Brown University Humanities Initiative

Brown University's Humanities Initiative was launched in 2010 as a collaboration between the Cogut Institute for the Humanities and the Office of the President. A major and long-term investment in the humanities, the initiative advances the productive dialogues between disciplinary and department-based scholarship on the one hand, and cross-disciplinary, problem-based scholarship on the other, and between the work of the humanities and the related work of the social and natural sciences. 

Humanities Initiative Scholars

The Humanities Initiative defines six faculty positions at the distinguished chair level whose role and significance will combine scholarly, teaching, and disciplinary distinction with collaborative projects within and beyond the humanities. Guidelines for nominations are available here. In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and its financial impact, nominations will not be invited in the 2020–21 academic year.  

To date, the Humanities Initiative Scholars are:

  • Tina Campt, Owen F. Walker Professor of Humanities and Modern Culture and Media
  • Leela Gandhi, John Hawkes Professor of Humanities and English
  • Paul Guyer, Jonathan Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
  • Andrew Laird, John Rowe Workman Distinguished Professor of Classics and Humanities and Professor of Hispanic Studies
  • Peter Szendy, David Herlihy Professor of Humanities and Comparative Literature

Humanities Initiative Programming Funds

The Humanities Initiative also allocates programming funds for collaborative research and teaching. Guidelines for programming funds applications are available here. Funding in the amount of $286,800 has been awarded to 66 faculty projects since 2013.