Center for Language Studies Faculty / Academic Staff


Ercan Balci


Iraj Anvar

Visiting Lecturer in Modern Persian

Mirena Christoff

Senior Lecturer in Arabic, Arabic Program Coordinator

Miled Faiza

Lecturer in Arabic

Mary Rebecca Leuchak

Visiting Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants

Barbara Gourlay

Lecturer, English for International Teaching Assistants, (ITA) Program Coordinator

Alla Hassan

Visiting Lecturer in Arabic

Ashok Koul

Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu

Timothy Riker

Lecturer in American Sign Language

Joe Terantino

Director of Language Resource Center                                     

CLS Members:  Faculty from Brown Language Departments

Cristina Abbona-Sneider

Senior Lecturer of Italian

Elsa Amanatidou

Senior Lecturer, Modern Greek Studies

Ruth Adler Ben-Yehuda

Senior Lecturer of Hebrew

Wenhui Chen

Lecturer in Chinese

Lynne deBenedette

Senior Lecturer of Russian and Czech

David Buchta

Lecturer of Sanskrit

Masako Fidler

Professor of Slavic Languages

Maggie Harrison

Visiting Lecturer, Slavic Studies

Sachiko Hiramatsu

Visiting Lecturer of Japanese

Lung-Hua Hu

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

Yuko Jackson

Senior Lecturer of Japanese

Nidia Schuhmacher

Senior Lecturer of Spanish

Patricia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Portuguese

Silvia Sobral

Senior Lecturer of Spanish

Jane Sokolosky

Senior Lecturer in German

Hiroshi Tajima

Lecturer of Japanese

Hsin-I Tseng

Lecturer of Chinese

Hye-Sook Wang

Associate Professor of Korean

Yang Wang

Senior Lecturer of Chinese

Annie Wiart

Senior Lecturer of French

Eva Gomez Garcia

Lecturer of Spanish 

Youenn Kervennic

Senior Lecturer of French

Stephanie Ravillon

Senior Lecturer of French

Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants

For the past several years the Center for Language Studies has been privileged to host instructors of less-commonly taught languages under the auspices of the Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Program, a federal program of the U.S. Department of State. This academic year we are pleased to have with us the following Fulbright FLTAs:

Neelu Kumari

FLTA of Hindi

Proches Anthony

FLTA of Swahili

Yasmine Samra

FLTA of Arabic

Ibrahim Ercan

FLTA of Turkish