• Orwig Slide

    Orwig Slide


News and Announcements

Congratulations to BUO Concerto Competition Winners: Neil Goh, Derek Xu, and David Sacks!

The Brown University Orchestra Concerto Competition took place this past weekend. Kudos to all who participated—all contestants showed remarkable effort.

This year's winners are Neil Goh '20, Derek Xu '20, and David Sacks '22. Mr. Goh and Mr. Xu will play with the BUO on April 18-19, 2020. Mr. Sacks will play with the BUO during the 2020-21 academic year. The winners' pieces are as follows:

Neil Goh: Henri Vieuxtemps, Violin Concerto No. 5

(Distributed October 9, 2019)

Concert Preview: Wang Lu's "Code Switch" (Chicago Tribune)

When the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s MusicNOW series launches its 22nd season on Oct. 7, the ensemble’s fabled brass musicians will step into spotlight.

But not precisely in the way listeners might expect.

For the world premiere of Chicago composer Wang Lu’s “Code Switch” will trumpet an unorthodox approach to music for brass.

“When I was thinking about writing this opening piece to showcase brass players primarily from the CSO, Missy said: ‘What about a fanfare?’” recalls Wang Lu, referring to Missy Mazzoli, the CSO composer-in-residence who curates MusicNOW.

(Distributed October 1, 2019)

Eric Nathan Appointed Composer-in-Residence at New England Philharmonic

The New England Philharmonic and Music Director Richard Pittman have appointed Assistant Professor Eric Nathan as the Philharmonic’s new Composer-in-Residence beginning in the 2019-20 season. The orchestra will give the Boston premiere of “Double Concerto” with violinist Stefan Jackiw and violinist Yoonah Kim on April 25, 2020, and will premiere a newly commissioned work for full orchestra during the 2020-21 season. Congratulations, Professor Nathan!

(Distributed August 26, 2019)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed