2011 Student Leader Award Recipients

The following award recipients were honored at the 2011 Student Leader Recognition Ceremony. The Awards are selected by the individual offices and programs sponsoring each award.

The Student Activities Office Awards

Comprehensive Preparation

For Excellent Planning

Colleges Against Cancer, Relay for Life

Dramatic Entrance

For a new arrival who made a big splash or created a lot of buzz

Resumed Undergraduate Student Association

Forming Partnerships

For a great collaborative effort between multiple individuals or groups

Writers Group

Fostering Understanding

For efforts to increase dialogue and greater appreciation of diversity

Native Americans at Brown

Inspiring Action

For activism, awareness, or advocacy

Elementary Schools Learning Community

Theory into Practice

For an student group initiatives that connect the curricular with the co-curricular.

Brown Multi-faith Council

The LGBTQ Resource Center Awards

LGBTQ Leadership Award 

Recognizes a graduating senior who has positively affected lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning life during her/his undergraduate years at Brown.

Aida Manduley

Swearer Center for Public Service Awards

The Derek Canfield Barker Prize 

Established in 1994 through a gift from Richard C. Barker '57 and Abbie D. Paterson '57 in memory of their son. The purpose of the Prize is to recognize students at Brown who have shown qualities of leadership, who have triumphed over adversity, and who have worked to bring the Brown community together through community service.

Sandra Mastrangelo

Michael Manella

The Yat K. Tow Prize

Established in 1991 by the family of  Yat K. Tow '41, in his memory and funded by his family and friends. The purpose of the Prize is to recognize a junior, graduating senior, or graduate student who has advanced a shared community vision and principles of outstanding citizenship while maintaining a strong academic record. 

Maura Pavalow

Yana Vierboom

The Jin Prize 

The Jin Prize was established in honor of the late Dr. Yong-Son Jin, professor of Physics, and his wife, Mrs. Kyunghee Jin.  It is awarded to an outstanding graduating senior who has a achieved superior academic performance as demonstrated by grades and/or an individual project and who has a strong commitment to service, broadly defined, to Brown or to the larger community.

Kirstin Krusell

The Office of the Chaplains and Religious Life Awards

The Kapstein Interfaith Leadership Award 

Made possible through the generosity of the Kapstein Foundation honoring the late Reverend Charles A. Baldwin, chaplain of the University from1958-1988 is given to a member of the graduating class who has demonstrated interfaith leadership both on campus and beyond, within the confines of the academic year and/or during time away. This award acknowledges the energy, insight, imagination, and service of a student in the realm of interreligious community building and programming.

Chelsea Waite

 The Levi Adams Citation 

Inaugurated in 2001, honors a senior(s) in the college for distinction and service in the leadership of a campus-based religious organization, project, or initiative. Dr. Adam's resilience, imagination, and strength in his varied tasks were always ground in deep spiritual convictions. Empowered by example, this citation is made to honor such service.

 Shabneez Emambux

Jamal Hill

 The President James Manning Medal:

Presented to graduating senior(s) whose pursuit of excellence in the study and practice of religion is exemplary. 

Christopher Unseth

 The Brown RISD Hillel Foundation Awards

The Robert '81 and Elana '08 Goldberg Family Ruach Award  

The Goldberg Family Award  

Given to a first-year student for demonstrated potential and exceptional first-year leadership.

Chelsea Feuchs

 The Rabbi Alan C. Flam Tzedek Award 

For outstanding social justice and service leadership

Kelly Milman

 The Danny Warshay '87 Exceptional Leadership Award 

For demonstrated leadership qualities: mentoring, modeling and community building

Joey Resnick

 The John Blacher Astounding New Initiatives Award 

Given to a student who has built a new initiative that has had a positive and sustainable impact on the Jewish Community at Brown University.

Shira Atkins, Jewish Yoga

 The Presidential Award 

Given to a senior who has demonstrated ongoing and mature commitment and leadership throughout his or her four years at Brown University.

Sarah Wolk

 The Senior Leadership Award 

Given to a senior who has demonstrated ongoing and mature commitment and leadership throughout his or her four years at Brown University.

Gene Goldstein-Plesser

Evan Pelz

 The Division of Campus Life and Student Services Awards

The Joslin Award 

Named for the late Judge Alfred Joslin '35 and given to students graduating in May or December of each year who have made significant contributions to the University through their leadership and service.

Dena Adler
Max Clermont
Chaney Harrison
Arthur Matuszewksi
Alicia Maule
Ari Rubenstein
Marco Sanchez Junco
Meara Sharma
Cara Smith
Chelsea Waite