Center for Language Studies Faculty / Academic Staff

Faculty

Ercan Balci

Director 
Ercan_Balci@brown.edu

Iraj Anvar

Visiting Lecturer in Modern Persian
Iraj_Anvar@brown.edu

Mirena Christoff

Senior Lecturer in Arabic, Arabic Program Coordinator
Mirena_Christoff@Brown.edu

Miled Faiza

Lecturer in Arabic
Miled_Faiza@Brown.edu

Mary Rebecca Leuchak

Visiting Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants
Mary_Leuchak@brown.edu

Barbara Gourlay

Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants, (ITA) Program Coordinator
Barbara_Gourlay@brown.edu

Alla Hassan

Visiting Lecturer in Arabic
Alla_Hassan@brown.edu

Ashok Koul

Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu
Ashok_Koul@Brown.edu

Timothy Riker

Visiting Lecturer in American Sign Language
Timothy_Riker@brown.edu

Joe Terantino

Director of Language Resource Center

Joe_Terantino@brown.edu

 

 

CLS Members:  Faculty from Brown Language Departments

Cristina Abbona-Sneider

Senior Lecturer of Italian 

Cristina_Abbona@brown.edu

Elsa Amanatidou

Senior Lecturer, Modern Greek Studies

Elsa_Amanatidou@brown.edu

Ruth Adler Ben-Yehuda

Senior Lecturer of Hebrew

Ruth_Adler_Ben_Yehuda@brown.edu

Wenhui Chen

Lecturer in Chinese

Wenhui_Chen@Brown.edu

Lynne deBenedette

Senior Lecturer of Russian and Czech

Lynne_debenedette@brown.edu

David Buchta

Lecturer of Sanskrit

David_Buchta@brown.edu

Masako Fidler

Professor of Slavic Languages

Masako_Fidler@brown.edu

Maggie Harrison

Visiting Lecturer, Slavic Studies

Magdalena_Harrison@brown.edu

Sachiko Hiramatsu

Visiting Lecturer of Japanese

Sachiko_Hiramatsu@brown.edu

Lung-Hua Hu

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

Lung-Hua_Hu@brown.edu

Yuko Jackson

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

Yuko_Jackson@brown.edu

Youenn Kervennic

Senior Lecturer of French

Youenn_Kervennic@brown.edu

Stephanie Ravillon

Senior Lecturer of French

Stephanie_Ravillon@brown.edu

Nidia Schuhmacher

Senior Lecturer of Spanish

Nidia_Schuhmacher@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Portuguese

Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Silvia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Spanish

Silvia_Sobral@brown.edu

Jane Sokolosky

Senior Lecturer in German

Jane_Sokolosky@brown.edu

Hiroshi Tajima

Lecturer of Japanese

Hiroshi_Tajima@brown.edu

Hsin-I Tseng

Lecturer of Chinese

Hsin-I_Tseng@brown.edu

Hye-Sook Wang

Associate Professor of Korean

Hye-Sook_Wang@brown.edu

Yang Wang

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

Yang_Wang@brown.edu

Annie Wiart

Senior Lecturer of French

Annie_Wiart@brown.edu

Eva Gomez Garcia

Lecturer of Spanish

eva_gomez_garcia@brown.edu 

Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

For the past several years the Center for Language Studies has been privileged to host instructors of less-commonly taught languages under the auspices of the Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Program, a federal program of the U.S. Department of State. This academic year we are pleased to have with us the following Fulbright FLTAs:

Neelu Kumari

FLTA of Hindi

neelu_kumari@brown.edu

Proches Anthony

FLTA of Swahili

proches_anthony@brown.edu

Yasmine Samra

FLTA of Arabic

yasmine_samra@brown.edu

Ibrahim Ercan

FLTA of Turkish

ibrahim_ercan@brown.edu