Brown University shieldBrown University

Center for Language Studies Faculty / Academic Staff

Faculty

Ercan Balci

Senior Lecturer in Turkish 
Ercan_Balci@brown.edu

Iraj Anvar

Visiting Lecturer in Modern Persian
Iraj_Anvar@brown.edu

Mirena Christoff

Associate Director of Language Instruction
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Arabic
Mirena_Christoff@Brown.edu

Miled Faiza

Senior Lecturer in Arabic
Miled_Faiza@Brown.edu

Elsa Belmont Flores

Visiting Lecturer in Arabic

Mary Rebecca Leuchak

Visiting Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants
Mary_Leuchak@brown.edu

Barbara Gourlay

Senior Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants, (ITA)  Program Coordinator
Barbara_Gourlay@brown.edu

Alla Hassan

Lecturer in Arabic
Alla_Hassan@brown.edu

Ashok Koul

Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu
Ashok_Koul@Brown.edu

Heather Nowicki

Visiting Lecturer in American Sign Language

Timothy Riker

Lecturer in American Sign Language
Timothy_Riker@brown.edu

Jane Sokolosky

Director  
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in German Studies
Jane_Sokolosky@brown.edu

 

CLS Members:  Faculty from Brown Language Departments

Cristina Abbona-Sneider

Senior Lecturer of Italian 
Cristina_Abbona@brown.edu

Elsa Amanatidou

Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Modern Greek Studies
Elsa_Amanatidou@brown.edu

Ruth Adler Ben-Yehuda

Distinguished Senior Lecturer of Hebrew
Ruth_Adler_Ben_Yehuda@brown.edu

Wenhui Chen

Lecturer in Chinese
Wenhui_Chen@Brown.edu

Lynne deBenedette

Senior Lecturer of Russian and Czech
Lynne_debenedette@brown.edu

David Buchta

Lecturer of Sanskrit
David_Buchta@brown.edu

Masako Fidler

Professor of Slavic Languages
Masako_Fidler@brown.edu

Sachiko Hiramatsu

Visiting Lecturer of Japanese
Sachiko_Hiramatsu@brown.edu

Lung-Hua Hu

Senior Lecturer of Chinese
Lung-Hua_Hu@brown.edu

Yuko Jackson

Senior Lecturer of Japanese
Yuko_Jackson@brown.edu

Stephanie Ravillon

Senior Lecturer of French
Stephanie_Ravillon@brown.edu

 

Nidia Schuhmacher

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Nidia_Schuhmacher@brown.edu

Patricia Sobral

Distinguished Senior Lecturer of Portuguese
Patricia_Sobral@brown.edu

Silvia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Spanish
Silvia_Sobral@brown.edu

Jane Sokolosky

Distinguished Senior Lecturer in German
Jane_Sokolosky@brown.edu

Hiroshi Tajima

Lecturer of Japanese
Hiroshi_Tajima@brown.edu

Hye-Sook Wang

Associate Professor of Korean
Hye-Sook_Wang@brown.edu

Yang Wang

Senior Lecturer of Chinese
Yang_Wang@brown.edu

Annie Wiart

Senior Lecturer of French
Annie_Wiart@brown.edu

Eva Gomez Garcia

Lecturer of Spanish
eva_gomez_garcia@brown.edu 

Youenn Kervennic

Senior Lecturer of French
Youenn_Kervennic@brown.edu

Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

For the past several years the Center for Language Studies has been privileged to host instructors of less-commonly taught languages under the auspices of the Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Program, a federal program of the U.S. Department of State. This academic year we are pleased to have with us the following Fulbright FLTAs:

FLTA of Hindi: Pooja Arya

FLTA of Arabic: Heba Alhashmi