: Wednesday 8:30-10:30 am 

Emily Oster
Professor
(Health Economics, Development Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2170
Email: emily_oster@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102C
Office Hours:  Wednesday 10:30-12:00 pm


 

Bobby Pakzad-Hurson
Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2122
Email: bph@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 215
Office Hours: Wednesday 1:30-3:30pm

Christina Paxson
Professor
Phone: (401) 863-2234
Email: Christina_Paxson@brown.edu
Office: President's Office

Louis Putterman
Professor
(Development Economics, Experimental Economics)                                                         Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Phone: (401) 863-3837
Email: Louis_Putterman@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 301
Office Hours:                                                  Tuesday: 11:00 - 11:50  am                          Thursday: 11:00 - 11:50 am

 By Appointment

Eric Renault
Professor
(Econometrics, Financial Economics, Time Series)
Phone: (401) 863-3519
Email: Eric_Renault@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 212
Office Hours: Monday 3:00-4:00 pm, Thursday 3:00-4:00 pm


Kareen Rozen
Associate Professor
(Behavioral economics, decision theory, game theory, experimental economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2097
Email: Kareen_Rozen@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 102A
Office Hours:                                          

Susanne Schennach
Professor
(Econometrics)
Phone: (401) 863-1234
Email: Susanne_Schennach@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 102  Office Hours- By Appointment

Roberto Serrano
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-2764
Email: Roberto_Serrano@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 201B
Office Hours: Tuesday 9:00-12:00 pm


Jesse Shapiro
Professor
(Industrial Organization, Political Economy)
Phone: (401) 863-2970
Email: jesse_shapiro_1@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman Room 302 (Office hours are listed in Econ Advising Google Calendar or by appointment)

 

Bryce Steinberg
Assistant Professor
Phone: (401) 863-9819
Email: Bryce_Steinberg@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 303B
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:00 pm


 

Neil Thakral                                  Assistant Professor                                      Phone: (401) 863-6297                                Email: Neil_thakral@brown.edu              Office: Robinson Hall 302D                      Office Hours:

Matthew Turner
Professor
(Environmental Economics, Urban Economics)
Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: (401) 863-9331
Email: matthew_turner@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 304A
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-2:00 pm, Thursday 1:00-2:00 pm, Friday 1:00-2:00 pm






Rajiv Vohra
Professor
(Economic Theory, Game Theory)
Phone: (401) 863-3030
Email: Rajiv_Vohra@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 
Office Hours: 


David Weil
Professor
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-1754
Email: David_Weil@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall 204
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:00-4:00 pm 

 

Faculty Emeritus



 

Allan Feldman
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory, Law and Economics, Welfare Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2415
Email: Allan_Feldman@brown.edu

 

Vernon Henderson
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Economic Growth, Urban Economics)
Phone: (401) 863-2886
Email: Vernon_Henderson@brown.edu
Office: 70 Waterman 206

 

Peter Howitt
Professor Emeritus
(Macroeconomics, Economic Growth)
Phone: (401) 863-5128
Email: Peter_Howitt@brown.edu
Office: Robinson Hall Room 105 

 

 

Tony Lancaster
Professor Emeritus
(Econometrics, Health Economics)
Email: Tony_Lancaster@brown.edu

 

Talbot Page
Professor Emeritus
(Environmental Economics, Experimental Economics, Game Theory)
Email: Talbot_Page@brown.edu

 

Mark Pitt
Professor Emeritus
(Applied Microeconomics, Development Economics)
Email: Mark_Pitt@brown.edu

 

Harl Ryder
Professor Emeritus
(Economic Theory)
Email: Harl_Ryder@brown.edu

Mark Schupack 
Professor Emeritus 
Email: Mark_Schupack@brown.edu

Courtesy Faculty

 


Matthew Kraft
Assistant Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-3795
Email: mkraft@brown.edu
Office: Barus 204

 

John Papay
Assistant Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-5137
Email: John_Papay@brown.edu
Office: Barus 202

 

John Tyler
Professor
(Economics of Education)
Phone: (401) 863-1036
Email: John_Tyler@brown.edu
Office: Barus 108