Faculty

The current faculty in the Department of Education include scholars in the history of education, public policy and economics, psychology and human development, teacher education, and the social and philosophical foundations of education. Affiliated faculty from the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Public Policy and American Institutions, the Annenberg Institute for School Reform, and the Education Alliance represent the fields of public policy and other subspecialties within education such as school reform and bilingual education.

Faculty members in the Department of Education are actively engaged in research and teaching. Students should feel free to meet with faculty for advice about developing an Education Studies concentration program.

Regular Faculty

Daniel Bisaccio
Lecturer in Education; Director of Science Education; Director of Graduate Study for the MAT Program
daniel_bisaccio@brown.edu
401.863.3428
Barus 116

Andrea Flores
Assistant Professor of Education
andrea_flores@brown.edu
401.863.5910
Barus 202a

Joan Gujarati
Lecturer in Education; Director of Elementary Education
joan_gujarati@brown.edu
401.863.2435
Barus 113a 

Rachel Kantrowitz
Postdoctoral Fellow in International Humanities
rachel_kantrowitz@brown.edu
401.863.5426
Barus 116

Matthew Kraft
Assistant Professor of Education
matthew_kraft@brown.edu
401.863.3795
Barus 204

Jin Li
Professor of Education and Human Development
jin_li@brown.edu
401.863.9326
Barus 208

John Papay
Assistant Professor of Education and Economics
john_papay@brown.edu
401.863.5137
Barus 202

David Rangel
Assistant Professor of Education
david_rangel@brown.edu
401.863.9688
Barus 209

Laura Snyder
Lecturer in Education; Director of English Education
laura_a_snyder@brown.edu
401.863.9583
Barus 113

Luther Spoehr
Senior Lecturer in Education and History; Director of Undergraduate Studies
luther_spoehr@brown.edu
401.863.9236
Barus 201

Tracy Steffes
Associate Professor of Education and History
tracy_steffes@brown.edu
401.863.2894
Barus 203

John Tyler
Professor of Education, Public Policy and Economics
john_tyler@brown.edu
401.863.1036
Barus 108

Christina Villarreal
Lecturer, Director of History/Social Studies
christina_villarreal@brown.edu
401.863.1660
Barus 114

Kenneth Wong
Department Chair; The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Professor in Education Policy; Professor of Political Science, Public Policy, and Urban Studies; Director of Urban Education Policy Program
kenneth_wong@brown.edu
401.863.1486
Barus 103

Adjunct Faculty

Liza Cariaga-Lo
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education and  Vice President for Academic Development, Diversity and Inclusion
University Hall 415
401.863.2216

Keith Catone
Adjunct Lecturer of Education
keith_catone@brown.edu
Annenberg Institute

Jaime L. Del Razo
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education; Annenberg Institute for School Reform
jaime_del_razo@brown.edu
Annenberg Institute

Jeanette Epstein
Adjunct Lecturer in Elementary Education; Director of Admissions, Wheeler School
jeanetteepstein@wheelerschool.org
The Wheeler School 

Martin Gardiner
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Research)

Joanna Geller
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education; Senior Research Associate, Annenberg Institute
joanna_geller@brown.edu
401.863.5481
Annenberg Institute

Ellyn Goldberg
Adjunct Lecturer in Elementary Education
ellyn_goldberg@brown.edu 

Michael Grady
Adjunct Assistant Professor of the Practice of Education; Interim Executive Director, Annenberg Institute for School Reform
michael_grady@brown.edu 
401.863.2975
Annenberg Institute

Patricia Houlik
Adjunct Lecturer in Elementary Education

Andy Moffit
Adjunct Lecturer in Education; Director of Industry Learning, McKinsey & Co.
andrew_moffit@brown.edu

Maureen Nosal
Adjunct Lecturer in Elementary Education; Teacher, The Learning Community
maureen@mapcenter.com
The Learning Community  

Karen Sibley
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education; Vice President for Strategic Initiatives; Dean, School of Professional Studies
karen_sibley@brown.edu  

Warren Simmons
Adjunct Professor of Education; Former Executive Director, Annenberg Institute for School Reform
warren_simmons@brown.edu
401.863.7675
Annenberg Institute

Yoko Yamamoto
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Education
yoko_yamamoto@brown.edu
401.863.6405
Barus 208

Emeritus Faculty

Reginald Archambault 
Professor Emeritus of Education
reginald_archambault@brown.edu
401. 783.3558

Carl Kaestle
University Professor Emeritus; Professor Emeritus of Education, History and Public Policy
carl_kaestle@brown.edu
401.863.3041
131 Waterman Street

John Modell
Professor Emeritus of Education and Sociology
john_modell@brown.edu