Faculty

The current faculty in the Department of Education include scholars in the history of education, public policy and economics, psychology and human development, teacher education, and the social and philosophical foundations of education. Affiliated faculty from the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions, the Annenberg Institute for School Reform, and the Education Alliance represent the fields of public policy and other subspecialties within education such as school reform and bilingual education.

Faculty members in the Department of Education are actively engaged in research and teaching. Students should feel free to meet with faculty for advice about developing an Education Studies concentration program.

Regular Faculty

Andrea Flores
Assistant Professor of Education
andrea_flores@brown.edu

Hilary Levey Friedman
Visiting Assistant Professor of Education
hilary_friedman@brown.edu

Joan Gujarati
Lecturer in Education
joan_gujarati@brown.edu

Matthew Kraft
Associate Professor of Education
matthew_kraft@brown.edu

Jin Li
Professor of Education 
jin_li@brown.edu

Susanna Loeb
Director of the Annenberg Institute, Professor of Education, Professor of International and Public Affairs
susanna_loeb@brown.edu

John Papay
Assistant Professor of Education and Economics; Director of Undergraduate Studies
john_papay@brown.edu

David Rangel
Assistant Professor of Education
david_rangel@brown.edu

Diane Silva Pimentel
Director of Teacher Education; Associate Professor of the Practice
diane_silva_pimentel@brown.edu

Laura Snyder
Lecturer in Education; Director of English Education
laura_a_snyder@brown.edu

Luther Spoehr
Senior Lecturer in Education and History
luther_spoehr@brown.edu

Tracy Steffes
Department Chair; Associate Professor of Education and History
tracy_steffes@brown.edu

John Tyler
Professor of Education, Public Policy and Economics
john_tyler@brown.edu

Christina Villarreal
Lecturer, Director of History/Social Studies
christina_villarreal@brown.edu

Kenneth Wong
The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Professor in Education Policy; Professor of Political Science, Public Policy, and Urban Studies; Director of Urban Education Policy Program
kenneth_wong@brown.edu

Non-Regular Faculty

Daniel Bisaccio
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Research)
daniel_bisaccio@brown.edu

Chris Buttimer
Adjunct Lecturer
christopher_buttimer@brown.edu

Jonathan Collins
Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow
jonathan_collins@brown.edu

Ellyn Goldberg
Visting Scholar
ellyn_goldberg@brown.edu 

Lindsey Jones
Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow
lindsey_jones@brown.edu

Rachel Kantrowitz
Visiting Scholar
rachel_kantrowitz@brown.edu

Emily Rosenzweig
Adjunct Lecturer
emily_rosenzweig@brown.edu

Karen Sibley
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education; Vice President for Strategic Initiatives; Dean, School of Professional Studies
karen_sibley@brown.edu  

Crystal Thomas
Adjunct Lecturer
crystal_thomas@brown.edu

Leigh Wedenoja
Postdoctoral Research Associate in Education
leigh_wedenoja@brown.edu

Yoko Yamamoto
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Education
yoko_yamamoto@brown.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Reginald Archambault 
Professor Emeritus of Education
reginald_archambault@brown.edu

Carl Kaestle
University Professor Emeritus; Professor Emeritus of Education, History and Public Policy
carl_kaestle@brown.edu

John Modell
Professor Emeritus of Education and Sociology
john_modell@brown.edu