Master's in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences

The interdisciplinary Master’s program in Behavioral and Social Health Sciences (BSHS) in the Brown University School of Public Health trains graduate students who are interested in analyzing the complex behavioral and social determinants of public health, and in developing interventions to change behaviors and improve social contexts related to public health.

The Master’s program is an eight-unit, terminal degree program in which students are required to complete a written Thesis. The Master’s program is designed to be completed on a full- or part-time basis. 

The BSHS Master's degree program is ideal for students interested in working in health program evaluation, program management, community-based organizations and other non-profit services, managed care, treatment intervention research, and clinical trials, among other fields. The BSHS program is also a good fit for those interested in pursuing doctoral-level training in public health, psychology, public policy, and social welfare.

Our internationally respected faculty members are experts in the fields of alcohol and addiction, substance use, exercise and physical activity, diet and nutrition, and HIV/AIDS, among other areas. We conduct research with diverse communities in Providence, Boston, other urban settings in the United States, and in international settings. We value diversity and are committed to addressing health disparities associated with race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and other forms of social inequality.

Offers of Admission Deadline: March 31
Late Offers of Admission Deadline (if capacity allows admission of qualified applicants): May 31

Useful Links:

The following BSS faculty members may be available to advise BSHS Master's student for the fall of 2017:

Bruce Becker
Bruce_Becker@brown.edu
Abigail Harrison
Abigail_Harrison@brown.edu
Don Operario 
Don_Operario@brown.edu
Katie Biello
Katie_Biello@brown.edu
Christopher Kahler 
Christopher_Kahler@brown.edu
Rochelle Rosen 
Rochelle_Rosen@brown.edu
Willoughby Britton
willoughby_britton@brown.edu
Caroline Kuo
caroline_kuo@brown.edu 
 Cynthia Rosengard
Cynthia_Rosengard@Brown.edu
Kate Carey 
Kate_Carey@brown.edu
Molly Magill 
Molly_Magill@brown.edu
Lori A.J. Scott-Sheldon
Lori_Scott-Sheldon@Brown.edu
Rachel Cassidy
rachel_cassidy@brown.edu 
Rosemarie Ann Martin 
Rosemarie_Martin@brown.edu
Tara White 
Tara_White@brown.edu
Mark Celio
Mark_Celio@brown.edu 
Jennifer Merrill 
Jennifer_Merrill@brown.edu
David Williams 
David_M_Williams@brown.edu
 Patricia Cioe
Patricia_Cioe@brown.edu 
Matthew Mimiaga 
Matthew_Mimiaga@brown.edu
Margaret Wool
margaret_wool@brown.edu 
Shira Dunsiger 
Shira_Dunsiger@ brown.edu
Peter Monti 
Peter_Monti@brown.edu
Tyler Wray
tyler_wray@brown.edu 

Contacts:

David Williams, PhD, Master's Graduate Program Director
David_M_Williams@brown.edu
(401) 863-6248

Linda Angela, Academic Program Coodinator
Linda_Angela@brown.edu 
(401) 863-6578 

2015 Master's graduate Alex Macmadu with Professor Bill Rakowski2015 Master's graduate Alex Macmadu with Professor Bill Rakowski